We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 points” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Save
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“10 points”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed around New Years for three nights, and I honestly think we could not have made a better choice. The hotel is on top of a hill, away from the hustle and bustle of Playa Carmen. The view from the hotel is breathtaking: it was great to sit down for a beer or two. :) Javier, the owner, is very helpful and could not thank him enough for his help&advises. Furthermore, the restaurant Brisas del Mar (just a few steps down from the hotel) is among the best in the area.

Thanks and all the best,
Kata, Esko & Ville

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
76
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The view from this Buenos Aires is the best in the area. Amazing sunsets. Rooms are clean, beautiful, air conditioning works great, and wifi worked well the whole time. Javier and Flor are wonderful hosts, cleaning the room every day and providing fresh towels. Javier knows everything about the area and is always willing to make a phone call to help you get anything you need. The restaurant a minute walk down the hill is arguably the best in town. Food is amazing! Everyone else who was staying at the hotel was in their 20's & 30's and very cool. There were always a few people out on the lawn having beers after sundown.

We rented a quad for our time at Buenos Aires and it made the hill climb a pleasure. I absolutely recommend renting a quad. The hill is quite large. Being the one and only downfall, the pros far outweigh the cons and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I recommend air conditioning. Costa Rica can get quite humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Robert.
Thank you very much for take some of your time and write a few lines about us.
l'm glad you enjoyed the place, even the hill, ja!
Hope you and Sara can come back some time and share a few waves with me.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Buenos Aires recently on a short beach excursion during a longer trip to Costa Rica. The value of what this hotel offers is truly fantastic. The view makes the walk up the hill totally worth it. In fact, many walk up the hill for the view alone. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. All the rooms also have that wonderful view referred to above.
The couple that runs the hotel were so welcoming and helpful with every aspect of our experience ranging from surfing, to dinner and everything in between.
We gotta say, the seafood dinner at the hotel restaurant was incredible. Also, the ambiance was the best in town. It sits high above Santa Teresa with a view of the Pacific. You feel like you're floating above it all.
The hotel pool, located next to the restaurant, provided a great way to cool down relieving us from the hot Costa Rican sun.
This place was a great find. Enjoy!
~Mark and Mira

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-airconditioned room and we slept just fine with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi, guys!
Thank you very much for your words, it was great (and easy, haha!) have you with us, you are awesome people. We had time to share a couple of activities, like taking Luna for a run all the way to the top of the hill with the quad. l remember Mira had a job interview on line, hope she got it!
All the best for you guys, hoping to see you around again.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I first discovered Hotel Buenos Aires about 10 years ago with some friends while we happened to stumble upon it looking for a spot to catch the sunset and maybe get a cold beverage. Little did I know that this spot would become one of my favorites in the world...not only because of the location, view, and physical beauty, but because of the friendships we have made here. There is no better place to wake up in the morning, get a 180 degree surf check, cool off in the pool, relax with a book in the hammocks, or sip a fresh pina colada in the mixed of good company. The rooms are cleaned daily and the stocked fridge in every room is always a welcomed sight after the days adventures. I have continued to frequent the hotel and have brought countless friends and family to enjoy a little taste of paradise. Whether it is your first time at Hotel Buenos Aires or your a frequent visitor to the hill, Javier and Florencia will always greet you with a smile and treat you like family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Oh Nico, lt's thrue, we had build and awesome friendship, but only because you insist in cominig back again and again and again, hahaa!
Thank you very much for take some of your time and write this beautiful review!
l can't wait for your next visit so we can share a few waves, backbammon games and drinks. You are part of this place and are ALWAYS welcome.
Hope to see you soon around!
Flo & Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the end of November and this was the BEST place we visited during our trip of Costa Rica. I had read the great reviews before I booked this place but it exceeded all expectations. The location is close to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants of Santa Teresa but far enough up the hill to get unobstructed views of the beautiful sea and sunset. The rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay, and are spacious and cleaned daily. There is also a well kept garden area and a swimming pool, and the restaurant below serves great food and offers a really good deal on breakfast for guests of the hotel. The room rate is also very reasonable compared to some of the other hotels situated further down the hill. But what really makes this place special though is Javi, the owner, he honestly couldn't do enough for us during our stay, picking us up on his quad bike, arranging activities and giving us great recommendations, he genuinely cares whether you enjoy your stay with him. We just didnt want to leave! Thanks again Javi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Wow Kim, l did not see this review coming! Thank you very much for the review and for take some of your time to do it.
We really enjoy have guest like you guys, because make our job very easy, ha!
Hope you finished your trip of the best way, you are missed here and always welcome again (we still have to drink the ron you guys left behind).
Merry Xmas!
Lot of love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just got back from a week stay with Javi and Flo, the owners, best family vacation we have ever been on. They are so welcoming, feel like old friends, helpful with all activities for adults and kids. Ask Javi to make his famous chicken pizza, he loves making it for anyone who asks. Best location in all of Costa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Buenos Aires is the place to stay if you want to enjoy all the good things that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer! It's definitely worth the walk up the hill. The view is amazing and makes you feel like you arrived in paradise. If you are lucky the trees next to the hotel are visited by howler monkeys and tucans or just stay long enough to see them! You can hang out on the hill the whole day, relaxing at the pool or on your hammock and enjoying the restaurant, which offers fabulous food! However, seeing all the waves rolling in, you might want to walk to the water a few times a day! Just go there and find out yourself, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.