We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buenissimo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buenissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beautiful cliff top hotel with the most welcoming, smily and happy owners 2 weary travellers could ever ask for! After a 10 hour day on local busses we arrived at Hotel BA and were so happy with our choice. Javier and Flo are perfect hosts, who ensure the atmosphere is relaxed and inviting, cold beers in the fridge on arrival for example. The view is stunning, easily the best spot in the area and well worth the hike up the hill. Go there and see for yourselves the 5 star rate speaks for itself. It's a long way from the UK but if we ever go back, unless its fully booked, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have AC. Bottom have fans but are cooler. ALL have hot water+fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
74
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to Costa Rica that ended with 6 nights at Hotel Buenos Aires. It was by far our favorite place of the trip!
From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home. Javi and Flo are the most gracious hosts and they have created a little oasis on the hill. It's a short walk to town and the beach, but you feel miles away when you're relaxing on the hotel's lawn. And words can't describe the view. You simply won't find a better spot to watch the sunset.
The rooms are very comfortable and kept immaculate. There is a pool, also with spectacular views, just a few steps down the hill. And the adjacent restaurant has great breakfast at a great price, and an even better dinner (don't skip dessert).
The only bad part of our stay was having to leave. So I'm starting to save now for our next visit with Javi and Flo at Hotel Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hola Jane.
So kind of you take some time and write this beautiful review, loved the tip about the dessert. You know we try our best, but that's only half way, you and Brady did the other half. l know we make mistakes, but guest like you guys do not see them because you are to nice (haha!).
l really hope to see you again some time.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My father, sister, and I stayed for two nights at Buenos Aires and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is situated atop a large hill that provides incredible views of the surf and sunset, and is far enough away from the main road to prevent engine noise from quads and motorcycles from reaching your ears. The room was just the right size for the three of us, and Javier was very accommodating to our every need and inquiry, organizing taxis and recommending surf shops. Be sure to take a dip in the pool on your way up the hill! I'll definitely come back here on my next visit to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed around New Years for three nights, and I honestly think we could not have made a better choice. The hotel is on top of a hill, away from the hustle and bustle of Playa Carmen. The view from the hotel is breathtaking: it was great to sit down for a beer or two. :) Javier, the owner, is very helpful and could not thank him enough for his help&advises. Furthermore, the restaurant Brisas del Mar (just a few steps down from the hotel) is among the best in the area.

Thanks and all the best,
Kata, Esko & Ville

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The view from this Buenos Aires is the best in the area. Amazing sunsets. Rooms are clean, beautiful, air conditioning works great, and wifi worked well the whole time. Javier and Flor are wonderful hosts, cleaning the room every day and providing fresh towels. Javier knows everything about the area and is always willing to make a phone call to help you get anything you need. The restaurant a minute walk down the hill is arguably the best in town. Food is amazing! Everyone else who was staying at the hotel was in their 20's & 30's and very cool. There were always a few people out on the lawn having beers after sundown.

We rented a quad for our time at Buenos Aires and it made the hill climb a pleasure. I absolutely recommend renting a quad. The hill is quite large. Being the one and only downfall, the pros far outweigh the cons and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I recommend air conditioning. Costa Rica can get quite humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Robert.
Thank you very much for take some of your time and write a few lines about us.
l'm glad you enjoyed the place, even the hill, ja!
Hope you and Sara can come back some time and share a few waves with me.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Buenos Aires recently on a short beach excursion during a longer trip to Costa Rica. The value of what this hotel offers is truly fantastic. The view makes the walk up the hill totally worth it. In fact, many walk up the hill for the view alone. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. All the rooms also have that wonderful view referred to above.
The couple that runs the hotel were so welcoming and helpful with every aspect of our experience ranging from surfing, to dinner and everything in between.
We gotta say, the seafood dinner at the hotel restaurant was incredible. Also, the ambiance was the best in town. It sits high above Santa Teresa with a view of the Pacific. You feel like you're floating above it all.
The hotel pool, located next to the restaurant, provided a great way to cool down relieving us from the hot Costa Rican sun.
This place was a great find. Enjoy!
~Mark and Mira

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-airconditioned room and we slept just fine with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi, guys!
Thank you very much for your words, it was great (and easy, haha!) have you with us, you are awesome people. We had time to share a couple of activities, like taking Luna for a run all the way to the top of the hill with the quad. l remember Mira had a job interview on line, hope she got it!
All the best for you guys, hoping to see you around again.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I first discovered Hotel Buenos Aires about 10 years ago with some friends while we happened to stumble upon it looking for a spot to catch the sunset and maybe get a cold beverage. Little did I know that this spot would become one of my favorites in the world...not only because of the location, view, and physical beauty, but because of the friendships we have made here. There is no better place to wake up in the morning, get a 180 degree surf check, cool off in the pool, relax with a book in the hammocks, or sip a fresh pina colada in the mixed of good company. The rooms are cleaned daily and the stocked fridge in every room is always a welcomed sight after the days adventures. I have continued to frequent the hotel and have brought countless friends and family to enjoy a little taste of paradise. Whether it is your first time at Hotel Buenos Aires or your a frequent visitor to the hill, Javier and Florencia will always greet you with a smile and treat you like family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Oh Nico, lt's thrue, we had build and awesome friendship, but only because you insist in cominig back again and again and again, hahaa!
Thank you very much for take some of your time and write this beautiful review!
l can't wait for your next visit so we can share a few waves, backbammon games and drinks. You are part of this place and are ALWAYS welcome.
Hope to see you soon around!
Flo & Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list