We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort

Save Saved
You added Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Playa Panama
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a great suit in the fisrst block and had no complaints except we had difficulty getting chairs so that we could sit on the terrace.

Staff in the dining room and reception were excellent. There was not a huge variety of food but given what we paid for prime time in February I was not disappointed. There was always something. The omelet lady was more than accommodating each morning and the coffee was excellent. The al a carte restaurant and the waiter there was excellent.

The beach was good for walking,but not swimming. We walked 5 min up the hill to the occidental 's beach and were never hassled even when we sat on their lounge chairs.

We took the bus to Coco beach, but it is wise to take a cab back as the two buses don 't seem to connect. Here there are restaurants and supermarkets and all the souvineer shops.

We did the zip lining and the river excursion with Sunquest and both were excellent.

I would return to Sol Papagaya if the price was right. As the weather is hot and the wild life is amazing and that is essentially why I go to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    35
    17
    33
See reviews for
38
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vittoria, Ontario
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Overall didn't mind this resort. It has had better days but the food was ok,staff was great and the rooms were clean and spacious. Its a good deal for the price but if you're looking for activities and nitelife this isn't the place. The pool is great as is the local troop of howler monkeys!!! This resort is a great basecamp to explore Guancaste or just kick back and relax. I would go here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

March 20-27 from Hudson, WI. USA

Cons:
They charged us $50 to be picked up at the airport, local taxis charged $40.
There was a problem with our booking, when we asked to speak to the manager, they said he wasn't there, as he was clearly sitting in the back room.
The beach is not a nice beach.
It is $10 taxi ride to go anyplace outside of the resort, but it is only a mile walk.
Bed/pillows were really hard.
Food was not the greatest, but not really any Costa Rican food is.
It closes at 10 p.m and there is nobody there, but one guard.
No activities.

Pros:
Staff was great, friendly and funny.
There is a bar 500 feet down the beach, it is fun with music and good prices.
Wildlife every place you look, monkeys, lizards, birds.
Really quite!
big pool.
Cheaper price.
Big room and bathroom.

In all:
We went here to relax and we had no trouble doing that. I wouldn't let a friend stay there, but I would tell them that there are more beautiful places in Costa Rica. CoCo beach is fun, it is a $20 taxi ride there, and $20 more back. But they have shops and a good night life. Tamarindo Is $120 roundtrip, We loved it there, that is where we will go next time for sure. So, the truth is you get what you pay for. But not a bad place. We felt safe and it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just got back from the Sol Papagayo, read all the reviews before we left, weren't expecting a whole lot, and I am NOT a picky person by any means I have stayed in other 2.5 to 3 star resorts and they were better than this place. The good things.... the rooms were nice and clean, the staff was extremely good, always willing to please. The food was flavourfull but repeticious, If you like vegetables and salad you were fine, but if your like my husband and need meat, well it's chicken everyday and the odd time you got beef and it was chewy. Buns were stale, and the only meat served at breakfast was cut up hot dogs.
The part that really got me was that the table cloths were only changed once, so you were eating on dirty ones, the cloth napkins were NOT replaced after they were used, but refolded and placed in new glasses. Ewwww. And I witnessed that at one point cutlery being dropped on the floor and then picked up and placed on the table. The beach sucked so we did the 10 min walk over to the occidental Grand and used their beach. Loved Costa Rica but would never go back to that resort, thankfully we met some great people. Oh and did I mention that the pillows were well used the fiber fill had broken up and they were lumpy and smelled, so you might want to bring your own.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We arrived at Sol Papagayo at 9:45 at night. The room was musty, toilet dirty, and sheets old and over used. Someone (a guest) was smoking pot on the lobby by the bar. By 10:00 everything was closed and I couldn't even get a soda. The operator does not answer the phone after 10:00. The food is the same everyday. We ended up looking for another hotel and managed to get accomodation at Condovac La Costa which included breakfast and was just down the road from Sol Papagayo. This place was $100.00 US cheaper than Sol Papagayo and had a full kitchen if you wanted to cook. For $35.00 each we could eat lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent. We were able to book several tours with the money we saved by leaving Sol Papagayo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hey All... we appreciate a five star hotel just as much as anyone but the people that slam this property given the price, should not be taken too seriously in my opinion. Try the French Riviera next time!
The rooms and property are CLEAN, you can drink the water, the staff is great, the grounds and wildlife are fantastic, it`s safe with a guard at the gate, and the food is really not bad at all - MUCH, MUCH better than we were expecting given some of the previous reviews on this site! There was lots of beer and refreshments - never ran out!
My family and I would have stayed another week no problem. It`s quiet though, but as we went on four all-day tours ( we used Issys Tours - great ) throughout the week this quiet was a bonus and also allowed a comfortable base for our excursions in Costa Rica. The wildlife ( monkeys, birds, etc. ) was spectacular as we sat around the pool ( cleaned regularily when we were there ) and we had the feeling that you never really knew what was going to fly, swing or crawl by you! Keep your camera handy!
Now, there is also no doubt that this resort has seen better days. There are suites on the outer perimeter of the resort that are not being used and it does seem that the property is currently in some sort of transition state either with ownership or cash influx. One is reminded of a classic car that is in need of a new paint job - but its still a classic!.
This is a scenic, quiet, clean, comfortable property and certainly should be advertised as such. Surely there are travellers who these attributes are still perfectly suited to ( families, seniors, etc. ) especially given the attractive all-inclusive value price! Glad we went without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed the this resort from Jan. 7-14 and were very happy. For the price, it was great. It's right on the beach, nice pool and rooms. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was good, if you want 5 star food, then pay more money for that and stay somewhere else. I don't go away to Costa RIca for the food and I don't really care where I stay as long as it's clean....I'm there for the nature and the beauty and the warm weather....if you are picky and not easily pleased and like to complain, spend big bucks and stay at the four seasons....The staff was amazing, Graybin, the bartender was great and Jerhiah too and Juliana at the front desk....everyone was great! We loved JC, the hotel's tour guide (I would highly recommend booking tours through him instead of through Sunquest, nothing wrong with Sunquest, but JC gives you more for your money, takes you more places and it's a bit cheaper, and he's very professional, speaks great English and is a super fantastic, nice person.) It's great that the hotel has their own tour desk to book things...and prices are very reasonable. I would def. stay here again..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort

Also Known As:
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Hotel Playa Panama
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Hotel
Sol Papagayo Playa Panama
Sol Papagayo Hotel
Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort Costa Rica/Playa Panama, Guanacaste
Address: Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Playa Panama
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Playa Panama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Papagayo-Nakuti Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.