We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to go!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Laval, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE place to go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We choose this hotel after reading all the great comments so our expectations were very high! Well.... It was so much more than what we expected! This place is amazing and so beautiful. To make it simple, this is a list of 6 reasons why we liked it so much:

1. Javi, This guy is so much more than the owner, he become a friend during our stay. He is always happy to help us, answer our questions, book activities for us and give good advices. He even went surfing 2-3 mornings with my boyfriend and chilled with us in the evening. Flo, his wife, is also a sweetheart, she is so kind!

2. The view. AMAZING! You can't get tired of this view, the sunsets are the most beautiful i've seen in my life. We enjoyed relaxing in the chairs at night, watching the Sunset with a cold drinks... PURA VIDA!

3. Surf. Great surf spot, just in front of the hotel! For beginners, playa hermosa is just a 15 min car drive and is perfect to learn.

4. The restaurant. The best in town! This is where we had the best meal of all our stay.

5. The rooms. Always so clean, fresh drinks in the fridge every day.

6. The location. Perfect! 5 min walk down to the beach, markets, restaurants, surf shops and bars, but so quiet and peacefull because it's on a hill.

I definitively recommend this hotel! We will be back for sure!!! Yavi and Flo, thanks for everything and see you soon!

Marie and Andy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi Marie-Audrey.
First, l want to thank you for take some of your time and write this review, it's awesome!
Also l want to thank you and Andy for share your vacarions with us, it was a pleasure have you here. And tell Andy it was great share a few waves with him.
All the best!!!
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
73
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night. Javier is a true gentleman and a gracious host. I challenge anyone to find a better view of the ocean. Like previous reviewers, it was a great to find a cold adult beverage in the room after a full day of travel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel Buenos Aires is a wonderful hotel and gets an A+++ in my book! Javier and Flo (the owners) are simply fantastic--helpful, kind, and excellent hosts. The hotel is spotlessly clean. I mean, spotless! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the water is hot (although during high season you rarely need a hot shower). We stayed for 6 nights in a fan-room and were comfortable the entire time. The pool is well-kept and peaceful and the restaurant next to the pool is fabulous! The view from the hotel is fantastic and it's wonderful to relax at the end of the day in a hammock or chair admiring the sunset. Quite a steep 5-8 minute walk up the hill from town and the beach, but well worth it. I will stay here again and will recommend it to my friends. Thanks Javier and Flo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi Britt.
l just saw your review and looks fantastic! Thank you so much for share your vacations with us and take time to write the review.
Please send a big hug to Cam from us and hope to see you around again.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is amazing!

If you, like me and my girlfriend like to stay at a hotel that is clean and a family atmosphere, THIS IS IT!

The owners Javier and Flo (I hope its the correct spelling) are sooo nice and very helpful, with you comfort as their priority.

And it all comes together with the best view Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa can offer! Since it is located on top oc a hill, it is a bit of a climb, but its worth it + you get your daily exercise :)

We are absolutely coming back to this place!

Our warmest recommendation!

/Daniel & Johanna (the Swedes)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Daniel.
l remember you and Johanna, you guys were here from Dec. 28th. to Jan 10th. True soulsurfers!!! Thank you very much for take some of your time and write this review for our place. Hope you can come back some day so we can share a few more beers at sunset, haha!
Wish you all the best, my friend!
Big hug from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

…you need a hotel with a laid back, intimate vibe;
…you like your sunsets perfect;
…you prefer a small hotel where it’s easy to get to meet and know people;
…you prefer personal and attentive (not gushing) service from the hotel owners, who know and call everyone by name;
…you want the best value;

All of this can be had at the Hotel Buenos Aires, high atop the Santa Teresa hills above Playa Carmen.

The girl and I stayed with Javi and Flo from March 20 – 26, 2013. The booking communication with Javier was easily done through e-mail and was always prompt. We elected for a top floor room with A/C, which for the price is one of the better values in CR in my experience. I can’t confirm, but I believe the bottom floor rooms (non A/C) are only $40 nightly with all taxes/fees included.

Prior to our arrival, we discovered the Tambor airport was shut down for repairs and flights were being diverted to an airstrip further away. Javi advised me through e-mail and let me know what to expect for the additional bus transfer from Dos Marias to Tambor, and adjusted the taxi schedule for late arrival. We booked our transfer from Tambor to ST through Hotel Buenos Aires for a reasonable price.

As stated above, there are many things to really love about this hotel. The general atmosphere of the hotel and the understated vibe is what really impressed us. There are seating areas outside of each room, with a small table and chair. Because the balcony and ground floor patios are not private, this gives a lot of opportunity for interaction with other guests and Javi and Flo, but privacy was respected by all, especially during and after lunch “siesta”. Towards the end of each day, most of the guests were coming back from their various excursions/adventures in Santa Teresa and elsewhere to share the best sunsets in ST. Rooms are spotlessly clean, and ownership does a great job of keeping the general common areas and garden areas clean and manicured as well.

