We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure, Surf, and Relaxation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucero Surf Retreats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucero Surf Retreats
Save
You added Lucero Surf Retreats to your Saves list
| Santa Theresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Adventure, Surf, and Relaxation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My mother (50) and I (22) decided to go to Costa Rica for a girls' adventure trip after I graduated from college. We booked with Lucero for their Surf & Adventure Retreat and got exactly that. All our transportation and day-trips were arranged for us which was ultra-convenient. Desafio, the adventure company used, was excellent, fun, and dedicated to our experience. We had a blast rafting, ziplining, and repelling. When my mom slipped during the hiking portion of the repelling trip, they did everything possible to help her out including driving her to the paramedicos for a free check.

My mother had had enough adventure by that time which was perfect because now we headed for Santa Teresa, the sun, the beach, and the ocean. She had declined the surf lessons before we went on the trip but fully participated in Francesca's great yoga sessions. When we found out a massage wasn't included in our particular trip, she was a little disappointed but Marieke arranged for her to get her massage (free i think) anyways. That's great service! The staff of Lucero and of the hotel, Otro Lado, went out of their way to make you feel like you were part of their group of friends. There was really a community feel and we only wish we could have stayed longer as we were just getting to know our fellow guests.

I took the surf lessons with two other women on the retreat. We had Patrick as our instructor and he made our two hour daily sessions exhausting, informative, and really fun. By the second day we were all catching a majority of the little waves we paddled for. Watch out for the current and the rocks~ I had a blast despite a couple of scrapes and bruises. Again, I only wish I could have stayed longer.

Santa Teresa is a great town full of great dining and boutique-y shopping options. Don't expect any souvenirs and maybe bring a handkerchief to cover your mouth and nose as the ATVs, trucks, and dirtbikes kick up a lot of dust. It's pedestrian friendly for the most part and we had no issues walking everywhere even after dark. Make sure to get to the beach for the sunset!!!

Otro Lado was comfortable, clean, and peaceful (don't except late night parties, everyone's usually in bed by 10pm or sitting on their little balconies reading). We didn't miss our TVs or computers in the least bit and you probably won't either--just bring a good book and don't be afraid to talk to your neighbors!

Lucero arranged everything conveniently and with great customer service. Marieke was quick to answer our questions and offer assistance--which is tremendous considering she was about to burst with baby!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

When travelling to Costa Rica the first thing that comes to my mind is surfing! Out of 100's of surf schools and camps in Santa Teresa we were so HAPPY that we picked Lucero Surf Retreats.

Marieke, the owner of Lucero, was attentive and detailed oriented from the day I emailed her my request and questions. Once in Playa Santa Teresa she welcomed us with a huge smile and itinerary for the week. She had even made reservations for us for our Welcome Dinner at Brisas Del Mar (one the best restaurants in S. Teresa). The huge benefit of booking with Lucero is that you get to stay at the Otro Lado Lodge (please read my super positive review of Otro Lado) .

I had such an amazing surfing experience with Lucero as they delivered everything promised in their package. I never once had to ask or question...it was just done and delivered! The yoga sessions were incredible and in the most beautiful setting!

We had surf boards for the week and Jared our Jersey surf instructor was super positive, knowledgeable and really fun to be around! We also surfed at Playa Hermosa for a couple of days and at the end of it all Marieke gave us a CD with all our surfing pics! Jared also took us on a day trip to Montezuma Falls! A must see and do!

And our massages were heavenly! A much needed one hour session after doing yoga and surfing all week!

If you are looking for a surf camp or lessons I wouldn't look any further! You can beat the price, quality of service and deliverables + Marieke and Jared are super nice people who would do anything to make your stay and experience PERFECT! It was truly a highlight of my trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We are a family of four from Wisconsin. Our son is 7 and our daughter is 4. Last year we went for 2 weeks to Santa Teresa through Lucero Surf Retreat. We were quite nervous about going somewhere so far from home...we had the best vacation ever! The Lucero owners, Marieke and Jared, took care of everything and we didn't have a worry once we stepped off the little plane in Tambor.

My husband wanted to learn to surf and did. My son was 5 1/2 and also learned to surf. I was afraid of learning to surf, & not only learned, but loved it!

We returned this year in June and July for a 5 week vacation through Lucero again. Marieke took fabulous care of us yet again, & Jared has to be the best surf instructor around. So fabulous with our children. He even got our daughter to surf, though she was frightened. We plan to go again, as Santa Teresa is beautiful and we now consider Marieke and Jared part of the family.

If you are interested in learning to surf (or improving), use Lucero. If you have children who have an interest in surfing, use Lucero. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Basically, I'd agree with the other reviews. The ambiance and surf of Santa Teresa is amazing and the hosts at Lucero / Otro Lado are awesome and accommodating. We went for our honeymoon, and literally, it was almost perfect....for the reasons stated in the other reviews.

That said, there are just a few things that guests should know -- or at least that I would have liked to known, beforehand.

1) While the rooms are spacious and clean, they do not have TV's or radios. Just remember to bring a laptop / dvd player and / or an iPod with portable speakers if you're the type (like myself) that likes a little music while hanging out poolside and maybe a movie at the end of the day.

