We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant

Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant
Beach Road Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
506-2672-0365
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Out of business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Drove from playa del coco to Rumbas. Went there last night. Rumbas is Out of business. Too bad. I heard it was good. Went to Ricardo's instead.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent food, good beachfront location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live 5 miles from Rumba's and love the place. Tico food is very good. If you order something like a roast beef deli sandwich, not so much. With all the great local food you'd have to be crazy to order a sandwich anyhow. I love the stuffed avacado with shrimp salad or the stuffed hamburger with bleu cheese. The waitresses are fast, courteous and bi-lingual. They now have Öpen Mic Night" with great entertanment about once a month.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic American style food on the edge of paradise! PURA VIDA!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Guanacaste, Costa Rica has many X-pats in the area so there are no shortage of places to go, however, in Playa Panama this is the place to be. The food and drinks are more than reasonably priced, and occasionally there's live music and even open mic nights (Usually run by a local luminary Andy Browne from Boomers Offshore in Play Hermosa)..... which are NOT like US open mic nights with a dull crowd. I mean the place will be packed with talent during tourist season, and plenty of locals in the off season.

Lastly, this place had the best chicken fingers and wings I've ever had in my life, and I hate chicken fingers!!!

Definitely worth the visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view,good service but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent view & service. The food was not good. There were 3 in our party. 2 ordered the beef au jus sandwich. We were informed only enough beef for 1. This came with 2 very thin slices of dry beef on a large bun with sort of a salad on it. The beef in no way would cover the bun in one layer. The jus was terrible,strong & salty. Another ordered the burger . Was large but he said it tasted rancid so did not eat any more of it.. It took me 4 orders to finally get something they had. The chicken wings were tasteless & dry. No coating of any kind & tasted greasy. I only dared eat one. All our french fries were greasy. The onion rings were greasy also & the batter not crispy at all. I must say our waiter was very good. I am sure I will not return to eat there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for lunch or snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I got there last weekend, I liked because is just in front of the beach, no walls, so you can feel the joyfull of the place. They prepare a good "nachos" but the chicken they prepared was so salty. They change it, with good manners.

Recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Sardinal, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.