We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning View and Hilltop Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Save
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning View and Hilltop Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Best place to spend the afternoon on a hot summer's day! There is a constant gentle breeze on the hillside that lulls you to sleep. Stunning views, immaculately clean rooms. Javier is the perfect host, always available and super friendly. Excellent location close to shops, restaurants and a great surf break. The walk up the hill is steep, but it's worth it. I ended up staying 15 days and you had to tear me away. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Mirella for choosing us! Like l told you, it was a real pleasure have you here with us. We really enjoy having guest like you, willing to explore and enjoy our little town.
You are always welcome!
All the best.
J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
103
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a wonderfull time and the best attention in Hotel buenos aires. It has, by far, the best sunset view in Santa Teresa. We were a group of 12 friends and not only the attention but the great vibe makes this hotel an excelent choice for your vacations.
Javier and Flor are excellent hosts that will make you feel just like home.
Pros, the pool, restaurant just steps away, the view!!
Gracias Javito y Flor por la buena onda!!

Room Tip: Only Upper rooms have AC, although downstairs rooms dont really need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Its was two years ago that I was fortunate enough to be traveling around Costa Rica and finding such an incredible Hotel when arriving to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. Loved it so much that I ended up staying there for the rest of my vacation. Ever since, I've been going back once every 3/4 months!!!!
If you are looking for a place to rest, make incredible friends, experience the most beautiful sunsets, surf all day and everyday, and eat at THE best restaurant in town... then Hotel Buenos Aires is your spot. Javi and Flor, the owners, will make you feel at home and will always be there for you on anything you may need.
Have just come back from an amazing week-long getaway with friends and I'm already planning when will be my next visit.... hopefully very soon.

Here are some tips if looking for hotels in the area and why I always stay in Hotel Buenos Aires:
1) From Nov-May it doesn't rain, no paved roads and lots of dust. Stay a little more uphill for cleaner air
2) Tends to be really REALLY hot. Staying near the beach is nice, but you don't have any breeze to cool you down
3) Can find some monkeys on the trees near the beach, funny creatures but can be noisy in the early mornings
4) Finding a hotel with a pool can be a plus when you need to escape from the hot mid-day sun (this hotel has a nice relaxing pool adjacent to the restaurant/bar... sipping a margarita while overlooking the ocean is a MUST)

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
WOW! Hernan, thank you so much for this amazing words!
l have to tell you, l never thought we are going to become such a good friends, Flo and l really fall in love with all your family and we are exiting when you guys are coming down for a visit.
lt's true that we try to do our best to help to all our guest to have a wonderful experience, but is a 2 ways road, we only can give 50% and the other 50% is the feedback from people like you make our hotel like it is; without the sopport and the good vibres from our guest it would be impossible.
l can't wait to share a few more waves with you, man. Hope to see you again soon, next time l'm in charge of the ron, haha!
Big hug from Mal Pais.
J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I spent 10 nights aprox with 11 friends on Apr 2014. Javier was not only a great host but he made us feel like he was one more friend in our group. Sharing mate (argentine infusion drink) and talks as we overlooked the town below.
Javi is also a great surfer who knows the local breaks and can easily help you out if you need any assistance on where to go, take lessons or rent a board.
Every good thing comes with something bad, in this case I'd say the cost of such a great view is the hike! That's no problem if you don't mind walking or you can ask Javi on where to rent a quad or a pick up truck, problem solved.
Also try the restaurant "Brisas" right below the hotel, they serve great breakfast and super delicious fish for dinner.
I would definitely return to Hotel Buenos Aires!
Pura vida!

Room Tip: The nicest room is the first one on the left as you go up the staris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Tommy for take some time and write this beautiful review!
Like l told you, it was a real pleasure meet you and the guys, l'm very happy how thing went the 10 days you expended with us. We have such a good time!!!
Hope you can come back some day, we'll ready for more Ron&coke and good waves.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica during our month long adventure. Clean, Chill, And Relaxing. Watching the sunset was unreal with the panoramic view. A Surfers Paradise! We will be back! Thanks again Javi!

Justin and Bri

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal País, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed there for a few days and all I can say is this place is amazing. The owner was very kind and very attentive. The views are spectacular and it's surprisingly very close to the beach, restaurants, banks, supermarkets, etc.

Highly recommend the place! Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed five nights at hotel buenos aires and had an amazing time. True to everyone's review, the hotel is perfect, perched on top of a hill with breathtaking views--you can watch the surf and sunset from above in a cool, chill atmosphere on your hammocks or lounging in a chair just outside your room. The rooms were basic but nice and exceptionally clean with a mini-fridge, bathroom and comfortable beds. Yes, the steep 5-10 min climb up and down was a work-out but totally worth it. Another plus was the restaurant just below the hotel called Las Brisas Del Mar which had fantastic food and great views of the playa with $5 breakfast just for guests. Next to the restaurant was a fabulous pool--also only for guests, which ended up being our hangout spot during the hot day before or evening surf sess. Javi, the owner truly made our stay wonderful and it was difficult to leave. Can't wait to come back again for the surf, amazing food, and great hospitality!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.