We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising great stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising great stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 2 nights - as an afterthought really, to my weeklong trip to Costa Rica.

My group flew into Liberia and it was a short 30 minute drive to Panama Beach. The area is not great - construction around - the trail by the beach was a little grotty but I have to say we were surprised at the pleasant stay we had. Maybe since our expectations were not high - but the grounds for the hotel are well kept, the rooms are a good size (although we did have some tiny ants at our sink the whole time -didn't really bother us), and the food was pretty decent - which is a plus since we don't have much else very nearby for food options. (We did go to Ginger - a great Tapas restaurant the next beach over - Playa Hermosa and about 10 minute drive - the restaurant offered a free shuttle pick up).

The pool is big and well kept - the swim up bar is a plus, the direct gate-path to beach access just steps away was awesome. I had was able to get some or morning runs on the beach and a shaded foot trail/path right outside. We saw some fun lizards and a bunch of different birds on the grounds as well.

We took a sunset snorkel and sail (Kuna Vela) which was a perfect activity to do while here - we just walked out to the beach ad a dingy came to pick us up beachside and take us to the sailboat further out). I highly reccomend that activity!

The staff was warm, unobtrusive, but helpful.

If we had more time here we would have explored more into Playa Hermosa, Playa Coco - but for a convenient 30 minutes from Liberia - I would much prefer this space as a landing pad over anywhere in Liberia. We paid something like $125 per night thru hotels.com and we found it to be a great value.



  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    94
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
80
128
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great place. We stayed for 2 nights at the 2 bed room with shower by the pool and loved it. Very clean everywhere - rooms, pool, restaurant, meticulously cared for garden. Nice friendly staff. Great beach with nice dark soft sand and very calm waters ideal for kids. This is our second stay here and for sure I would like to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Conde for one night on Friday February 22nd 2013. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. We were staying in another hotel in the area but they were booked so we had to move for 2 nights. Casa Conde has a beautiful pool and the grounds are very lush. The rooms are very nice. Our room had a jucuzzi and extra large bathroom. The rooms near the pool and the beach are really located with a great view. Unfortuntly we booked late and ended up with a room near the end of the parking lot. My wife was not happy with the location of the room as she felt like we were staying in the parking lot and not close to enough to the resort. It was only about a 150 meter walk to the lobby. My biggest issue is they told me we would have internet access in the room and the internet did not work in the room. They said they would work on fixing it but that never happend. I rely on internet for business so I decided to check out the next day. When I told them I was going to check out they offered me many options to stay but i felt that should have been offered before I pack and was ready to leave. The resort is nice with a great pool. My only other concern is that Panama beach is isolated in the area. There are no other options for drinks or food so the only option when staying there is the restaurant and bars in the resort. You need a car or a cab the get to any other beach or anything else you may want to find. We did have a great evening on the hot tub in the room.

Room Tip: Stay near the pool or the beach not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

As a family of four(kids 2 1/2 and 5) from Alaska, we picked the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica to be sure we completely thawed out. Starting out our trip with Casa Conde Del Mar was a smart move...the sun shone everyday, all day and when the heat was on, we enjoyed the "best pool ever" or relaxing in the very comfortable and clean room. The baby pool was great for both kids to play when we wanted to relax on lawnchairs. Howler Monkies, Resident Iguana's, and Tropical Birds Galore entertained us daily. The staff befriended us and it was sad to leave after 9 days of getting to know eachother. The breakfast bar was excellent and we dined for a fabulous Valentine's Dinner that I'll never forget. The live musicians were a nice touch to their open dining room. Our kids had a horse ride on the beach and my husband went fishing on a boat one day and a caught a couple red snappers that the restaurant prepared for us for another memorable dinner. I went snorkeling another day and that was a nice break from the kids. The gray sands beach was clean and very family friendly. We enjoyed Sunday on the beach with the Costa Ricans who travelled far and wide to spend it with their families. Very entertaining! We made fires on the beach and roasted hotdogs and marshmellows a few evenings at sunset. Without a car, you can feel stranded here if you plan to say awhile..thought they have an acitivity desk that will take you almost anywhere. We flew to Liberia from San Jose...rented a car at the end of our stay here to then explored inland to Monteverde, Lake Arenal...La Fortuna and back to San Jose. Highly recommend Casa Conde Del Mar. Que sitio mas bonito!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I really enjoyed this property. The rooms were clean and adequate, I believe they were recently remodeled. The parrots and mccaws sang in the morning at breakfast. The location is a little out of the was and it is a short drive into Coco beach, but that makes it all the better. Breakfast was good, and the massage out toward the beach was very relaxing. The only problem, which is not within the hotels control, was the various wildfires burning in the area, it made it hard to enjoy the outdoors with all of the smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I reserved this hotel on hotels.com and we were very pleasantly surprised. The grounds were beautifully maintained, the room spacious. Entry had a portico with comfy chairs. Big swimming pool if one does not like the black sand of the beach. Breakfast was a generous buffet in happy setting in- and outdoors. WE can recommend this for anyone wanting to relax!

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle face the pool. Larger rooms are set back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting, right on the beach. there were countless birds, and we saw howler monkeys each day. There is a wonderful large pool, and beautiful grounds. Meals were great, especially the dinner on the beach our last night, complete with traditional music and ships out on the water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
3.7 mi away
Allegro Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo
#8 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel

Address: Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Beach Front Hotel offers comfort and relaxation in a welcoming environment located in an area with one of the most pristine beaches in Costa Rica, Playa Panama, only 30 minutes from the Liberia International Airport in Guanacaste. Clear waters with a soft current bath the 1-mile extension of taupe sand beach. Many water sports can be enjoyed including fishing, swimming, and windsurfing, among others, from a beach surrounded by the exuberant vegetation after which the beach was named. Playa Panama has the Blue Flag certification and categorized as one of the most sanitary beaches in the country. The hotel offers 20 Standard Suites, 2 Junior Suites and 4 Superior Suites. There is also a restaurant the "Mare Calmo," offering a variety of dishes and the "El Bucanero" bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Del Mar Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.