We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Fine Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbocato

Abbocato
Road 254, Km. 8th, | Hacienda Del Mar Project, Playa Panama 297-1005, Costa Rica
+506 2672 0073
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $55
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: To define Abbocato is to talk about a family that will welcome new friends in our home to create an unforgettable experience and to give an elegant and professional service in a distinguished environment with the best view of “Golfo Papagayo”.Our goal is to convey a sense of satisfaction on the client through an eno-gastronomic journey of high level, with luxurious and cozy surroundings with large windows and a wonderful terrace where you must enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in the Pacific Ocean.The style of cuisine that Restaurante Aboocato offers can be defined as “author”. On a daily basis Paola and Andrea, both highly experienced chefs, organize next day’s menu according to the main ingredients, based on freshness and quality to bring out the best flavors on all the dishes prepared.You can enjoy every night, one of two choices from our menu. It can be mediterranean or asian. They both include an entree, a soup or a second entree, a main dish and a dessert.For those who want to experience a less formal meal, we offer a “tapas” gourmet menu. It includes meat tapas, chicken tapas, vegetarian tapas, and more. We will satisfy any taste you desire.For lunch, our menu represents our compromise to our clients. We have a "a la carte menú" and different daily specials presented in our unique and original way with all of our authentic flavors.In addition we have a great beverage selection, from our original cocktails to exotic drinks. Our wine list offers organic and biodinamic options like our house wines, which are labeled from different parts of the world with a very high quality-price realation. To these wines we add a very personal selection of unique bottles in Costa Rica, for those wine lovers and wine experts that like to experience a unique tasting.There is no need to mention, that all of this would be impossible without the collaboration from our staff; they are well prepared, professional and experienced, with an extraordinary attitude towards your experience, so that you will remember it for the rest of your life.We will be waiting for you!If you have any questions or would like more information, do not hesitate and contact us!
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Fine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On the road just north of Playa Panama is Abbocato Restaurant. We had passed this development many timers, and were always struck by the stunning setting of the property. Perched high above the Gulf of Papagayo, this "find" will impress anyone still with a pulse.
The restaurant itself is in what had originally been designed as a clubhouse for a large development that stalled in 2008. The ambiance is relaxed but stylish, and the attentiveness of the staff is unparalleled.
Start off just before sunset on the terrace over looking the bay and enjoy one of the best views in the area. For those adventurous spirits, I am told that the jalapeño margarita is world class, and worthy of a second round.
The tapas, which we had that evening, were inventive, creative and delicious. Using largely local ingredients in an Asian-fusion style, they brought idle conversation to a halt.
Both times we were there, the head chef came out to talk to us, explained some of the dishes, and asked for honest feedback.
There is a prix fixe menu that we are looking forward to trying very soon, and it changes daily based on what is purchased that day.
Drinks run around $6-7, tapas are $5-8' and the prix fixe (before tax) is $45 pp.
If you are looking for something special, check this place out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent. We tried the new tapas menu. The food was innovative, excellent, wonderfully balanced. Simple but elegant decor. Very gracious hosts, went out of their way to make my children comfortable. Overall, outstanding dining experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Fine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On the road just north of Playa Panama is Abbocato Restaurant. We had passed this development many timers, and were always struck by the stunning setting of the property. Perched high above the Gulf of Papagayo, this "find" will impress anyone still with a pulse.
The restaurant itself is in what had originally been designed as a clubhouse for a large development that stalled in 2008. The ambience is relaxed but stylish, and the attentiveness of the staff is unparalleled.
Start off just before sunset on the terrace over looking the bay and enjoy one of the best views in the area. For those adventurous spirits, I am told that the jalapeño margarita is world class, and worthy of a second round.
The tapas, which we had that evening, were inventive, creative and delicious. Using largely local ingredients in an Asian-fusion style, they brought idle conversation to a halt.
Both times we were there, the head chef came out to talk to us, explained some of the dishes, and asked for honest feedback.
There is a prix fixe menu that we are looking forward to trying very soon, and it changes daily based on what is purchased that day.
Drinks run around $6-7, tapas are $5-8' and the prix fixe (before tax) is $45 pp.
If you are looking for something special, check this place out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Good Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The atmosphere is good. The view is excellent. In general we enjoyed the visit. We have one recommendation: The steak was not properly cooked. We asked for medium and we got well-done (over-cooked). The taste of the steak was good. Our tweens enjoyed their pastas and wanted to go for seconds. The martinis were good. The oriental sauce we got that day did not go as well with the Mahi-Mahi. The chef could choose a few very good dishes/sauces and serve them as a core rather than risking the taste experimenting with sauces.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The reviews are real, Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited Guanacaste for the third time and the area is not known for gourmet food. We were skeptical when we read the 61 five star reviews and no complaints. There has to be some bad reviews we thought. Also the reviews are all glowing without any real information. So I thought I would give you my two cents.
Apparently the original home that this restaurant was located in was not useable after the recent earthquake so the restaurant was moved to a new development near Panama Beach. We were unable to see the area because by the time we arrived it was after sunset. But the development, Hacienda del Mar appeared upscale and the restaurant is now in a luxurius indoor setting with air conditioning (no matter how quaint the old place was, we don't enjoy eating if it is humid so we appreciate the air conditioning). The entrance to the restaurant is grand and the room simple but elegant.
You are greated b Andrea and Paola who are lovely.
The menu's change daily and you only have a choice of two price fixe four course dinners. Usually one meat and one seafood. The price is $45 per person.
On our night the seafood dinner consisted of an appetizer of Octopus, Tuna and noodles. Second course of Soup of shrimp in a carrot sauce, Main course of Snapper in Asian Sauce with rice and vegetables and a choice of dessert. The meat dinner consisted of an appetizer of Antipasto, Second course of Eggplant ravioli, main course of Braized Pork and a choice of desserts. Prices for wine were standard for this class of restaurant but they had some premium wines we did not recognize (mostly South American) which were very pricey.
I must admit, the previous reviews were real. This was an outstanding meal with outstanding service. A real surprise in Costa Rica. Some may consider it pricey, especially for Costa Rica where wages are much lower than in the U.S., but compared to other options in the area, not bad. It was well worth it. Attached are photos of the meal which Paola told me would cost $5, but I told him I would charge him $5 for posting them :) . If I had one criticism, the restaurant bills in CR add 16% for taxes and most add 10% service charge. Additional tip is usually optional. The bill in addition to the service charge had a suggested gratuity of 10%, 15% and 20% with the amounts indicated. I thought that was a bit presumptuous to suggest a 10% "service charge" +20% tip or a 30% tip. The service was excellent, but was just something not to expect to see on your bill. Was a great meal though if are a "foody". Excellent dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbocato also viewed

Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 

Been to Abbocato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbocato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.