We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Carmen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mal Pais Cross | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had reserved two rooms for one night and arrived very late that night (around midnight) with two children under the age of three. First the pros: the people were very nice, as everyone we met in Costa Rica were. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was very good and substantial. A la carte items are available for additional cost, but the buffet provided has every food group you need. The hotel is located on the beach side of the main street and within easy walking distance to the beach. It is also next door to a shopping area that has good places for food, coffee, apparel, pharmacy, and banks (ATMs). The pool, though small, was clean and nice for the children to play in. The rooms had air conditioning that worked well, as well as fans, which together helped muffle the noise that came from the local restaurant/bar even late at night.
The cons: the rooms were only moderately clean. In our room only one nightstand lamp was in working condition, the sheets had tears in them, making sleeping difficult when your foot got caught in the tear. The only amenity was soap. Neither nightstand lamps worked in the second room. There was no hot water in that room's shower, and the sheets on the sofa bed for the child were not clean (we moved sheets/blankets from the first room and remade the bed).
We made do because of the lateness of the hour,because the person who showed us to the room was not the regular front desk person, and because we were only staying the one night, so our goal was simply to get some sleep, which we did. Given the other reviews on this site, however, we were very much disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel Playa Carmen is an excellent place to go when you have a limited budget and want to be near the sea at an affordable price.
The rooms have TV, AC, Hot Water, Balcony, among others. Cleanliness is very good, except for the walls of the hallways, but otherwise the place is much more than you expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

There were a few changes this time around. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate. Ended up eating in the bakery in the strip mall.
The bar had closed ( seasonal?) but other than that all the reasons I, and now my wife love this place are the same. Near the beach , heart of town, clean and the air conditioner worked really well!
They carpeted around the pool spent a nice amount of time unwinding gettiong ready for a night introducing my wife to the best chicken in the world Las Piedras. The desk person recommended we try ther mash potatoes and are we glad we did. divine!
I am booking another stay in February 2011, will keep you posted on changes and if this is still the place to stay in Mal Pais. Took wife for 20yr anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our stay was very pleasent. The hotel was clean and near everything. We had the time of our life. Although, be sure to pay your reservation in CASH!!! Do not give them your credit card number under no circumstances. When I got back home, I found out that my credit card number was stolen and charged more than $5,000 in stores around the south of Spain. The receptionist was sort of bad-tempered at times. But besides all that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Overall I was pleased with our stay at this hotel. The rooms are nice, it's all very new and pleasant. It is located in a small shopping center so there are several restaurants to choose from right there as well as other basic services across the street, and it's also close to the beach (1-2 blocks away).
However, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast that was included with the rate of the room because it was pretty limited.
Also, the pool area is tiny and it gets crowded easily. When we were there, there was a large group of families travelling together staying in the first floor in front of the pool and they took over the pool all day, making it very crowded and noisy, so we didn't feel comfortable staying and didn't get a chance to have any quiet time by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Hotel Playa Carmen, it is the best boutique hotel in the area. The beach with white sand and great spot for surfing was very relaxing.

Have a great relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel wasn't even in the guidebooks but we had friends stay there and rave about it, so we decided to try it out. It was perfect. It offered so much more than any of the other hotels in the area that were priced twice as much as this property. It is brand new, has a great pool and bar area and the rooms are modern. Definitely try this spot if you're in Mal Pais and you can walk down the street to the best pizza place on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Carmen

Address: Mal Pais Cross | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Del Carmen Hotel The Premier Upscale Luxury Resort - Hotel in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. With beach front view, with the best location including pool, Jacuzzi Spa, 24 hour Bar.Close to Commercial Center right next to the bank, shops, rental car agencies and much more.All rooms have AC, Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Playa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Carmen Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.