We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch or snack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant
Beach Road Playa Panama, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
506-2672-0365
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good for lunch or snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I got there last weekend, I liked because is just in front of the beach, no walls, so you can feel the joyfull of the place. They prepare a good "nachos" but the chicken they prepared was so salty. They change it, with good manners.

Recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uvita, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The bar is right by the beach...we found the the staff were real friendly. They serve good food - we didn't have to wait long to get it and they serve adequate portions....we certainly were not hungry when we were done.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rumbas is terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just ate at Rumbas for the second time this week! There is no comparison with the old Beach Club. New owners/managers are doing wonderful job. Food was very good, drinks were excellent and the service is Outstanding. One waitress is from the Sports Bar where she always offered unparalleled service and friendliness. Other waitress is from Aquasport and she is also most helpful and delightful. We will be back often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food & pleasant atmosphere on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had lunch at Rumbas Beach Club and found the food to be excellent. I had the Cesar Salad and my wife had the Rumbas salad. The service was good and the restaurant was clean and comfortable. We took a walk on the beach after lunch since it was only a few steps away from our table. We hope to go back for dinner sometime. The lunch menu has many selections and we hope dinner will be as good as our lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rumbas, beautiful view of the beach, shore and ocean. The deck is very nice and we had drinks and dinner. The margaritas are the best we have ever had as they make their own mix and use top shelf tequila. The food however was only good. The shrimp and lobster both were dry and slightly over cooked for our taste. It would have been nice to have some butter or garlic butter melted for dipping. My potatoes were over cooked but the taste of our meals were savory. On another note, the owner and manager were on hand to welcome us and share their restaurant plans. The service was 5 star as we were treated with outstanding table service. The servers speak both Spanish and English and were eager to please but not over bearing. Another ourstanding item to mention is there immaculate bathrooms. Cleanest bathrooms in Hermosa. I do recommend the restaurant and I look forward to returning, but will order different food items other than seafood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.