We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dream vision made real” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Save
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Atlantic Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“a dream vision made real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Went to Hotel Buenos Aires with my buddies for a surf trip expecting a normal cool vacation. i soon realized i had stumbled onto a secret gem. The view was epic and beautiful, only to be surpassed by the sunset upon it. from this kingly vantage one can easily see the break clearly in both directions so you can plan your approach to these large glassy waves and observe your trip mates with binoculars. The rooms are clean with a stocked fridge and amazing air conditioning. plus the bonus of tempurpedic mattresses ensures a nice comfortable recovery at night. there is a perfect pool and awesome food a short walk away. the only thing better than the food was the character of our host Javier. He was a wonderful and entertaining guy with what seems like the highest of morals and courtesy. i would give it 6 stars if i could..thanks for the great experience Javier.

i highly recommend this hotel to couples and surfers... money well spent:)

respectfully,
Ethan

Room Tip: theyre all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
90
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you are planing to visit santa teresa i would recomend you stay at hotel buenos aires, here is why: javier and florencia are great host, they make you feel right at home and are very helpfull with anything you need or need to know about booking trips or activities, the pool is always clean and restaurant is very good.
But the main reason you should stay at buenos aires is the view, 180 degrees of ocean from the top of the hills! Sunset are breath taking, and since you are way above town, you will not be bothered by all the noise and dust from the motor bikes in the dirt roads. We highly recomend staying here, we even stayed a couple of days more than we were supposed to!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at this fabulous hotel for one night. The room was very clean, the shower was hot and the view from the room was outstanding. Jav and Flo are very friendly hosts and offtipi formation about the area and what it has to offer. The hotel is up on a hill and I would recommend a four wheel drive vehicle to get there. The pool is located halfway down the hill beside the most excellent restaurant called Brisas del Mar. There is no better place to stay while in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room during the dry season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in Costa Rica for 3 weeks and this was the first place and the best place we have seen in Costa Rica. Even more expensive hotels were not as good as Buenos Aires. Javier and Flor are super kind and know about all the good restaurants in town, the rooms get cleaned every day, the sunset is amazing, the view is awesome, the hammocks are comfi and the vibe is really mellow. I forgot to mention the fridge in the room, which provided us with cold beers and juicy mango's. We planned on staying a few nights, but ended up staying 10. And we still had trouble leaving. Downstairs there is a swimmingpool and a restaurant which serves the best steak of Costa Rica. And I really am not overreacting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Planned on staying 2 nights, but that became 4 nights. Away from the dust, but still in the center. Good and clean rooms, nice pool, good breakfast in the (separate) restaurant, fantastic hosts/owners. Really helpful with everything. And last but not least: the best sunset view in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just spent two days and then came back for three more , the owner Javi actually came to pick me up with his quad in the nearby town , that's how cool and friendly these people are . The atmosphere is really great at hotel Buenos Aires . Florencia and Javier are so nice , there place is beautiful and maybe the Phoenix bar will open for you too and you can watch the sunset drinking with cool people while checking the surfers catch their waves down below.Great place out of the dusty roads for surfers and just anyone wanting to enjoy Mal Pais /Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with the same vue , some have A.C others fans . Very clean and comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

3 words: clean, quiet, friendly. Well, 3 words is not enough to describe this place. It was the best hotel we stayed in Costa Rica. it is a really good price-quality hotel. The restaurant is also the best in town. We will certainly come back here for our next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.