We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Save
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$60 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Hotel Buenos Aires is a quite small but cozy surf hostel, located on a hilltop in Santa Teresa!
We stayed there for 2 weeks and it was just perfect for us. The room was very clean, the owners superfriendly, the view FANTASTIC! and the resaturant the best in the village!
The hosts vere always there for us, the owner even fixed my surfboard twice! Thats what a call service!!!!
The walk up to hotel is bit sweaty, but it only takes 3-4 minutes and you have a nice pool just below the hotel to jump in on the way up!
If you want a relaxed surf holiday this is the place!
Check out the hotels site on facebook to see pictures!
We hope to come back some other time!

Muchas gracias Javier y Flo

Rasmus

Rasmus and Lisa

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raggaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Central Coast, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

There are two things that are most important to Javi and Flo, the owners of Hotel Beunos Aires in Mal Pais, family and tradition. When you stay at Beunos Aires you become part of a family and you experience traditions that can never be forgotten. I truly don't think there is another hotel in the area, that offers a better view of the surf and the surrounding area, and the food at the resturant is amazing. One look at the lines on the horizon is all it takes to inspire another surf session. Being able to see the line up from your room makes it so nice when it comes to choosing the right board for the next session. If you're lucky, maybe Javi will even let you pick a board from his personal quiver. I rode his beautiful Clyde Beaty Jr twin fin for my last session this morning, and I fell in love, so much fun. Much love and thanks for an amazing home away from home! See you in Dec!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateCA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Buenos Aires for a week this December. Everything was perfect. The staff keep the place very clean and everyone is very friendly. The owner, Javier, is a really nice guy and is consistent about checking in to make sure things are going well.

The hotel pool was an especially nice touch on hot afternoons.

I will book with Javier again on my next trip to Santa Theresa.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — The hill
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We spent three nights at the Buenos Aires and were very happy with the ambiance at this lovely spot. The service in the hotel was really nice. We had a quite small but very clean room - and found everyone extremely charming. Recommendable place!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Morretes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

This hotel was built with love and it shows. Coming up to the hotel, you first come to the restaurant / bar. This is essentially a large terrace that provides incredible views of the ocean from above. In the evenings this place usually filled with people enjoying the sunset and watching waves roll in, chatting with the host, or just relaxing in the rocking chair with the host's dog. After sunset, candles are lit on each table and people usually stick around for an hour or two. The food is very good - prepared with care. I especially liked the pasta. There is a pool near the restaurant which is surrounded by banana trees and is great for cooling off after a hot day.
From the restaurant, you walk up wooden stairs on the hill to the actual hotel. This is a two story house facing the ocean. The rooms are basic but have everything necessary for a comfortable and relaxing stay. They are clean and well kept. The hotel offers rooms with a fan or with an A/C - we got one with a floor fan and didn't regret it. Also, our room had a double bed and a single bed, a cabinet, fridge, rocking chair, and a few other things. We stayed on the 1st floor, and there was a hammock outside our room where you could read or just watch the ocean.

The hotel sits right above the Horizon Yoga center where you can supposedly go take yoga lessons (although we never tried this).

In the mornings we would walk down the gravel road to the main road and the beach. This is about a 5 minute walk, but the hill is quite steep and some people may not like having to walk up and down. (Having a rental car or a 4x4 solves this problem.)

The host and staff are friendly and responsive. The host gave good recommendations and suggested a friend who gave me very good surfing lessons. On the day we had to leave, the host volunteered to get up at 5am and drive us to the bus station in his 4x4 so we wouldn't have to walk the 2 miles dragging our suitcases.

In general, if you want an inexpensive hotel with friendly people and unique character, and don't mind going up and down a hill to get there, we highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Host, staff, atmosphere.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank benw_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.6 mi away
Villas Hermosas
Villas Hermosas
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing