We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Save
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the end of November and this was the BEST place we visited during our trip of Costa Rica. I had read the great reviews before I booked this place but it exceeded all expectations. The location is close to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants of Santa Teresa but far enough up the hill to get unobstructed views of the beautiful sea and sunset. The rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay, and are spacious and cleaned daily. There is also a well kept garden area and a swimming pool, and the restaurant below serves great food and offers a really good deal on breakfast for guests of the hotel. The room rate is also very reasonable compared to some of the other hotels situated further down the hill. But what really makes this place special though is Javi, the owner, he honestly couldn't do enough for us during our stay, picking us up on his quad bike, arranging activities and giving us great recommendations, he genuinely cares whether you enjoy your stay with him. We just didnt want to leave! Thanks again Javi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Wow Kim, l did not see this review coming! Thank you very much for the review and for take some of your time to do it.
We really enjoy have guest like you guys, because make our job very easy, ha!
Hope you finished your trip of the best way, you are missed here and always welcome again (we still have to drink the ron you guys left behind).
Merry Xmas!
Lot of love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
108
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just got back from a week stay with Javi and Flo, the owners, best family vacation we have ever been on. They are so welcoming, feel like old friends, helpful with all activities for adults and kids. Ask Javi to make his famous chicken pizza, he loves making it for anyone who asks. Best location in all of Costa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Buenos Aires is the place to stay if you want to enjoy all the good things that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer! It's definitely worth the walk up the hill. The view is amazing and makes you feel like you arrived in paradise. If you are lucky the trees next to the hotel are visited by howler monkeys and tucans or just stay long enough to see them! You can hang out on the hill the whole day, relaxing at the pool or on your hammock and enjoying the restaurant, which offers fabulous food! However, seeing all the waves rolling in, you might want to walk to the water a few times a day! Just go there and find out yourself, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved this place. Great rooms, great vibe. Great view of the ocean. The owner is from Argentina, and has a sweet Argentinian Dogo dog named Luna.

The restaurant is perfect for sunset dining with an ocean view.

Stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Four years ago we came here for the first time and we are so in love with the place and the owners that we try to come back if we can. This is the 3rd time!
The climb up the hill is pretty steep so it's nice if you come by 4x4... otherwise it's a good exercise. And it's al worth it!
Half way up the hill you will find the pool and the restaurant "Brisas del Mar" (which fits in the same amazing picture as the hotel). A little more up the hill is Hotel Buenos Aires! Here you will find out that you're at a special place... The view is just stunning... and for surfers it's the best place to check the waves and swell rolling in! You will get a warm welcome from the owners Florencia and Javier... and not to forget Luna. They are so nice and welcoming and you can ask them everything about the village and the surf since they are here for more than 13 years!
The rooms are just perfect and all have the same amazing view. The beds are good and the bathroom with hot shower as well. Everything is really clean and comfortable.
It offers all the beauty you expect from staying in Costa Rica and makes you want to come back time after time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this hotel based on trip advisor and people's opinions in Santa Teresa. The rooms are basic rooms but the beds are comfortable and the room is very clean. There is a very steep hill that you have to walk to get up but when you are half way up you can stop at the pool (which is amazing) to cool off and than continue the rest of the way up to the room. We stayed in a non A/C which was fine. It never got too hot and we had a fan. Plus you get a hammock outside of your room where you can lie and watch the sunset or rise. The views are worth everything. You get to see the beaches...ocean and the rainforest all while lying in your hammock. Not to mention Javier and Flo are very helpful and so friendly. They helped us with everything and were great hosts!! I would recommend their place to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It is UP the hill. I mean really up the hill, but you get rewarded with a great view. The rooms are basic but very clean and the showers runvery well! It is so cozy and javiez makes a great job giving you a warm welcome. He is always there and makes sure to chat with you everyday. If you need anything - he can get it!
We stayed in a non A/C room and therefore had the pleasure of a hammock. Wow - if you don't mind walking up the hill or have a quad/jeep it is just AWESOME! Oh and the wifi is a very decend one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Carmen
Hotel Playa Carmen
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.