We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place on the hilltop"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
“"Great place on the hilltop"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Costa Rica in April for spring break to the Nicoya Peninsula. This was our third trip to Costa and we decided to try a new area. We lucked out finding such a great place to stay! The hotel sits way up on the hill with breathtaking views of the ocean. The owner, Javier, was so nice and made sure all his guests were taken care of. We also had some wonderful meals at the restaurant while overlooking the ocean and enjoying the beautiful sunsets. I would definitely recommend it and would stay with Javier if we make a return trip to CR. We loved it!! Thanks Javier:-) S&R

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
73
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel is hidden upp on the hill, away from the road and other disturbances. The steep road up makes it a bit of a challenge to reach the place, but once you get up the view is all worth it. We spent every evening on the terrace watching the sunset.
The owner is very friendly and goes the extra mile to make your stay excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I spent 10 days in Hotel Buenos Aires in January. It was my second time in Santa Teresa and I was looking for a place to stay which would combine good value for money, comfort, tranquillity, option to meet people, ability to be close to the centre but out of the crowd...and I found all these requirements satisfied by staying at Hotel Buenos Aires!! Javier and his girlfriend (the hosts and owners of the business) are exquisite and very welcoming: they make you feel at home. The place very chill and absolutely stunning: it offers the most breathtaking view of the entire area...You can even see if the surf is good enough and worth the walk down to the beach!! You also meet very cool people who are most likely there for the same reason as you are: you will make friends very easily but you won't be in each other's way...I didn't mind the walk up to the Hotel (5 minutes, but a little steep): it kept me fit and will be a great warm up session before you get in the water for surfing! No need for stretching any more :) And it's totally worth it. No pain no gain: there is no way you could have such a stunning view without a little hike. I would definintely recommend it and would go back to Javier if I'd plan to go back to CR again. Loved it!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Went to Hotel Buenos Aires with my buddies for a surf trip expecting a normal cool vacation. i soon realized i had stumbled onto a secret gem. The view was epic and beautiful, only to be surpassed by the sunset upon it. from this kingly vantage one can easily see the break clearly in both directions so you can plan your approach to these large glassy waves and observe your trip mates with binoculars. The rooms are clean with a stocked fridge and amazing air conditioning. plus the bonus of tempurpedic mattresses ensures a nice comfortable recovery at night. there is a perfect pool and awesome food a short walk away. the only thing better than the food was the character of our host Javier. He was a wonderful and entertaining guy with what seems like the highest of morals and courtesy. i would give it 6 stars if i could..thanks for the great experience Javier.

i highly recommend this hotel to couples and surfers... money well spent:)

respectfully,
Ethan

Room Tip: theyre all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

If you are planing to visit santa teresa i would recomend you stay at hotel buenos aires, here is why: javier and florencia are great host, they make you feel right at home and are very helpfull with anything you need or need to know about booking trips or activities, the pool is always clean and restaurant is very good.
But the main reason you should stay at buenos aires is the view, 180 degrees of ocean from the top of the hills! Sunset are breath taking, and since you are way above town, you will not be bothered by all the noise and dust from the motor bikes in the dirt roads. We highly recomend staying here, we even stayed a couple of days more than we were supposed to!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at this fabulous hotel for one night. The room was very clean, the shower was hot and the view from the room was outstanding. Jav and Flo are very friendly hosts and offtipi formation about the area and what it has to offer. The hotel is up on a hill and I would recommend a four wheel drive vehicle to get there. The pool is located halfway down the hill beside the most excellent restaurant called Brisas del Mar. There is no better place to stay while in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room during the dry season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in Costa Rica for 3 weeks and this was the first place and the best place we have seen in Costa Rica. Even more expensive hotels were not as good as Buenos Aires. Javier and Flor are super kind and know about all the good restaurants in town, the rooms get cleaned every day, the sunset is amazing, the view is awesome, the hammocks are comfi and the vibe is really mellow. I forgot to mention the fridge in the room, which provided us with cold beers and juicy mango's. We planned on staying a few nights, but ended up staying 10. And we still had trouble leaving. Downstairs there is a swimmingpool and a restaurant which serves the best steak of Costa Rica. And I really am not overreacting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list