We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW..Do Not Miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbocato

Abbocato
Road 254, Km. 8th, | Hacienda Del Mar Project, Playa Panama 297-1005, Costa Rica
+506 2672 0073
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $55
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: To define Abbocato is to talk about a family that will welcome new friends in our home to create an unforgettable experience and to give an elegant and professional service in a distinguished environment with the best view of “Golfo Papagayo”.Our goal is to convey a sense of satisfaction on the client through an eno-gastronomic journey of high level, with luxurious and cozy surroundings with large windows and a wonderful terrace where you must enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in the Pacific Ocean.The style of cuisine that Restaurante Aboocato offers can be defined as “author”. On a daily basis Paola and Andrea, both highly experienced chefs, organize next day’s menu according to the main ingredients, based on freshness and quality to bring out the best flavors on all the dishes prepared.You can enjoy every night, one of two choices from our menu. It can be mediterranean or asian. They both include an entree, a soup or a second entree, a main dish and a dessert.For those who want to experience a less formal meal, we offer a “tapas” gourmet menu. It includes meat tapas, chicken tapas, vegetarian tapas, and more. We will satisfy any taste you desire.For lunch, our menu represents our compromise to our clients. We have a "a la carte menú" and different daily specials presented in our unique and original way with all of our authentic flavors.In addition we have a great beverage selection, from our original cocktails to exotic drinks. Our wine list offers organic and biodinamic options like our house wines, which are labeled from different parts of the world with a very high quality-price realation. To these wines we add a very personal selection of unique bottles in Costa Rica, for those wine lovers and wine experts that like to experience a unique tasting.There is no need to mention, that all of this would be impossible without the collaboration from our staff; they are well prepared, professional and experienced, with an extraordinary attitude towards your experience, so that you will remember it for the rest of your life.We will be waiting for you!If you have any questions or would like more information, do not hesitate and contact us!
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“WOW..Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First off, let me just say that you do not have to be a 'foodie" to enjoy this restaurant. Anyone who wants great food, impeccable service, beautiful location, and a night to remember will enjoy this spot. We dined at Abbocato in their old location and loved the charm. This new spot is a whole different level. From the moment you enter, you will notice the elegant interior. Then you walk through the space out onto the terrace for an unbelievable view of the Papagayo Gulf. With an infinity pool overlooking the ocean, cocktail in hand, and sun setting over the ocean, it is already a great night.
Then comes the food. Let me just say that Chef Andrea is a master in the kitchen. We went with his recommendation of the prix fixe menu with a meat and seafood for each. My wife and I had to share absolutely everything because each dish is spectacular. Every course is elegantly displayed and melts in your mouth. I could go on to describe each course but words could not really do it properly. You have to experience the wonderful creations he presents.
To top it all off, the service is amazing. He and his wife Paola each have a deep background in the industry and their attention to detail shows. Along with their knowledge is a passion for excellence that you rarely see. Everything about the restaurant, and the dining experience, is well thought out and truly not to be missed.
Make this a must stop on any visit to Guanacaste!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    139
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond the food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoy an aperitif by the pool while the sun gently melts into the water (drinks were fantastic) and as the sky explode in a pinkish glow go inside and get ready to enjoy a fantastic meal. The chef will let you choose between two menus, meat or fishm the first with a mediterranean flavour and the latter with an asian taste... or you can pick few of the several tapasa that vary every night... Pick your wine, the selection is incredible. The chef italian will walk you through the all menu in order for you to enjoy an experience that goes beyond food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best formal restaurant in Playa del Coco greater area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Restaurants in Playa del Coco, Playa Hermosa, Playa Panama and Ocotal are spoiled by tourists and command high prices without giving much in return. This place is very different! I must warn you that the prices are very high, but it is worth it. Fist of all they are located in a development that sits on the edge of a cliff overlooking Playa Panama. The view from the patio is breathtaking, but so is the building itself. I would imagine it is a great place for a wedding or a very special occasion. Just look at the pictures to judge for yourself. You are given 2 choices for a prix fixe menu: seafood or meat. The meal is 3 courses of haute cuisine dishes. The restaurant can easily compete with any NYC establishment, but you can not get this view in NYC! Make sure to come right before sunset - you will get amazing pictures. If you are celebrating a special occasion be sure to make a reservation there. I have also visited them for lunch and it was perfect!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I made a reservation by noon (as recommended) and looked forward to our dinner all day. When we arrived, the chef and staff provided personalized service. The food was impeccable, and the pride in the food and service was unmistakeable. The chef also have our toddlers a private tour of the kitchen to our toddlers as he was preparing the ice cream we had ordered, oh my, the excitement on their faces! Thank you!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must for foodies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you are a foodie and visit the area of the beaches Panama/Hermosa/Coco, lunch or dinner at the Abbocato is a must for you! We had lunch there recently and enjoyed every single minute. The restaurant has a very elegant setting, including a big pool terrace with spectacular view over the gulf of Papagayo. Chef Andrea and his wife Paola were very welcoming and took excellent care of us.
The food they serve is a creative fusion mix of Italy and Asia, prepared on a top gourmet level. Don`t ask for a menu, the chef will come to the table personnally to explain the market fresh choices of the day. And he was very flexible when we challenged him and were asking for a mixed platter of all the 6 seafood appetizers they offered that day. From a heavenly intense bisque d`hommard to a very fresh carpaccio of marlin accompanied by a mango ginger salad, to a warm and super tasty coquille St-Jacques in it`s shell, everything was perfect! The chef being italian, we went for a beef brasato (how can meat be so juicy after braising so many hours in the oven?) with porcini risotto as a main course. We sat there and only said WOW, outstanding!
After all this, there wasn`t a lot of space left, but we had to try the deserts. Again we went for the option of "tasting the full choice of the day": Tiramisu (of course), Sambuca souffle, Amaretto cheese cake, creme brulee, just to mention a few. Everything on a consistently high level.
With each course, Andrea proposed a different wine, each one was the perfect "company" with its dish.
The value was excellent: 55 $ per person before service and tax, including the whole meal and the wines: very reasonable!
We left Abbocato super happy after the best meal we ever had in Costa Rica! When we are in the Playas del Coco area again, there will be no way around this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbocato also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Abbocato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbocato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.