We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. With one minor flaw...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Carmen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Carmen
Mal Pais Cross | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Puerto Rico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good. With one minor flaw...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our stay was very pleasent. The hotel was clean and near everything. We had the time of our life. Although, be sure to pay your reservation in CASH!!! Do not give them your credit card number under no circumstances. When I got back home, I found out that my credit card number was stolen and charged more than $5,000 in stores around the south of Spain. The receptionist was sort of bad-tempered at times. But besides all that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Overall I was pleased with our stay at this hotel. The rooms are nice, it's all very new and pleasant. It is located in a small shopping center so there are several restaurants to choose from right there as well as other basic services across the street, and it's also close to the beach (1-2 blocks away).
However, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast that was included with the rate of the room because it was pretty limited.
Also, the pool area is tiny and it gets crowded easily. When we were there, there was a large group of families travelling together staying in the first floor in front of the pool and they took over the pool all day, making it very crowded and noisy, so we didn't feel comfortable staying and didn't get a chance to have any quiet time by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Hotel Playa Carmen, it is the best boutique hotel in the area. The beach with white sand and great spot for surfing was very relaxing.

Have a great relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel wasn't even in the guidebooks but we had friends stay there and rave about it, so we decided to try it out. It was perfect. It offered so much more than any of the other hotels in the area that were priced twice as much as this property. It is brand new, has a great pool and bar area and the rooms are modern. Definitely try this spot if you're in Mal Pais and you can walk down the street to the best pizza place on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banna0081
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Wow- This was a great hotel, very clean and great location, steps from Playa Carmen and right in the middle of dining in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. They have a great little pool area with lounge chairs and a bar. I would def recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and for the price it is a steal! Plus they have computers and free internet which was a big bonus! The only complaint I had was the spa connected with the hotel, totally a tourist trap, overly pried for what you get, my boyfriend received a so-so massage and they wanted to charge him 20 dollars more when he asked the massage therapist to rub harder on a couple spots that were sore on his back, so instead of a relaxation they wanted to charge for deep tissue which it clearly was not. The massage room was not closed off and he could hear outside noise. And I had a manicure that was only good, no little arm/hand massage, and my lady was chatting the whole time with other co workers, a half hour not worth 20 dollars.

THE HOTEL IS A MUST THOUGH!


Love it love it.

  • Liked — cleanliness/look and location to beach.
  • Disliked — sonja spa
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We spent five of our six nights in Mal País/Santa Teresa at Hotel Playa Carmen, WE LOVED IT!! The hotel is clean, accommodating and the rooms are bright and inviting. The pool is gorgeous and refreshing. The hotel is located just steps from Playa Carmen and the location allows you to explore all dining options in the area, from the local sodas to Umi sushi, to Franks place. Everything is just steps away from the hotel and despite the hotel being in the center of it all it still is an escape tranquil and quiet its the perfect spot to relax.

Our days were spent exploring, ATV-ing, walking the beaches from Playa Carmen to Playa Santa Teresa all the way to El Peñón. It was nice knowing after the long days we could spend relaxing nights back at Playa Carmen after watching the sunset.

I recommend this hotel to everyone who is considering coming to Mal País, I think it is perfect. We spent our first night elsewhere because we wanted something remote and mountainside and unless you are OK with bugs and the commute into town for food and drink options I suggest you stay close to Playa Carmen.

We ATV-ed all along Mal País to Playa Hermosa and I have to say we made the best possible decision staying at Hotel Playa Carmen it really was enjoyable!! Thanks to the staff, we loved our stay!!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, comfort and the beauty of the area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We were on a motorcycling trip with friends see web site of our travels

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=376909

It seemed obvious to us that this was the place to stay. It was modern , clean had all the amenities we were looking for and was in our budget range. We wanted to enjoy the beach go on a few excursions and come back to a clean room, with great shower bathroom facilities and a nice pool. Since it was the green season the hotel was quite. The hotel staff was very friendly, the Internet was down for some reason, I think it had something to do with the rains they had the night before we arrived? The breakfast is a highlight with a buffet style ( eggs cooked to order) and espresso coffee all complimentary and served with a smile.

The staff was friendly we made friends with the bar tender and his wife. Everyone was very friendly. They have a convenient mini honor bar in the room. There is a Calspa hot tub just beyond the bar and the pool was convenient and clean

Things to do in Malpais, rent a quad and drive the back road to Montezuma for lunch Its an easy adventure which will provide a really great day.
Take a short walk down the beach to the D&N bar, the most underutilized facility I have ever seen. You have to have the best chicken in the whole world at Las Piedras. They are closed on Mondays but other than that it is a meal not to be missed. The atmosphere is exactly what this traveler had hoped for!

  • Liked — clean, modern and comfortable, close to center of town and short walk to beach
  • Disliked — Internet was down while we were there but probably not their fault (upline ?)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Playa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Carmen

Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Carmen Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: Mal Pais Cross | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Del Carmen Hotel The Premier Upscale Luxury Resort - Hotel in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. With beach front view, with the best location including pool, Jacuzzi Spa, 24 hour Bar.Close to Commercial Center right next to the bank, shops, rental car agencies and much more.All rooms have AC, Wifi connection. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Carmen to your Saves list