We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Carmen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Carmen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Easter Week Special!
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Full of details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Hotel Playa Carmen, it is the best boutique hotel in the area. The beach with white sand and great spot for surfing was very relaxing.

Have a great relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel wasn't even in the guidebooks but we had friends stay there and rave about it, so we decided to try it out. It was perfect. It offered so much more than any of the other hotels in the area that were priced twice as much as this property. It is brand new, has a great pool and bar area and the rooms are modern. Definitely try this spot if you're in Mal Pais and you can walk down the street to the best pizza place on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banna0081
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Wow- This was a great hotel, very clean and great location, steps from Playa Carmen and right in the middle of dining in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. They have a great little pool area with lounge chairs and a bar. I would def recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and for the price it is a steal! Plus they have computers and free internet which was a big bonus! The only complaint I had was the spa connected with the hotel, totally a tourist trap, overly pried for what you get, my boyfriend received a so-so massage and they wanted to charge him 20 dollars more when he asked the massage therapist to rub harder on a couple spots that were sore on his back, so instead of a relaxation they wanted to charge for deep tissue which it clearly was not. The massage room was not closed off and he could hear outside noise. And I had a manicure that was only good, no little arm/hand massage, and my lady was chatting the whole time with other co workers, a half hour not worth 20 dollars.

THE HOTEL IS A MUST THOUGH!


Love it love it.

  • Liked — cleanliness/look and location to beach.
  • Disliked — sonja spa
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We spent five of our six nights in Mal País/Santa Teresa at Hotel Playa Carmen, WE LOVED IT!! The hotel is clean, accommodating and the rooms are bright and inviting. The pool is gorgeous and refreshing. The hotel is located just steps from Playa Carmen and the location allows you to explore all dining options in the area, from the local sodas to Umi sushi, to Franks place. Everything is just steps away from the hotel and despite the hotel being in the center of it all it still is an escape tranquil and quiet its the perfect spot to relax.

Our days were spent exploring, ATV-ing, walking the beaches from Playa Carmen to Playa Santa Teresa all the way to El Peñón. It was nice knowing after the long days we could spend relaxing nights back at Playa Carmen after watching the sunset.

I recommend this hotel to everyone who is considering coming to Mal País, I think it is perfect. We spent our first night elsewhere because we wanted something remote and mountainside and unless you are OK with bugs and the commute into town for food and drink options I suggest you stay close to Playa Carmen.

We ATV-ed all along Mal País to Playa Hermosa and I have to say we made the best possible decision staying at Hotel Playa Carmen it really was enjoyable!! Thanks to the staff, we loved our stay!!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, comfort and the beauty of the area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We were on a motorcycling trip with friends see web site of our travels

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=376909

It seemed obvious to us that this was the place to stay. It was modern , clean had all the amenities we were looking for and was in our budget range. We wanted to enjoy the beach go on a few excursions and come back to a clean room, with great shower bathroom facilities and a nice pool. Since it was the green season the hotel was quite. The hotel staff was very friendly, the Internet was down for some reason, I think it had something to do with the rains they had the night before we arrived? The breakfast is a highlight with a buffet style ( eggs cooked to order) and espresso coffee all complimentary and served with a smile.

The staff was friendly we made friends with the bar tender and his wife. Everyone was very friendly. They have a convenient mini honor bar in the room. There is a Calspa hot tub just beyond the bar and the pool was convenient and clean

Things to do in Malpais, rent a quad and drive the back road to Montezuma for lunch Its an easy adventure which will provide a really great day.
Take a short walk down the beach to the D&N bar, the most underutilized facility I have ever seen. You have to have the best chicken in the whole world at Las Piedras. They are closed on Mondays but other than that it is a meal not to be missed. The atmosphere is exactly what this traveler had hoped for!

  • Liked — clean, modern and comfortable, close to center of town and short walk to beach
  • Disliked — Internet was down while we were there but probably not their fault (upline ?)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

The hotel is only 8 months old, and everything is brand new, and clean. The staff really keeps up on the property- sweeping and mopping the floors all throughout the day. The front desk staff is great- especially Nancy. They are all very nice, and go above and beyond to make your stay even better. The hotel grounds, and rooms are set in a modern decor with all the comforts of home. Flat screen TV, DVD player with free DVD rentals at the front desk, air conditioning, fan, and an in room fridge that actually has reasonably priced product, unlike other hotel room mini bars. Your room has free Wi-Fi if you want to bring your laptop, or leave the laptop at home, and use the Internet computer terminals they provide free of charge. They also offer free breakfast every day of your stay! They have a restaurant, bar, Jacuzzi, and a small pool on premises.

