We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, owner, location, rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views, owner, location, rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me, my girlfriend, and her parents just stayed here a few weeks ago. You should stay here too. The "hotel" is more like an "inn", only 10 rooms, all with large glass doors overlooking your private hammock, the mountains, trees, and ocean below. You can hear the monkeys in the trees in the morning. We stayed in rooms on ground floor (without A/C) and were actually very comfortable every night with just the fan blowing. The room was always clean and comfortable. Javier works very hard to make sure everyone has the best stay they can. He gave us tips each day on places to play, where to find good food, he even helped us find places to stay in other locations. At 10pm, when our shower knob stuck, he came down with wrenches and new seals immediately and fixed it quickly. He's a great guy. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that is probably one of the best in the area. Unfortunately it was closed for renovations while we were there so we didn't get to eat there. As humid and breezeless as the main road is at night, it wouldve been really nice to be able to stay up on the hill and enjoy dinner with the breeze that is constantly present at the hotel. Speaking of which, the hill that the hotel is on is a blessing, but it is also very steep. You will work up a sweat going up or down it. Our car had 4 wheel drive, but you could probably make it up without it...if not, Javier will come down and get you on his 4 wheeler. If you want an amazing views, location, and rates and appreciate getting to know the person whom your money is going to, this is your place. Thanks Javier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
73
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I could not write enough good things about our experience at this motel. Both Javi and Flor are very gracious hosts. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, with their 2 sweet dogs running around and the view is probably the nicest both my husband and I have ever seen. The beauty in my opinion is that you get the most incredible view, but still only a 5 minute walk to town (the beach, restaurants, markets, cafes, etc.), and just a 2 minute walk to Horizons yoga studio (this has become our favorite place to practice yoga over the years by the way). The hotel also has a restaurant and pool, which provides the tastiest menu in all of Santa Teresa in our opinion (both breakfast and supper), as well as an assortment of toys/books for the kiddos free of charge (this was extremely helpful for us and kept our 17 month- old daughter occupied for hours. There is a baby swing, bouncer, bikes, trikes, puzzles, trucks, dolls, books, etc. It made eating a meal enjoyable again, not having to rush with a fussy baby ;-) The owners of the restaurant have 3 small children who kept us company by the pool and are very sweet and well mannered too).

You would expect that this type of motel would be high in price, but it turned out to be extremely affordable (and it's $20.00 less if you take the downstairs rooms without air which worked out great for us with just the fan). We stayed here for 4 nights (we intended on staying for 2, but couldn't bring ourselves to leave after just 2 days) and plan on returning again. Our room was always clean, there was great water pressure in the shower (nice and warm), hammocks in front of every downstairs room, a fridge, table out front, a grassy area which our little kiddo really enjoyed running around in (an added bonus is that there are small rocks placed outside the rooms, separating the area where the hammocks are to the lawn. This prevented our daughter from running off, as long as her shoes were off) and there were always fresh towels when we returned from breakfast (which is a nice luxury in Costa Rica, especially near the beach where the air is so humid and the towels never seem to dry completely). This motel is also wheelchair/stroller accessible (there is a driveway from the road to the restaurant/pool, as well as to the rooms and stairs as well if you'd prefer a little shortcut. Also, when we requested to switch our room from the top floor to the bottom because we were worried about our daughter on the balcony, both Flor and Javi insisted and even said they would rather us do that because they were a little worried about her too. As I wrote, they are both wonderful people. Javi even picked my husband up from town when he had to return the quad to the rental company and dropped him off at The Bakery in town to meet my daughter and I.

If you're planning a trip to Santa Teresa, stay at Buenos Aires... you won't be sorry! (just make sure you have either a quad or 4 - wheel drive to get up the hill safely. You can also walk from the town... it's great exercise. You'll be sweaty, but you could jump right in the pool when you hike up. It feels wonderful! :)).

