We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even better than last year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbocato

Abbocato
Road 254, Km. 8th, | Hacienda Del Mar Project, Playa Panama 297-1005, Costa Rica
+506 2672 0073
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $5 - $55
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: To define Abbocato is to talk about a family that will welcome new friends in our home to create an unforgettable experience and to give an elegant and professional service in a distinguished environment with the best view of “Golfo Papagayo”.Our goal is to convey a sense of satisfaction on the client through an eno-gastronomic journey of high level, with luxurious and cozy surroundings with large windows and a wonderful terrace where you must enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in the Pacific Ocean.The style of cuisine that Restaurante Aboocato offers can be defined as “author”. On a daily basis Paola and Andrea, both highly experienced chefs, organize next day’s menu according to the main ingredients, based on freshness and quality to bring out the best flavors on all the dishes prepared.You can enjoy every night, one of two choices from our menu. It can be mediterranean or asian. They both include an entree, a soup or a second entree, a main dish and a dessert.For those who want to experience a less formal meal, we offer a “tapas” gourmet menu. It includes meat tapas, chicken tapas, vegetarian tapas, and more. We will satisfy any taste you desire.For lunch, our menu represents our compromise to our clients. We have a "a la carte menú" and different daily specials presented in our unique and original way with all of our authentic flavors.In addition we have a great beverage selection, from our original cocktails to exotic drinks. Our wine list offers organic and biodinamic options like our house wines, which are labeled from different parts of the world with a very high quality-price realation. To these wines we add a very personal selection of unique bottles in Costa Rica, for those wine lovers and wine experts that like to experience a unique tasting.There is no need to mention, that all of this would be impossible without the collaboration from our staff; they are well prepared, professional and experienced, with an extraordinary attitude towards your experience, so that you will remember it for the rest of your life.We will be waiting for you!If you have any questions or would like more information, do not hesitate and contact us!
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“even better than last year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This begins our third year of dining at Abbocato. The food only gets better and the new space is breathtaking. Started out with a drink on the patio. My wife and I seldom drink but we both enjoyed our cocktails. Cindy had a mohito (Costarican style) and I had their signature drink served out on the patio.
After watching the sun set and finishing our drinks we moved inside for diner. Four coures. Fish or meat. Your choice and you can mix and match the other three courses. A five star meal not to be missed.
You can also just stop by for a drink and appitizers on the patio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    131
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible view and dining experience Gulf of Papagayo, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

SPECTACULAR view from a perch looking out over the Papagayo Peninsula and Playa Panama, Pacific Coast of Costa Rica.. Everything prepared fresh. We had wonderful homemade pastas paired with fresh amazing ingredients and deserts were Oh so tempting we had to try a few. Six stars for this jewel! The owner/chef ANDREA, is from Italy and presents the days specials in mouth watering detail. His wife, PAOLA is warm and charming! She with their staff provide excellent service and attention. Ambiance is relaxed, refined, and the most beautiful view in Costa Rica. We noticed guests that had travel from all over to this beautiful spot for the fine food and unique Ambiance. Worth the 30 minute ride from the Four Seasons or the 1 hour 15 minute ride from Tamarindo that we journeyed.

Dinner reservations are a must for dinner but not required for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Fine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On the road just north of Playa Panama is Abbocato Restaurant. We had passed this development many timers, and were always struck by the stunning setting of the property. Perched high above the Gulf of Papagayo, this "find" will impress anyone still with a pulse.
The restaurant itself is in what had originally been designed as a clubhouse for a large development that stalled in 2008. The ambiance is relaxed but stylish, and the attentiveness of the staff is unparalleled.
Start off just before sunset on the terrace over looking the bay and enjoy one of the best views in the area. For those adventurous spirits, I am told that the jalapeño margarita is world class, and worthy of a second round.
The tapas, which we had that evening, were inventive, creative and delicious. Using largely local ingredients in an Asian-fusion style, they brought idle conversation to a halt.
Both times we were there, the head chef came out to talk to us, explained some of the dishes, and asked for honest feedback.
There is a prix fixe menu that we are looking forward to trying very soon, and it changes daily based on what is purchased that day.
Drinks run around $6-7, tapas are $5-8' and the prix fixe (before tax) is $45 pp.
If you are looking for something special, check this place out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent. We tried the new tapas menu. The food was innovative, excellent, wonderfully balanced. Simple but elegant decor. Very gracious hosts, went out of their way to make my children comfortable. Overall, outstanding dining experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Fine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On the road just north of Playa Panama is Abbocato Restaurant. We had passed this development many timers, and were always struck by the stunning setting of the property. Perched high above the Gulf of Papagayo, this "find" will impress anyone still with a pulse.
The restaurant itself is in what had originally been designed as a clubhouse for a large development that stalled in 2008. The ambience is relaxed but stylish, and the attentiveness of the staff is unparalleled.
Start off just before sunset on the terrace over looking the bay and enjoy one of the best views in the area. For those adventurous spirits, I am told that the jalapeño margarita is world class, and worthy of a second round.
The tapas, which we had that evening, were inventive, creative and delicious. Using largely local ingredients in an Asian-fusion style, they brought idle conversation to a halt.
Both times we were there, the head chef came out to talk to us, explained some of the dishes, and asked for honest feedback.
There is a prix fixe menu that we are looking forward to trying very soon, and it changes daily based on what is purchased that day.
Drinks run around $6-7, tapas are $5-8' and the prix fixe (before tax) is $45 pp.
If you are looking for something special, check this place out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbocato also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Abbocato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbocato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Abbocato to your Saves list