We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For a romantic dinner with my wife.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makako at El Mangroove

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Makako at El Mangroove
Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
4701-0000
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great For a romantic dinner with my wife.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Deemed lights, great service, but the menu was somewhat limited. I had the braised short ribs in some kind of tamarind or tangy sauce accompanied by shiitake mushrooms and my wife had the sea bass. The short ribs portion was fair but I was surprised by the limited size of the sea bass. Jessica helped us with the reservations and we were treated like royalty by the waiting staff at the restaurant. Thank you!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning property, well trained staff, simply a gen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a brand new restaurant in a high end hotel. The location is amazing. $5 beer and mixed drinks. Tapas menu $5-10.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Very Small Plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The plates are very small for all meals... It's a bit like having tapas. The prices are similar to a fancy US resort which was a bit surprising, but the quality was very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice but $$$$$ for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It was a beautiful zen like experience, except they allow children to dine right along side couples. I like children, have some of my own but I wanted a relaxing romantic experience. The food was good, not great and very very very small portions, which made it expensive for us because we usually share. We also asked to order a bottle of wine and were given the wine i pad to make our selection. i asked if the prices were for the entire bottle because it was confusing and was assured it was for the bottle. so we went ahead and ordered a bottle of malbec from Chilli. when we got our check it turned out that the price quoted on the ipad was for a glass not the bottle so.......not impressed we paid a much much higher price than we wanted

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makako at El Mangroove also viewed

Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Makako at El Mangroove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makako at El Mangroove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.