Room Tip: Top floors have AC and bottom rooms have fans/hammock access. Both floors have personal tables out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hola June.
Thank you so much for the nicest review! lt was a pleasure for us have you, Jason and Zoey with us for 5 nights, not 4 as you think, l guess times flies, right? Also remember the restaurant is still our, that's why the pool is for the guest of the hotel and not to the client of the restaurant, we just do not want to run it any more.
Hope your trip back home was smooth as possible.
See you next time!
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I genuinely don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. Javi is a really nice guy and a wonderful host. The rooms are extremely clean, it's a 5 minute walk to the beech and the view from the hotel is spectacular.
We intended to stay for 2 nights but stayed for four. I regret not staying longer
This hotel offers real value for money with a relaxed atmosphere.
Back home now in not so sunny Ireland but I can still picture that view.
Thank you javi and flo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came for 5 days and ended up staying 10. Javi and Flo are brilliant hosts. Luna the dog is wonderful too.

I could not recommend this place more. stay here and enjoy the amazing ocean view (and no dust!) .

The rooms are extremely clean and spacious.

this was the perfect place for us, a couple, to stay in relative luxury without breaking the bank. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Harry.
Thank you for the review, man! Again, it was great to have you and Kim with us. We still have the score open for backgammon, right? haha!
Hope you enjoyed Monteverde like you did here.
All the best.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Before we arrived in Costa Rica Javi was very helpful answering questions regarding our stay via email and even asked if he could be of assistance in getting us to the hotel from the bus stop in town. Throughout our stay Javi was very helpful but also gave us our own space. The hotel situated atop of the hill, a quick 5 minute walk, was perfect. Being up and out of the dust and not having the bars/restaurants as an immediate neighbor was exactly what we were looking for. Javi and Flo really take great care of the place. You truly feel like you are staying with good friends rather than staying at a hotel. The rooms were very clean and offered a mini fridge which was stocked daily with beverages for a very fair price. The view, Incredible! Sunsets and watching night time thunderstorms was amazing! My husband and I had intended to stay for 4 days and immediately extended to 6 and then to 14. Working in the tourism industry ourselves, back home, this was the perfect place to unwind. Truly the Pura Vida Lifestyle! I honestly cannot say enough good things about our stay at Buenos Aires and would HIGHLY reccommend it. Also the restaurant Brisas Del Mar, just a few steps downhill was wonderful. Do not miss their $5 Hotel Breakfast as you will most likely have the place to yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Jesse.
l just want to thank you and Scott for sharing your vacations with us. As soon you guys left, started to rain, so perfect timing, haha!
Also thank you very much for this review, it means a lot to me because you both work with tourism too, so you know how this business is.
Wish you all the best.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan, AB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had been to Santa Teresa before and eaten at the magnificent restaurant below the hotel. This time I decided to head back and stay there with some friends seeing the Nicoya for the first time. What an amazing place!

Javier is the best host you could ever imagine. The view is incomparable, the rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable, and affordable. I will stay here many times in the future and I dream about it when I'm not there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much, Cody!
l'm sorry you had to leave erly, but your friends stayed a few more days and we had a blast. Hope your gig make you going back home worth it.
All the best and hope to see you soon around. Say hello to the gang for me, please.
Love from Mal Pais.
J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Even before we arrived in Costa Rica, the owner, Javier, was incredibly helpful and responsive over email, answering all my questions about travel and directions to Santa Teresa. Upon arrival, we were blown away by the views from the hotel. It sits atop a hill with gorgeous views up and down the coast. A shaded grassy area directly in front of the hotel affords the perfect place to sit and enjoy the views with a book or a beer. The rooms at the hotel were spacious and very clean and, despite the heat in Santa Teresa, it stays cool and breezy in the evenings up on the hill at the hotel. While the hotel is great, the best part of staying there is Javier! He was helpful at every turn, showing us some awesome surf spots in neighboring towns and pointing us toward some great places to eat. We ended up extending our stay because we were having such an amazing time. Hotel Buenos Aires was by far our favorite spot in Costa Rica and we will for sure go back. If you are planning to go to to the southern Nicoya peninsula, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list