We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Durazno

Villa Durazno
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Panama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Durazno
Vistas del Pacifico, Playa Panama, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Panama B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I recently had the good fortune to stay at Villa Durazno with a small group of friends, and let me just say --- WOW.
From the immaculately decorated rooms and adjoining on suites in every one of them, to the completely modernized & professional kitchen, this mansion was a dream!
There were 7 master bedrooms in total, plus we discovered extra beds in one of the several(!) home offices the house boasts. There was a separate bar and living room area on the first floor, but with large aquarium windows giving you a clear view INTO the infinity pool’s eight feet depth – we just didn’t have the heart to stay indoors much.
Almost all of our time was spend upstairs on the main level… lounging in the infinity pool (where we had a clear view into the peninsula below and where beautiful Hibiscus flowers draped lazily within our reach), bbq’ing in the massive and modern outdoor grilling/kitchen area, or walking in and out the main kitchen/dining area, which was easily accessible by wall to wall glass doors which fully opened and allowed us to take in the views of the Playa Panama and Papagayo Peninsula while we cooked and prepared to eat outside on the terrace.
And speaking of cooking, this review wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t mention Dave, the host of the house, and the man who cooked us the most Amazing meal we’d had so far upon our first night there. (We’d already been in Costa Rica for a week before we stayed at Villa Durazno). What a charming and affable host he was! He made us feel right at home from our first steps into the home, and insisted we keep feeling at home, even as all our mouth continued to drop at the impressive interior design of the entire space. He gave us tips about the country and surrounding area, talked to us about where to go to book the best adventures, massages, and restaurant reservations… and I dare say, became our good friend by the time we left.
In short, several of the friends I came to Costa Rica with, and I myself, have traveled around the world before and have stayed in hostels, apartments, hotels and villas. And outside of a few select places in Europe, this is the most opulent, most relaxing, most unforgettable villa we have ever had the pleasure to stay in.
I hope all those who are reading this review take note -- this Villa is one you simply CANNOT miss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Checking into the Villa Durazno was like checking out of my harried frenzy of a life. Spectacular doesn't begin to describe this opulent mountain-top villa. Each suite is incredibly roomy and amenity-laden. The views over Panama Bay and the Pacific beyond will melt the stress away in an instant. We went with a group of friends and family and it was a perfect week. Dave, the affable and adorable British fellow who minds the manor, became a part of the family within moments. In addition to being great company, his attention to detail and willingness to make things happen for us (yoga classes, in-house massages (one the best I've ever had) deep sea fishing, nights out, etc) went well above and beyond. At this price, one expects a certain amount of attention and pampering, but Dave made it feel like we were guests in a home, rather than staying in a rented villa. Highly, highly recommend this stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sah Harbor New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Recently we the great plaeasure of occupying Villa Durazno with a small group of friends. After many vacations renbting villas in the islands if the Caribbean this was our first experience in Costa Rica. Villa Durazno is definitely first class. It is set on a high hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean where early and late in the day soaring birds float past the villa's large lunge and pool area overlooking the valley. The water from the broad pool area creates the illusion of flowing over its front edge and provides a large swimming area as well as a separate hot tob pool. Wide seating areas between the villa and the pool where werew we spent much of our sun time. A walkway from the lounge area lead to a covered gazebo where we ocasionally played cards and chess.

Inside the house the large bedrooms connected to luxurious bathrooms, spacious living rooms and a well appointed IT/meeting room. The kitchen area is also large, open and well equipped. Throughout the house all amenities were first class.

The property is landscaped with local flowers which are breathtaking in a gated and guarded community which feels very safe. For my wife and I Villa Durazno became a new standard for a luxury villa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Villa Durazno is a beautiful and lovingly constructed (by an American interior designer/structural engineer apparently) totally private hideaway in the hills overlooking Playa Panama and the Papagayo peninsula. We heard about it from friends who had visited previously and we spent a week there in August 2012. Firstly, the house is amazing - there are 7 luxurious bedrooms and two huge social spaces including a professionally equipped kitchen. You don't expect such exquisite quality and detail in the furnishings, art and appliances throughout the villa. Our centre-piece was the sun-terrace though...the best place to gaze out over a lush canopy of trees toward the ocean, and the perfect viewpoint to watch the dramatic sunsets (or the night we saw a spectacular crackling electrical storm) sink into the Pacific. Even the colours of the terrace (terracotta, smooth pale cream stone and chocolate beams) are designed to slow the pace, which is exactly what we were looking for. There are tiny hummingbirds amongst the red flowers early in the morning and bright green parakeets chase each other at dusk. Huge butterfiles sipped from the infinity pool every day. Beneath the sun-terrace is a cooler space, with huge aquarium windows looking in to the pool - a great spot for an afternoon snooze or yoga, as we discovered. We did venture out though and the villa's people were able to take us to a couple of great bars and restaurants as well as arrange for some of our party to go white-water rafting. It was our first time in Costa Rica, and Villa Durazno has made sure we will return there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I inquired about the availability of this villa via the web. The web page had phone number as an optional field. Since I have an unlisted number, I did not fill in my phone number. I did give my email address. "Paul" at info@villacostarica.net replied back that those people who "do not provide their contact number are a waste of time". If they wanted a phone number, then they should have made it a mandatory field on the web page so they don't waste my time. This review has nothing to do with the actual villa. This review denotes the arrogance and unacceptable demeanor of the villa's representative.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This gorgeous hill top villa boasts unrivalled sea views and is the ultimate if you are looking to totally wind down and relax. The suites are all of superab quality and each has its own unique outlook. The infinity pool looks to the sea across a lush forest of green, that is home for numerous tropical birds, howler monkeys and butterflies. he villa also has a gym, bar, and aquarium terrace. The estate managers, who are both accomplished chefs, can organise in villa (indoor or outdoor) dining that is of out of this world and it's organic too! Nothing is too much trouble for them, they will try to see to your every whim if they are able. If you are looking to get away from it all but need the to do it in style....then come to Villa Durazno.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Durazno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durazno

Address: Vistas del Pacifico, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Playa Panama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Panama
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private and luxurious 6 bedroom villa overlooking Panama Bay, Guanacaste, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Durazno Costa Rica/Playa Panama, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Durazno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Durazno to your Saves list