We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to relax for a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zula Inn Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zula Inn Aparthotel to your Saves list
Zula Inn Aparthotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Playa Santa Teresa | 1 Km From the Crossroads to the Right, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax for a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Zula was a great spot to relax for a few days - the rooms were well air conditioned, had good TV's and kitchenettes to do your own cooking. The 9 cabanas share a pool and bar area, but with so few units that means you often have the place to yourself. The owners were very friendly and helpful and could provide advice on all the questions we asked. The location is good, an easy walk from Playa Hermosa or Playa Carmen and beach access was across the main road in front of the house. There was a very good soda and supermarket within a hundred metres of the entrance. The place seemed good value for money considering you got your own kitchenette.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
55
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This place is hands down one of the best places we have ever stayed, and being a traveler who has been all over the world, I have a lot to compare it to. ok, now where to start.

1. The staff: Rotem, Avi, and Avi's wife (the people who own/run the place) were three of the nicest people we've ever met. They had everything ready for us when we arrived (even though we were early), and allowed my boyfriend to get some surfing in before we actually checked in so he wouldn't miss the waves...my boyfriend could not have been happier! There is a 24 hour security guard who stays onsite, he was awesome, and definitely made us feel safe. We left our boards and clothes out overnight with no worries. The two women who clean/look after the rooms were soooo nice and accommodating, the days we slept late, they would do our rooms last, soooo nice for a lazy vacation.

2. The rooms/grounds: The place was spotless, the cabinas were very spacious, the rooms were clean when we got there and were immaculate every day after they were cleaned by the staff. New clean towels in a cute design everyday waiting for us. We had our own private porch for meals and to just relax. The pool was always sparkling, the bar area always being swept and wiped down, and the grounds were always in picture perfect shape. The rooms all have a kitchen with all good working equipment, my boyfriend and I cooked awesome meals almost every night! The air conditioner was heaven, TV had cable, and the bathrooms were huge! with hot water. We fell in love with our cabina as soon as we stepped inside. And! there is free high speed wireless internet, so you can stay in touch with the world while u are there.

3. The location: you could not ask for a better spot, set back from the road (which for those of you who know the area know that means NO DUST! yay! ) and therefore was quiet as well. The ATV's and dirtbikes ride around all day and night and can get quite obnoxious at the places close to the road. It was about a stone's throw from the little supermarket, one of the surf shops, and for those of you prissy people, the one of the little nail/spa places in the area, and even more important across the street from the beach! It was within walking distance of the junction with Mal Pais, we never needed a cab the whole time we were there.

4. The restaurant: along with the cabinas the family owns a restaurant down the road with amazing food! Also Zula, My boyfriend and I split a falafel platter and a whole snapper platter, my boyfriend is still talking about how incredible that meal was, we were full through the next day. Rotem served us himself and made sure we had all the spices, sauces, and peppers to make the meal just perfect (see the pics I added) and checked on us throughout the meal to make sure everything was perfect, which....it was! That dinner was definitely the most memorable of our trip.

5. Service: I already raved about the staff, but service needs its own category. Whenever we needed anything, advice on ATV's, shuttles to get anywhere in the country, advice on any kind of rental, food, or anything else you could imagine needing (which for us included where to get tattoos) they were there to answer all our questions, set up our transfers, and make our stay that much more comfortable. I have never felt sooo accommodated in Costa Rica in my life in all the months I have spent there. Rotem was even on the phone with our shuttle bus at 1030 at night to make sure they were coming for us in the morning.

Ok, so if you made it this far, which I hope you have, you can imagine we recommend Zula Inn to anyone who is going to be in the Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area. There are many factors that make a perfect trip, Zula Inn put it all together for us and made our stay in Santa Teresa unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

If you're looking for the best place to stay in this area for a reasonable price you just found it - The Zula Inn is a beautiful little hotel, 9 spacious, sparkling clean and well maintained rooms, each with a well equipped kitchen, a nice bathroom, a private balcony. and realy great decor. The garden is just beautiful with a nice clean little swimming pool in the middle and a comfortable shack with sofas, free coffee, and board games to hang out in while it's too hot or raining outside.
Avi the owner is an honest, nice host, who puts alot of love into this place and it shows.
If you're planning on visit in Santa Teresa this is definetly the place to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Zula Inn is terrific. The staff really takes care of the guests from everything to spotless rooms to tips and surf breaks and tides. The pool and bar area is a relaxing place to hang out and trade stories with other guests. The garden is beautiful and the grounds keeper does a great job keeping it looking good and being on the lookout for who is coming and going... he missing nothing.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were initially booked in for just a week but as soon as we arrived at Zula — a clean room, comfortable bed, friendly welcome and a great location by the beach — we extended our stay.
Three weeks in paradise. That's how it felt.
First of all, Malpais is wonderful. There's loads of great surf spots (my husband surfed twice a day for 25 days!,) yoga centres and yummy sodas and restaurants within walking distance. Second of all, the Inn has a great pool and common area for hanging out and relaxing. We found the owners, Rotem and Avi, really cool guys too. Really helpful.
The well-spaced, private bungalows are great too, well-stocked with everything we needed for cooking and morning coffees on the front deck — where we'd sometimes get to watch howler monkeys in the trees! And there'd always be butterflies darting through the flowers and tiny lizards, even a big iguana in the tree.
It was nice and quiet too and we'd wake up to the sound of birds chirping in the morning. I'm not kidding!
It was an ideal place to unwind, surrounded by tropical flowers and trees, set against a mountain jungle and minutes to the surf. AAAAh. We miss it!
And finally, it's easily the best value we found traveling around CR.
We'll definitely go back. And we found the other guests we met there felt the same way.
Happy to be part of the Zula gang. hehehe.
Okay, I'm gushing but you get the point!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

this hotel rocks !!!! i agree with all of the above but they forgot about the zula restaurant !!! this place is also awesome !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Great place to stay. The staff is awesome. Safe place to leave bags inside your room. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The only problem was the internet was slow and frequently dropped the signal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zula Inn Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zula Inn Aparthotel

Address: Playa Santa Teresa | 1 Km From the Crossroads to the Right, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zula Inn Aparthotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zula Inn Aparthotel features nine self-contained bungalows, all with views of our lush tropical garden and pool. Set back from the road in a quiet location, the hotel is only a two min walk to the white sandy surf beach of Playa Santa Teresa and it's consistent year round waves. Enjoy poolside relaxation in tropical gardens and take in our view of the jungle. Tha rancho next to the pool offers sofas, hammocks, cable T.V, free WI-FI internet, coffee and soft drinks. Zula Inn is also a short walk to all the shops and restaurants around our beautiful town of Santa Teresa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Zula Inn Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zula Inn Aparthotel Hotel Santa Teresa
Zula Inn Aparthotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zula Inn Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.