We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and perfect price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Carmen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect location and perfect price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in beautiful playa Carmen walking distance to everything! The hotel is a boutique hotel attached to a strip mall. The room has a king bed nice shower and bathroom with a balcony for 60 dollars a night no tax if you pay in cash! Can't beat it for the location price and being a new place in playa Carmen that is up and coming town the roads still aren't paved here yet !! I would have paid more than 60 dollars a night especially compared to what I paid in montezuma for the same price! I have been coming to costa rica for 7 years first time to the nicoya pensiula it's a very special untouched piece of paradise! Check out island Cabuya it's next to Mal Pais and playa carmen... It's an island you can walk to only during low tide. The roads are rugged but well worth the ride! Its worth every minute ! Amazing and Beautiful !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good hotel, close to the beach, small pool, clean. Large rooms.
We had a very noisy room above the very load cafe downstairs.
We fell asleep only after we were tired of the merengue music...

It would have been 5 stars had it not been for the unbearable noise.

Room Tip: Do not take room 312...or any close to the club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is a short easy walk to the beach and all restaurants. The hotel is modern, clean, and everything (except the elevator) works. Our room, on the third floor, was nicely decorated and appointed. Although it had a balcony with amazing views of the sunsets, it overlooked the backyard of the surf shop where mechanical work continued day and night. I would still recommend this hotel, especially if you want a modern hotel with all the conveniences and do not have a vehicle.

Ask for the rate. We paid far less than the posted rate.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms on the west side have a balcony with nice sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had reserved two rooms for one night and arrived very late that night (around midnight) with two children under the age of three. First the pros: the people were very nice, as everyone we met in Costa Rica were. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was very good and substantial. A la carte items are available for additional cost, but the buffet provided has every food group you need. The hotel is located on the beach side of the main street and within easy walking distance to the beach. It is also next door to a shopping area that has good places for food, coffee, apparel, pharmacy, and banks (ATMs). The pool, though small, was clean and nice for the children to play in. The rooms had air conditioning that worked well, as well as fans, which together helped muffle the noise that came from the local restaurant/bar even late at night.
The cons: the rooms were only moderately clean. In our room only one nightstand lamp was in working condition, the sheets had tears in them, making sleeping difficult when your foot got caught in the tear. The only amenity was soap. Neither nightstand lamps worked in the second room. There was no hot water in that room's shower, and the sheets on the sofa bed for the child were not clean (we moved sheets/blankets from the first room and remade the bed).
We made do because of the lateness of the hour,because the person who showed us to the room was not the regular front desk person, and because we were only staying the one night, so our goal was simply to get some sleep, which we did. Given the other reviews on this site, however, we were very much disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel Playa Carmen is an excellent place to go when you have a limited budget and want to be near the sea at an affordable price.
The rooms have TV, AC, Hot Water, Balcony, among others. Cleanliness is very good, except for the walls of the hallways, but otherwise the place is much more than you expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

There were a few changes this time around. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate. Ended up eating in the bakery in the strip mall.
The bar had closed ( seasonal?) but other than that all the reasons I, and now my wife love this place are the same. Near the beach , heart of town, clean and the air conditioner worked really well!
They carpeted around the pool spent a nice amount of time unwinding gettiong ready for a night introducing my wife to the best chicken in the world Las Piedras. The desk person recommended we try ther mash potatoes and are we glad we did. divine!
I am booking another stay in February 2011, will keep you posted on changes and if this is still the place to stay in Mal Pais. Took wife for 20yr anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our stay was very pleasent. The hotel was clean and near everything. We had the time of our life. Although, be sure to pay your reservation in CASH!!! Do not give them your credit card number under no circumstances. When I got back home, I found out that my credit card number was stolen and charged more than $5,000 in stores around the south of Spain. The receptionist was sort of bad-tempered at times. But besides all that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Playa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Carmen

Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Carmen prides itself on simple comforts, reasonable rates, and a unique brand of Costa Rican hospitality. A two-minute walk to the beach, our hotel is super convenient for surfers, swimmers, runners, sun-bathers, photographers, and all kinds of beach-lovers. Surf year-round without a wet suit, relax on the beach, take walks during low tide, and enjoy the warm and friendly social scene at sunset. If you love the beach, there is no better place to stay in this area than Hotel Playa Carmen. We are within walking distance as well of two other consistent beach-breaks: Malpais and Santa Teresa, and roughly 20 minutes by car to Hermosa Beach, an excellent spot for all ability levels, especially beginners. We are centrally located near laundry services, the bank, surf shops, and our locally famous international restaurants. When you walk around town, you'll hear many different languages, meet people from various cultural backgrounds, and sample cuisine from many countries. Hotel Playa Carmen is unique! Come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Playa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Carmen Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.