The website for some reason seems a bit difficult to find in a search engine, so I provided the link below. It says "site under construction" but if you go into the Spanish section, you can at least look at pictures of the property even if you can't understand the footnotes.

www.playacarmenhotel.com

For those that want to read on- a little information about the Malpais/Playa Carmen/Santa Teresa area.

Just so travelers aren't disappointed upon arrival, these are a few things you should know:

Travelers who are use to the mega resorts with acres of manicured property, and multiple huge pools with waterfalls should look elsewhere. Not that these resorts don't exist in these areas, just understand they are not common lodging and you will pay top dollar. Even coming to the southern Nicoya peninsula area is some-what roughing it.
Commercial airlines do not travel directly into Tambor (closest airport to malpais/playa carmen/santa teresa) You first land in the capital of San Jose. From San Jose you have an option of a 6-8 hour bus ride, or a 25 minute domestic flight to Tambor on a prop plane such as Sansa, or Nature air. After landing in Tambor, it would be about a 40 minute cab ride through some of the countries bumpiest roads to the malpais/playa carmen/santa teresa area.

The beaches of Malpais/Playa Carmen/Santa Teresa are surfing beaches, and the current is rough most of the time. In the earlier part of the day you may be able to take a dip, but I do not recommend for someone who is not an advanced swimmer. Don't expect beaches lined with chair rentals and umbrellas- people just lay on a towel.

These areas are also undeveloped with unpaved dusty streets. However, the grounds of the Playa Carmen hotel are connected to a chain of quaint boutiques, and restaurants that make it seem as if you are some place else. When you go out to the main street, it's totally different. Not unsafe by any means, but definitely undeveloped as I mentioned earlier.

The common lodging of the area are $8 - $25 a night cabinas. However if you are a couple that is interested in surfing, or learning how to surf, it would definitely be best to opt for a place like Playa Carmen Hotel. If you are not a surfer, or a surf enthusiast there are definitely better options for your vacation elsewhere in the country of Costa Rica.


I hope this info helps anyone who is unfamiliar. I don't usually like to write long winded reviews, but this is the kind of info I always hope to find when traveling to an unfamiliar destination.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, clean ultra modern rooms with all the comforts of home, close to the beach
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

If you want a place without bugs,ants etc this is the hotel for you. It´s new and superclean-both the rooms and the property and Erica in the reception is the nicest person ever. It has a small but nice pool, free jaccuzzi, bar and a restaurant. It´s only 100-150 m from the beach and they have free sunchairs. The beach is perfect for surfing.
If you going to this area Playa Carmen hotel (and Casa Azul) is the only place worth the money. Well Florblanca looks nice to but its too far away from everthing and very expensive.


Most of the midrage hotels in the mal pais and santa teresa costs between 40-160 dollars/night and they all seem to have problems with septiktanks, water, bugs, ants etc. Playa Carmen don´t, you can just relax and have a good time. We had a standard room and it was very nice with King Bed, mini bar, dvdplayer, showerfacilities, air-con, free breakfast buffé. They gave us 20 % discount so we paid only 105 incl.tax.

Bad: ...well...the bartenders are not that good and daytime the music in the bar is to loud- making it hard to relax by the pool

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Carmen

Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Carmen prides itself on simple comforts, reasonable rates, and a unique brand of Costa Rican hospitality. A two-minute walk to the beach, our hotel is super convenient for surfers, swimmers, runners, sun-bathers, photographers, and all kinds of beach-lovers. Surf year-round without a wet suit, relax on the beach, take walks during low tide, and enjoy the warm and friendly social scene at sunset. If you love the beach, there is no better place to stay in this area than Hotel Playa Carmen. We are within walking distance as well of two other consistent beach-breaks: Malpais and Santa Teresa, and roughly 20 minutes by car to Hermosa Beach, an excellent spot for all ability levels, especially beginners. We are centrally located near laundry services, the bank, surf shops, and our locally famous international restaurants. When you walk around town, you'll hear many different languages, meet people from various cultural backgrounds, and sample cuisine from many countries. Hotel Playa Carmen is unique! Come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Carmen Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.