I want describe a few (possible) negatives as well:

The walk up the hill that has been described previously is no joke. From the main road there is an asphalt portion and then a gravel portion of road up to Horizon. From there a steep “pathway” leads from just above Horizon to the pool, and then an additional “pathway” leads from the pool to the hotel. If you are driving (4 x 4 only I think), this is not an issue. If you are either unwilling or unable to manage either the road or path on foot, this could be the difference in an enjoyable or unfavorable experience at this hotel. The girl (3 months pregnant) did “ok” on this, and it didn’t bother me, but we are both youngish, very fit people. I would not recommend walking this if you have mobility issues. She didn’t care for the walk from the main street and the pathways, although it didn’t bother me too much. I think in hindsight she was glad for the strenuous exercise.

The mattresses on the bed are quite firm, which really worked for me but I heard from others they didn’t find it comfortable.

As shown on the website and in guest photos, there is a pool that is available exclusively for HBA guests. The pool is also used by the owner of Brisas del Mar Restaurant and their children, which was not a problem for us, but might be off-putting if you are expecting an adults-only pool.

Typical to this type of building in Costa Rica, the walls and floors are not well-insulated so there may be sound transfer coming from adjoining rooms (or from above if you are in a bottom floor). This is standard fare in my many Costa Rica experiences, so not really a negative – more an FYI.

TIPS:

If you are coming with children, you’ll do better with a bottom floor room. The balcony on the top floor room doesn’t have standard railing and could be dangerous for unsupervised children.

There was a mini-fridge in our room that was a very welcome addition. I suspect this is the same for all rooms, but you might check with Javier when booking if you desire a mini-fridge.

Horizon Yoga is just down the hill from HBA, halfway to the main street. The girl really enjoyed her yoga class there and found it to be a good value.

During our stay there was a good mix of couples, singles, a family, young folks and mature adults. We had a melting pot of Americans (New York, Georgia) Germans, Swiss, Argentines, K-9s (a Luna shout-out), and others. Great sunsets, the best hosts, great value, in a comfortable setting, with a perfect view, and a few possible negatives dependent on your expectations/desires.

We would stay here again when back in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow Scott, you really take serioulsly your "job" on Tripadvisor, jajaa!
First, l want to thank you and Liz for share your vacations with us it was a plasure meeting you guys.
Couple of things: all the rooms has a mini-fridge, and we are aware about our first floor and because of that, we do not rent the a/c rooms if there are small kids. Also remember then we still own the restaurant, we just rent it, having control of a few things there.
Thank you also for take your time and write this awesome review for us, hope we can share a few beers next time you are around.
Wish you all the best with the coming baby.
Big hug from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel Buenos Aires was hands down the best part of our 9 day vacation to Costa Rica. The town of Playa Santa Teresa is a great place to visit for active vacationers, with a lively and laid back surf scene, and staying at Hotel Buenos Aires made the whole experience an A++. It is nestled above the town that provides beautiful views of the town and beach, complete with hammocks and lounge chairs to enjoy the view. It is incredibly clean, and is run very thoughtfully by Javier and Flo. They are happy to give you advice on activities or restaurants, and there are lots of outstanding ways to fill your town in Santa Teresa and the surrounding area. 5 days after returning from Costa Rica, we are already planning our next vacation to Hotel Buenos Aires.
-Sophie and Madeleine

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Javier and Flo at the start of the year. We will start by saying that Costa Rica is a beautiful country to visit. We where lucky enough to find the area of Santa Teresa/ Mal Pais during our travels. It's an extraordinary area to stay. Cool people, great surf, breath taking scenery and nature. It truly is a very special and unique place! The Buenos Aires hotel is situated just above the heart of the town. Which in our opinion is thee best location in the area. We planned to stay at Buenos Aires for 4 days and ended up staying over a month! Buenos Aires boasts some of the most spectacular views we have ever seen, 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean: Sunsets are literally mind blowing and you are surrounded by beautiful natural scenery! The perfect end to the day is enjoying the sunset from the perfectly kept garden surrounded by palm trees! The rooms are extremely comfortable, always spotlessly clean and decorated with local furniture.

The cherry on top of the cake has to be Javier and Flo. These guys bring an extra element to this place that really puts it a peg above the rest. We have never been so welcomed by people in our lives. They are warm, kind, hospitable, genuine, helpful and caring people. These guys are one of a kind! Every morning you will be greeted by a smile and you will feel welcomed like family. We can never thank them enough for how much they did for us and how special they made our vacation. They will always have a special place in our heart.

Have a good one and maybe we'll catch you for a beer on the hill at sunset sometime!

Josh and Francesca.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Upstairs you will have air-con and a balcony view. Downstairs your right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list