We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hide Away with a spectacular view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Hide Away with a spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved this place. Great rooms, great vibe. Great view of the ocean. The owner is from Argentina, and has a sweet Argentinian Dogo dog named Luna.

The restaurant is perfect for sunset dining with an ocean view.

Stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
73
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zandvoort, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Four years ago we came here for the first time and we are so in love with the place and the owners that we try to come back if we can. This is the 3rd time!
The climb up the hill is pretty steep so it's nice if you come by 4x4... otherwise it's a good exercise. And it's al worth it!
Half way up the hill you will find the pool and the restaurant "Brisas del Mar" (which fits in the same amazing picture as the hotel). A little more up the hill is Hotel Buenos Aires! Here you will find out that you're at a special place... The view is just stunning... and for surfers it's the best place to check the waves and swell rolling in! You will get a warm welcome from the owners Florencia and Javier... and not to forget Luna. They are so nice and welcoming and you can ask them everything about the village and the surf since they are here for more than 13 years!
The rooms are just perfect and all have the same amazing view. The beds are good and the bathroom with hot shower as well. Everything is really clean and comfortable.
It offers all the beauty you expect from staying in Costa Rica and makes you want to come back time after time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this hotel based on trip advisor and people's opinions in Santa Teresa. The rooms are basic rooms but the beds are comfortable and the room is very clean. There is a very steep hill that you have to walk to get up but when you are half way up you can stop at the pool (which is amazing) to cool off and than continue the rest of the way up to the room. We stayed in a non A/C which was fine. It never got too hot and we had a fan. Plus you get a hammock outside of your room where you can lie and watch the sunset or rise. The views are worth everything. You get to see the beaches...ocean and the rainforest all while lying in your hammock. Not to mention Javier and Flo are very helpful and so friendly. They helped us with everything and were great hosts!! I would recommend their place to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It is UP the hill. I mean really up the hill, but you get rewarded with a great view. The rooms are basic but very clean and the showers runvery well! It is so cozy and javiez makes a great job giving you a warm welcome. He is always there and makes sure to chat with you everyday. If you need anything - he can get it!
We stayed in a non A/C room and therefore had the pleasure of a hammock. Wow - if you don't mind walking up the hill or have a quad/jeep it is just AWESOME! Oh and the wifi is a very decend one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is so perfect I want to keep it a secret. A friend told me about Hotel Buenos Aires so I'll share too. Javier and Florencia take great pride in the hotel and it shows. The room was spotless, clean and comfortable. It's nice to be able and relax but be so close to surf and town. The only thing better than the view were the hosts Javi and Flo. They are truly beautiful people that will welcome you to there very special place.

Room Tip: We didn't need AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great little hotel with absolutely stunning views! Best place to watch a sunset. Great hammocks and a relaxing vibe. The owner, Javier, was awesome - so nice and helpful. He made us feel right at home. The pool was a great place to relax after a day out in the town or at the beach. The restaurant had some of the best food we ate on the entire trip - also can't beat the view from it either. Will recommend Hotel Buenos Aires to all my family and friends traveling to this area and I cannot wait to return for another visit. =)

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Relaxing locale on the top of a hill with the best views of the day's surf conditions. Javier and Florencia were wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. Simple yet comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price (workout included!). I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone interested in spending a laid back vacation in a Costa Rican surfer's paradise. Pura vida!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list