We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view, kind hosts, great location, clean rooms, great vibe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Save
You added Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$45 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best view, kind hosts, great location, clean rooms, great vibe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Wake up to the smell of coffee, and the sound of surf thundering below. Open your door, walk out onto the terrace, fill your cup with freshly brewed Costa Rican gold, and look out over the beach hundreds of feet below. From the chair you are sitting in, you can see for miles, and think about where you want to go for the morning. There are plenty of choices within easy walking distance. Maybe you will Join the owner Javier in the water. If you are up after six, you missed him. He gets in early so he can get back in time to take superb care of his place, and his guests.
Maybe you will head a few steps down the hill to one of the several restaurants, shops, even yoga studios nearby. You could go right to the beach, or travel to the nearby park. Maybe you will just fall back in to one of the hammocks permanently hung in front of your room, and sip another cup of coffee. You could head down to the Chrystal clean pool located right next to the restaurant. They are both down a short path on the next terrace down the hill. One of the great things about Buenos Aires is that it is located close to everything, but because it is high on a hill, you feel like you are above it all, in your own world. Yes, it is very quiet.
Whatever you do during the day, make sure you catch at least one sunset from the beautifully manicured green lawn in front of your room. Sunsets are an event at Buenos Aires. Javier and Florencia have created the perfect space to either sit quietly and take it all in, or to mingle with other guests while the best sunsets you have ever seen explode, then subside over the warm pacific below.
Warning: You will not want to leave. Life is too good and too easy here. Go you must, because the rest of the country has so much to offer… But you will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
76
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I have decided to take the time and write this review of my stay at Hotel Buenos Aires. My 6-day stay was just wonderful; I could have stay for 6 more!

Buenos Aires spectacular views of the coastline with the magnificence sunsets are just wonderful. It is so much fun spending the days doing many activities along the Playa then relaxing with friends on the lounge chairs on the property overlooking the towns of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, as you watch the sunsets you enjoy a cool beverage or two.

The hospitality of the owners of Hotel Buenos Aires, Javier and Florencia provide a safe and secure, eco-friendly environment. Best of all their family approach made me feel at home. They are so helpful in arranging transportation, providing contacts for tourist activities, such as riding ATV’s along the Playa to providing direction to the Montezuma Water Falls.

An additional benefit to my stay at Hotel Buenos Aires is the on site restaurant and bar (Brisas del Mar), which of all the places I eat in Mal Pais or Santa Teresa, it was far the best.

The bottom line at the Hotel Buenos Aires for the price of the clean and comfortable rooms you get the best location, restaurant, view and sunsets in all of Mal Pais-Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Business, wife and kids has limited my time exploring new surf destinations. However, I am quite happy with our familiar Buenes Aires Surf Hotel. I am able to visit twice a year (once with wife and another trip with my guy friends) both trips we always stay with Javi and Florencia (owners). The rooms are clean with natural teak wood furniture, mini fridge (there is a "super mercado" at the bottom of the hill) and I always opt for the A/C rooms. There is an unbeleivable view of the Pacific and the mountains of the Cabo Blanco Reserve. But what really makes the trip is the friendship I have made with Javi. He and Flo are super friendly and always around to answer questions and make suggestions. The restaurant is fabulous and I love the pool for after surf sessions. I feel comfortable here and have no worries.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife and I spent 9 nights at Buenos Aires Hotel and we definitely had a relaxing and fun vacation. Javier and Florencia (the owners) are so friendly and helpful; it doesn't get better than this. The rooms are really clean and the beds are top comfort. The hotel is made of nice local wood wich gives it a nice warmful touch. With only 8 rooms in the hotel, you feel intimate and previleged specially with the amazing view you have on the ocean and the sunsets. You don't even need to chek the surf report. You just wake up to the sound of the waves and look how they are from your doorstep (by the way, the pictures on the site are truly representative). The beaches around are amazing and you can find spots for all levels of surfing. That was excellent for us since I already surfed and my wife was just starting. Javier has excellents contacts for surf lessons, board rental and any other info you need (activities, food, etc.) Don't even bother bringing your board. You get real cheap price for boards in good shape (around 60 $US for 8 days vs 200 $ per board round trip on the plane). There is also an excellent restaurant and a nice pool where you can relax between surf sessions. I definitely recommand the place to everyone. Just don't tell to many people, because I sure want my spot for next year. Have a good time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Buenos Aires Hotel is one of those places you can easily get attached to and hope to return sooner than later. I've just returned from a trip to Costa Rica and stayed there for three nights with my girlfriend and we loved it. In our opinion the location of the hotel is an absolute privilege (despite having to climb a steep hill to get there), because once you're there the view is spectacular. There's no need to climb the hill more than once or twice a day if you plan well and the perks of staying at the hotel are well worth it: perfect sunsets, great view of the waves, peaceful mornings... just perfect.

The prices are also very reasonable, we paid 50 dollars for a double room in the middle of the winter holidays and have no complaints with the room. It was clean, comfortable, every room had a hammock outside of it and the atmosphere was very calm and peaceful.

Finally, on to Javier and Flor, the people who run the hotel... in short: as friendly and helpful as they come. They made our stay a lot more enjoyable, they helped out with whatever we needed and made sure we had the best experience possible. They'll give you great tips about what you can do in the area and basically offer to help with whatever you may need. They're a huge added value to your stay and make 50 dollars seem like a steal. We'll undoubtedly stay at the Buenos Aires Hotel if we return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

After a loooooooooooong 6 minuttes almost vertical, hot and crazy walk up a hill, you arrive to the most fab place in Santa Teresa. With at least 200 meters above sea-level you with a doubt has the most amazing view across the Santa Teresa area. To sit a middle of nothing, below the stars in the garden-terrase is just amazing. Accompanied by the best (!) and most popular restaurant amongst local as well as tourists, this is the place you wanna stay when visiting Santa Teresa! And it has a pool, which is totally necessary in the hot seasons...

And to top it all off, the wonderfull hosting couple makes your stay very intimate. They will treat you like friends, on occasion brew you a morning coffee before a surf session and maybe even invite you to a cocktail party in the garden if hit the right dates... Remeber to ask for Javiers Pina Colada! :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

This place felt like home from the very first moment. 180 degrees oceanview with dramatic sunsets; swell-lines and flocks of Pelicans to be spotted from you hammock. Javier and Florencia are warmhearted hosts who make you feel very welcome. The daily walk up the hill (377 steps from the mainroad) evens out the effect of chocolate pancakes, smoothies and cold beer, so you come home in shape, happier than ever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.