We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol(E) Papagayo. I would read SECLUDED Papagayo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort

Save Saved
You added Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Playa Panama
scarborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sol(E) Papagayo. I would read SECLUDED Papagayo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Resort is located in secluded area and had better days. The closest village located about 3 km away. A public bus stop is 1 km from the hotel. The itinerary - Playa Panama -- Liberia. The bus goes every 1,5 hour (ask schedule at reception). Price - 650 colon or 1.25 $ till Liberia which is 43 km away from the resort. It takes you about 1 hour one way to the city. The resort is very quiet & surrounded from one side by jungle. There are lots of small creatures: Birds (they know buffet schedule) stealing the food from trays and chased by kitchen staff; Iguanas - lazy waking on the tile & posing before cameras; Small monkeys chase each other on the top of the trees; Colorful fish in the ocean - paradise for naturalists & sole entertainment in this resort. No activities provided. We were from 3 till 10 December and seemed just no more than 20 tourists on the whole resort.
Reception - from 6.00 till 22.00. Check in & out fast.
Staff is very friendly & ready to help you.
Bar opens at 10.00 till 22.00 and run by team of barmen. Girls are helpful, boys speak only Spanish. Juice: Orange, pineapple, watermelon. Liquor: Vodka, Tequila. Beer Soft drinks: Cola, bottled water, Sprite - all beverages never run out.
Food is nice especially salads, lots of vegetables & pickles. Fruits: watermelon( always is run out. You need to ask stuff to bring it in), pineapple & papaya (never run out). Yogurt (about 300 gr bulk bowl) (always empty)- definitely not enough for 20-25 people in the morning. Fish is sometimes at lunch or dinner. Meat: chicken and sometimes beef. No sweets !!!! (except dry chocolate cake)
Pool is nice looking. Pool boy is constantly removing leaves from the pool. Beach towels are changed each day
Beach -- sand is black, difficult to see bottom, many sharp rocks 20m away the beach. Bring special shoes to walk safe on bottom. A careful swim is possible during high tide ONLY. When tide is low No swim is possible due many very sharp lava formation. 350 m away is more convenient beach with gray sand. You may feel more relaxed there during high tide. But if you want to experience the real ocean joy with plenty of water activities($) be prepared to walk 1 km to the nearby resort Occidental Grand Papagayo. Beach is about 100m wide with white sand. Water is clear. Corals are about 50m away the beach with abundant sea life: different fishes, small murenas, rays, sea urchins etc. We walk three times per day to the beach making about more than 6 km in total. So it is good exercise for your muscles. If you are ready for the such challenge take good shoes, for you will not wish to rub your feet till scorns after couple of trips to the remote beach or wipe your feet dry of water & clean of sand.
Bring a good repellent with you as oodles of mosquitoes want to suck your blood after sunset.

Room Tip: Room numbers starting with 800 would be more comfortable to stay. Room numbers 600 & 700 series...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    35
    17
    33
See reviews for
38
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka District, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Sol for the week of Nov 19th to the 26th. We had every intention to rent a car and go touring the country but we were pleasantly surprised with the resort and its surrounding that we never did rent a car. We had gone for the rest and to get away from it all and this resort provided that for sure. There is nothing going on there. No entertainment except for the local monkeys and the igaunas everywhere. The family of 16 howler monkeys certainly keep you entertained. Be aware though, that the males make a very loud roar and will wake you up every morning around 5:30-6:00 am. This is not as bad as it seems because the bar (yes one bar) closes at 9:30 pm so there is not much to do after that.
The rooms are spacious and clean and the air conditioning worked well in our room. We did not have a coffe maker or chairs for our "terrace" but after asking for them nicely, we did receive them. The rooms are not on the ocean and you can not see the ocean but it is a very short walk to the dining area/pool/ocean areas. It is a small quiet resort and there were only 12 Canadians there. We had the place to ourselves and had to make or find or own fun. There is alot of places to walk and discover. Be sure to hike to the top of the moutain were the cell tower is. Up there is the best view of all. Go out of the resort and turn right, past the Occidental hotel and keep going to the left.Pass the tennis courts and continue to the left. It is quite the hike but worth it. The landslide areas have not been cleaned up yet so there is rocks and boulders on the road.
If you want to take a taxi to Coco beach, have the front desk call Melvin. He is a private taxi driver that only charged us 10 dollars there and ten back. Twenty round trip. Others will charge alot more. His number is 8862-7804. We will diffently use him again.
We certainly will return to this resort in the future if the price is right. My husband and I went from Toronto for under 1500$ for the two of us.
Do remember sun screen, it is very hot there and also remember to bring something to pass by those boring hours, like- backgammon, cribbage, cards, mp3 player ect.
The food was great. We eat off of the a la carte menu during the week and then the buffet on the weekend when more local guests arrived. The presentation of the the food was fabulous and was tasty.
The internet is available there and a 15 minute per person per day is not so bad when there are only a few of us. The last couple of days, the internet did not work though.
Anyhow, go , try, relax, and enjoy !

Room Tip: rooms in the 100 or 200 blocks are the closest to anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a great suit in the fisrst block and had no complaints except we had difficulty getting chairs so that we could sit on the terrace.

Staff in the dining room and reception were excellent. There was not a huge variety of food but given what we paid for prime time in February I was not disappointed. There was always something. The omelet lady was more than accommodating each morning and the coffee was excellent. The al a carte restaurant and the waiter there was excellent.

The beach was good for walking,but not swimming. We walked 5 min up the hill to the occidental 's beach and were never hassled even when we sat on their lounge chairs.

We took the bus to Coco beach, but it is wise to take a cab back as the two buses don 't seem to connect. Here there are restaurants and supermarkets and all the souvineer shops.

We did the zip lining and the river excursion with Sunquest and both were excellent.

I would return to Sol Papagaya if the price was right. As the weather is hot and the wild life is amazing and that is essentially why I go to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vittoria, Ontario
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Overall didn't mind this resort. It has had better days but the food was ok,staff was great and the rooms were clean and spacious. Its a good deal for the price but if you're looking for activities and nitelife this isn't the place. The pool is great as is the local troop of howler monkeys!!! This resort is a great basecamp to explore Guancaste or just kick back and relax. I would go here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

March 20-27 from Hudson, WI. USA

Cons:
They charged us $50 to be picked up at the airport, local taxis charged $40.
There was a problem with our booking, when we asked to speak to the manager, they said he wasn't there, as he was clearly sitting in the back room.
The beach is not a nice beach.
It is $10 taxi ride to go anyplace outside of the resort, but it is only a mile walk.
Bed/pillows were really hard.
Food was not the greatest, but not really any Costa Rican food is.
It closes at 10 p.m and there is nobody there, but one guard.
No activities.

Pros:
Staff was great, friendly and funny.
There is a bar 500 feet down the beach, it is fun with music and good prices.
Wildlife every place you look, monkeys, lizards, birds.
Really quite!
big pool.
Cheaper price.
Big room and bathroom.

In all:
We went here to relax and we had no trouble doing that. I wouldn't let a friend stay there, but I would tell them that there are more beautiful places in Costa Rica. CoCo beach is fun, it is a $20 taxi ride there, and $20 more back. But they have shops and a good night life. Tamarindo Is $120 roundtrip, We loved it there, that is where we will go next time for sure. So, the truth is you get what you pay for. But not a bad place. We felt safe and it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just got back from the Sol Papagayo, read all the reviews before we left, weren't expecting a whole lot, and I am NOT a picky person by any means I have stayed in other 2.5 to 3 star resorts and they were better than this place. The good things.... the rooms were nice and clean, the staff was extremely good, always willing to please. The food was flavourfull but repeticious, If you like vegetables and salad you were fine, but if your like my husband and need meat, well it's chicken everyday and the odd time you got beef and it was chewy. Buns were stale, and the only meat served at breakfast was cut up hot dogs.
The part that really got me was that the table cloths were only changed once, so you were eating on dirty ones, the cloth napkins were NOT replaced after they were used, but refolded and placed in new glasses. Ewwww. And I witnessed that at one point cutlery being dropped on the floor and then picked up and placed on the table. The beach sucked so we did the 10 min walk over to the occidental Grand and used their beach. Loved Costa Rica but would never go back to that resort, thankfully we met some great people. Oh and did I mention that the pillows were well used the fiber fill had broken up and they were lumpy and smelled, so you might want to bring your own.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We arrived at Sol Papagayo at 9:45 at night. The room was musty, toilet dirty, and sheets old and over used. Someone (a guest) was smoking pot on the lobby by the bar. By 10:00 everything was closed and I couldn't even get a soda. The operator does not answer the phone after 10:00. The food is the same everyday. We ended up looking for another hotel and managed to get accomodation at Condovac La Costa which included breakfast and was just down the road from Sol Papagayo. This place was $100.00 US cheaper than Sol Papagayo and had a full kitchen if you wanted to cook. For $35.00 each we could eat lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent. We were able to book several tours with the money we saved by leaving Sol Papagayo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort

Also Known As:
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Hotel Playa Panama
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Hotel
Sol Papagayo Playa Panama
Sol Papagayo Hotel
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort Costa Rica/Playa Panama, Guanacaste
Address: Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Playa Panama
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Playa Panama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.