We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Carmen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mal Pais Cross | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Brigham City, Utah
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This appears to be the best place in town, very new and modern. I see that others are paying $60 cash. We were hit at $70, but it was still very nice indeed. Good stroll to the beach. Nothing but surfing waves on the beach. Nothing big, but there was not a storm coming in.
Plenty of cool air and hot water in this hotel.It is convenient to everything in town.

Room Tip: Don't worry about choosing a good room. They are all equal so far as we could see.Very secure. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

the hotel is very near to the beach, the rooms are very nice, clean and lovelly.
the man in the front was graet and halpe us to reserve trpis, where to go, and places to see, he was very pichent with us.
the hotel is near a resturant name Bakery wich is great as well.
overall- we realy had a great time and it was a very prity place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are a surfer on a budget this might be the perfect place for you. It is less than a block from the beautiful beach, and at $60 it is certainly more clean and modern than other accommodations you would find for the same price. We drove by, checked out the room and thought everything looked good so we paid for two nights. In the middle of the night the bed, collapsed and we landed on the floor. We picked up the mattress to find that it was missing half of the support slats and half of the remaining slats were cut too small to support the mattress. We put the bed back together as best as we could and I moved to the 'sofa' sleeper, but a couple of hours later with only my partner on the bed it collapsed again. After a pretty sleepless night I was looking forward to a shower, but was shocked to find absolutely no hot water.

Just a couple more things - the pictures in their add are out of date. There is no big comfortable furniture by the pool, there are lounge chairs that are falling apart. The TV reception is horrible, the safe was 'broken' and it was virtually impossible to lock the door to the room.

I will give the desk clerk a huge compliment. After spending the first night there was no way we were going to spend the second night that we had already paid for. I was totally prepared for the hotel to refuse to refund us for the second night, but the clerk did give us a refund without any questioning.

If you drive down the strip from Mal Pais through Santa Theresa there are dozens of hotels - I would check out some others first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in beautiful playa Carmen walking distance to everything! The hotel is a boutique hotel attached to a strip mall. The room has a king bed nice shower and bathroom with a balcony for 60 dollars a night no tax if you pay in cash! Can't beat it for the location price and being a new place in playa Carmen that is up and coming town the roads still aren't paved here yet !! I would have paid more than 60 dollars a night especially compared to what I paid in montezuma for the same price! I have been coming to costa rica for 7 years first time to the nicoya pensiula it's a very special untouched piece of paradise! Check out island Cabuya it's next to Mal Pais and playa carmen... It's an island you can walk to only during low tide. The roads are rugged but well worth the ride! Its worth every minute ! Amazing and Beautiful !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good hotel, close to the beach, small pool, clean. Large rooms.
We had a very noisy room above the very load cafe downstairs.
We fell asleep only after we were tired of the merengue music...

It would have been 5 stars had it not been for the unbearable noise.

Room Tip: Do not take room 312...or any close to the club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is a short easy walk to the beach and all restaurants. The hotel is modern, clean, and everything (except the elevator) works. Our room, on the third floor, was nicely decorated and appointed. Although it had a balcony with amazing views of the sunsets, it overlooked the backyard of the surf shop where mechanical work continued day and night. I would still recommend this hotel, especially if you want a modern hotel with all the conveniences and do not have a vehicle.

Ask for the rate. We paid far less than the posted rate.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms on the west side have a balcony with nice sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had reserved two rooms for one night and arrived very late that night (around midnight) with two children under the age of three. First the pros: the people were very nice, as everyone we met in Costa Rica were. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was very good and substantial. A la carte items are available for additional cost, but the buffet provided has every food group you need. The hotel is located on the beach side of the main street and within easy walking distance to the beach. It is also next door to a shopping area that has good places for food, coffee, apparel, pharmacy, and banks (ATMs). The pool, though small, was clean and nice for the children to play in. The rooms had air conditioning that worked well, as well as fans, which together helped muffle the noise that came from the local restaurant/bar even late at night.
The cons: the rooms were only moderately clean. In our room only one nightstand lamp was in working condition, the sheets had tears in them, making sleeping difficult when your foot got caught in the tear. The only amenity was soap. Neither nightstand lamps worked in the second room. There was no hot water in that room's shower, and the sheets on the sofa bed for the child were not clean (we moved sheets/blankets from the first room and remade the bed).
We made do because of the lateness of the hour,because the person who showed us to the room was not the regular front desk person, and because we were only staying the one night, so our goal was simply to get some sleep, which we did. Given the other reviews on this site, however, we were very much disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Carmen

Address: Mal Pais Cross | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Del Carmen Hotel The Premier Upscale Luxury Resort - Hotel in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. With beach front view, with the best location including pool, Jacuzzi Spa, 24 hour Bar.Close to Commercial Center right next to the bank, shops, rental car agencies and much more.All rooms have AC, Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Carmen Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.