2) Rent quads / 4 wheelers. Just put that in your budget now. We paid $150 for a 3 day rental. Granted, you can walk to the beach and a few restaurants, but quads open up the entire experience in Costa Rica. The shortcut to Cabo Blanco is so much fun on a quad! Otherwise, the beat up roads make for hellacious rides in the dusty cabs.

3) Do NOT go to the beach without a towel and bug spray. After each surf lesson I would flop on the beach, happily exhausted. Little did I know I was getting eaten alive by sand fleas. The bites didn't show up for a few days, but by the time I left my legs looked disgusting and itched like crazy. Easily 50 bites total! The fleas only pop up if disturbed, so a towel usually does the trick, from what I read online. Not Lucero's fault at all, lol -- just some friendly advice.

4) If you do the Montezuma and Cabo Blanco hikes (which I totally recommend), be sure to wear sneakers or hiking shoes. My wife wore flip flops the first day and it was a mess. These are amazing hikes, but not easy ones, so just be prepared.

Now get on out to Santa Teresa and have a once in a lifetime trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Amazing doesn't begin to describe my experience with Lucero. I went for a girls getaway with my best friend and we couldn't have planned a more incredible trip. It was my first time in Costa Rica and my first time surfing and I loved every minute of it. As soon as we landed in Tambor the realities of the "real world" melted away and relaxation time began! The surfing was amazing and our instructor was wonderful. Yoga on the beach was such a perfect experience that any other yoga studio just won't cut it for me now. I was exhausted most days but in the best kind of way. I felt like I got the absolute most out of every day!

The accommodations at Orto Lado were beautiful - simple and peaceful - and I loved the open-air shower! Lounging by the pool surrounded by the tropical landscaping and making friends with the kitties The meals there were so delicious and full of fresh, quality ingredients (I've never tasted coffee that delicious before!). Vaggi & Nico were wonderful hosts and took care of everything we needed.

I highly recommend Lucero to anyone thinking about visiting Costa Rica or going on a surf adventure. I can't wait to vacation with them again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I needed to spend a week in Costa Rica between dental visits - I was getting some extensive work done in San Jose to save money over the US, and wanted a wonderful adventure. My sister was game, and we rented a 4-wheel drive and took off. First we traveled to the volcano that 90% of all tourists visit while in Costa Rica. We stayed in one of the fancy hotels nearby which was lovely but defintely not what I had in mind for fun. Luckily we saw the volcano - so many don't due to fog, and got very close without a major rain storm on a guided hike. Then the fun really began. We drove to West coast to the beach. The roads were much more challenging, and we might never have arrived with a GPS, but that was fun, too! Took the ferry over to the peninsula and headed to Santa Teresa. We'd reserved a room at Otro Lado through Lucero Surf Resorts online. They'd gotten terrific reviews on TripAdvisor.com and I'm delighted to report the reviews were merited. Otro Lado is an intimate set of four villas around a pool and across the road from the ocean. Marieke met us our first night and directed us to a cute Argentine place for our welcome dinner. A great beginning to a fun-filled time. We'd been nervous about traveling during the "green" (rainy) season, but we never had rain during the day - only some massive downpours during the night that made the pretty challenging roads even more so. Had fantastic yoga sessions in a gorgeous outdoor setting surrounded by the rain forest, the best horseback ride of my life through jungle and on beach, a zip line tour where we were the only two riders and got great personal attention from the two guides, and of course wonderful surf lessons. I didn't make too much progress as a beginner given the fairly intense surf, but the lessons were great and the beach was absolutely gorgeous. My sister and I just lay out and soaked up the temperate clime and beautiful visitas several times. Otro Lado supplied delicious organic breakfasts and lunches with the best arugula and homemade pita ever. Our final day included a heavenly massage from the amazing Argentine woman who took care of us at the hotel and treated us as old friends throughout. We roamed the cute little cafes at night, spending every evening enjoying a bottle of wine and catching up in ways we haven't for 20 years. Could it have been more perfect. No. Loved every minute.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Lucero gave me exactly what I wanted in a vacation - in Santa Teresa I found an escape to a beautiful, exotic, remote but quickly growing beach town; at hotel Otro Lado I found lovely, clean, comfortable accomodations which afforded plenty of peace and quiet (and amazing fresh Italian food prepared by the Baggi and Nico, who run the hotel and restaurant); and with Lucero I found adventure and excitement. Marieke and Jared, who run Lucero, were so friendly and warm, and they were incredibly accommodating, making sure I got all I wanted out of the week, in terms of improving my surfing, relaxation, and enjoying other activities. As a female solo traveler I felt very well taken care of by Marieke and Jared as well as the Otro Lado staff. While one week was just enough time to satisfy me, I look forward to returning. I cannot thank them enough, and I hope that they are all blessed with much success as the town continues to grow.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucero Surf Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucero Surf Retreats

Address: | Santa Theresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest of Lucero Surf Retreats you will be staying at an exclusive beautiful-resort, only 25 meters from the ocean. With luxurious little villas that can accommodate up to four guests. Surrounded by a tropical lush garden, a pool to cool off in and a small restaurant. In the morning the nice wooden floor of the restaurant turns into a private yoga studio! Weekly packages include daily surf-lessons, breakfast-lunch, morning yoga, transfer to Tambor airport, surf-manuals and personal surf pictures, day-trips and a one hour massage! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lucero Surf Retreats Hotel Santa Teresa
Lucero Surf Retreats Nicoya
Lucero Surf Retreats Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucero Surf Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.