We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Durazno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Panama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Durazno
Save
You added Villa Durazno to your Saves list
Vistas del Pacifico, Playa Panama, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off in July & August
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Panama B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“This is the life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Checking into the Villa Durazno was like checking out of my harried frenzy of a life. Spectacular doesn't begin to describe this opulent mountain-top villa. Each suite is incredibly roomy and amenity-laden. The views over Panama Bay and the Pacific beyond will melt the stress away in an instant. We went with a group of friends and family and it was a perfect week. Dave, the affable and adorable British fellow who minds the manor, became a part of the family within moments. In addition to being great company, his attention to detail and willingness to make things happen for us (yoga classes, in-house massages (one the best I've ever had) deep sea fishing, nights out, etc) went well above and beyond. At this price, one expects a certain amount of attention and pampering, but Dave made it feel like we were guests in a home, rather than staying in a rented villa. Highly, highly recommend this stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulraybradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sah Harbor New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Recently we the great plaeasure of occupying Villa Durazno with a small group of friends. After many vacations renbting villas in the islands if the Caribbean this was our first experience in Costa Rica. Villa Durazno is definitely first class. It is set on a high hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean where early and late in the day soaring birds float past the villa's large lunge and pool area overlooking the valley. The water from the broad pool area creates the illusion of flowing over its front edge and provides a large swimming area as well as a separate hot tob pool. Wide seating areas between the villa and the pool where werew we spent much of our sun time. A walkway from the lounge area lead to a covered gazebo where we ocasionally played cards and chess.

Inside the house the large bedrooms connected to luxurious bathrooms, spacious living rooms and a well appointed IT/meeting room. The kitchen area is also large, open and well equipped. Throughout the house all amenities were first class.

The property is landscaped with local flowers which are breathtaking in a gated and guarded community which feels very safe. For my wife and I Villa Durazno became a new standard for a luxury villa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Villa Durazno is a beautiful and lovingly constructed (by an American interior designer/structural engineer apparently) totally private hideaway in the hills overlooking Playa Panama and the Papagayo peninsula. We heard about it from friends who had visited previously and we spent a week there in August 2012. Firstly, the house is amazing - there are 7 luxurious bedrooms and two huge social spaces including a professionally equipped kitchen. You don't expect such exquisite quality and detail in the furnishings, art and appliances throughout the villa. Our centre-piece was the sun-terrace though...the best place to gaze out over a lush canopy of trees toward the ocean, and the perfect viewpoint to watch the dramatic sunsets (or the night we saw a spectacular crackling electrical storm) sink into the Pacific. Even the colours of the terrace (terracotta, smooth pale cream stone and chocolate beams) are designed to slow the pace, which is exactly what we were looking for. There are tiny hummingbirds amongst the red flowers early in the morning and bright green parakeets chase each other at dusk. Huge butterfiles sipped from the infinity pool every day. Beneath the sun-terrace is a cooler space, with huge aquarium windows looking in to the pool - a great spot for an afternoon snooze or yoga, as we discovered. We did venture out though and the villa's people were able to take us to a couple of great bars and restaurants as well as arrange for some of our party to go white-water rafting. It was our first time in Costa Rica, and Villa Durazno has made sure we will return there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 490DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I inquired about the availability of this villa via the web. The web page had phone number as an optional field. Since I have an unlisted number, I did not fill in my phone number. I did give my email address. "Paul" at info@villacostarica.net replied back that those people who "do not provide their contact number are a waste of time". If they wanted a phone number, then they should have made it a mandatory field on the web page so they don't waste my time. This review has nothing to do with the actual villa. This review denotes the arrogance and unacceptable demeanor of the villa's representative.

Stayed October 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank ka3oyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Panama
3.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
#4 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel
1.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durazno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durazno

Address: Vistas del Pacifico, Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Playa Panama
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Panama
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private and luxurious 6 bedroom villa overlooking Panama Bay, Guanacaste, Costa Rica. The property offers guests genuine luxury in beautiful surroundings. Follow us on Face Book to get regular special offers and updates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Durazno Costa Rica/Playa Panama, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing