We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Quiet Beach Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Ross, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for a Quiet Beach Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I and adult daughter had a great time at Casa Conde del Mar over Christmas. We were looking for a place to just relax at the beach and we found it here.

The hotel has only about 20 rooms, is on Playa Panama and is set back behind trees from the beach. Even when full at Christmas it did not feel crowded. The pools are great and overly large for a hotel of this size. The dining room staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious enough and the housekeeping staff seemed to always have the room cleaned before we noticed. Wifi was free and good all over the site – even at the pool. The “health club” is only a few machines and weights outside under a shade roof. We got what we wanted in the way of relaxation, walks on the beach and very good bird watching right around the hotel.

Being on Playa Panama the hotel has some transportation challenges. We bought an airport transfer for 3 for $40 thinking we would buy transport at the hotel. Once there we found it to be a $40 round trip cab ride to Playa Hermosa the next beach south. This is because there are no cabs at Panama or Hermosa and you have to pay for a cab to come from Playa Coco. We then rented a car which was no more difficult than renting one from the US.

We bought an all inclusive deal on Expedia. It was not much more expensive than the breakfast only option. This was both a good and not so great idea. Good because of the relative isolation of the resort and the price of ala carte items on the restaurant menu and not so good because of the limited choices on the separate all inclusive menu. There are only some 10 items to choose from for lunch and dinner. (If you can find transport Ginger, a restaurant on the main road in Playa Hermosa (about 7 min by car) is excellent.)

Lastly regarding a previous post regarding bed bugs. This is our 4th time in CR and on each trip we have noted bugs and bites. I can say from personal experience at Casa Conde del Mar that if you get off the beaten path and have bare legs you are going to encounter chiggers. Its seems possible, and maybe even most likely, that the bed bugs mentioned previously were from these nasty bugs rather than bed bugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    82
    33
    10
    12
See reviews for
70
100
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff is incredibly friendly, loved that they bothered to remember your name and room number. The rooms were pretty. The pool is nice but needed some cleaning. The beach is relaxing and it feels very natural as locals often visit the same beach, doesn't feel so touristy, which I like. The sand is gray but the water is clear, you can see fish! The sunset is breathtaking. There isn't much, if anything, to do nearby. We had to take a cab or wait for tour guides to pick us up but the drive to the nearest attractions isn't so bad. About 15-20 mins to Coco Beach where the nightlife is pretty live. You can request a cab at the front desk but the wait isn't less than 20 minutes. Food is okay and really overpriced. I recommend going out to eat and return prepared with beverages and snacks if you plan to spend the day at the hotel. (A can of Pepsi was 2$!). Breakfast was better than I thought as they had a cook preparing eggs.

Room Tip: The lower numbers are closer to the pool and WiFi. We first stayed in room 204 where WiFi was strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found this place to be very nice. The staff was great. The grounds are well kept. Very nice pool. It is a little remote but we got out alot. We used Herson as our guide several times. He is awesome. He will show you anything you want to see. His English is good also.And you can contact him threw the front desk." I highly recommend him".
I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two nights in early December 2012 and it was very relaxing! Not too many other couples/groups were there so it was nice and quiet. When we left on Saturday I could tell it was going to get more busy over the weekend, however. The rooms were very well maintained and we had lots of room. The pool was fantastic. The food at the restaurant was good and we received very good customer service! The beach, which is within steps of the resort, was very peaceful. We drove into El Coco for dinner and had a nice time. Small town, lots of culture and locals.

Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pool is awesome. Beach is okay... it's gray sand. Water was warm and calm December 22 to 26, 2012. Not blue however.....it's brownish. Rooms need a little help. They are very dark even during the day because there are not enough lights. The bath/toilet/shower/sink all need updating. The linens and curtains also need to be updated. If you don't like bugs, don't come to Costa Rica. Bugs are part of the trip and if you're petrified of them, stay home :) Bring bug repelant or you will get bit by mosquitoes/chiggers/etc. (not in your room, but on the beach)

Food in the restaurant was very, very good. The chef even prepared sauces and side dishes for the mahi-mahi that we caught deep sea fishing earlier in the day and we had the best meal of our entire trip here. Restaurant is open air. They are in the process of building a whole new section of the hotel which is said to have kitchenettes and multiple bedrooms when it's complete (late in 2013). Very quiet area of Costa Rica and the side walks roll up around 6 pm. No nightlife at all unless you want to drive pretty far to a different beach.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the 400s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This resort was clean and the staff friendly. It's a beautiful property that is right on the beach, which was very clean. Our room was big, with cable TV and an ac/heater.

Our only disappointment was with the restaurant, which could have been a little better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and two 8 yr olds just left 5 days at Casa Conde. Loved it.

The best: their pools area is large and shallow enough(actually there are tow adjoining pools...one is 2 ft deep and the other goes from 3 ft to about 5 feet...and they are both very good size!), plus there's a waterfall they can jump from! You don't feel cramp or crowded b/c there are only 25 rooms so not many people.

The grounds are lovely and all buildings just 1 story makes you feel in nature.
Small fitness area with just one universal weight set will not satisfy an athlete.

Also good: the beach is beautiful and no waves...and a few steps away past a row of trees that give shade. Local vendors offer ice cream & jetskis but not pushy at all.

Also good: the staff. Sympatico group. We had a mixup and were put in a small room at first but they quicky straightened it out. (Our booking was via TripAdvisor, paid 6 months in advance.) During meals they are attentive, too.

Not so good: their restaurant prices are rediculous ($25/entree). Only options are 5 min ride to Playa Hermosa for 5 restaurants ( nothing quick), or 20 min to Playa del Coco for 50 choices including quick burgers/pizza. If you have a car, this is no problem...we drove around every day and loved it as we also visited beaches and waterfalls.

Now, the issue: we stayed 5 days and then upon arrival home, we noticed bites on legs and back, which another reviewer mentioned as bedbugs. Would such bits take 5 days to surface? I don't think so...but if you go there, check the sheets. Maybe we got bitten by fleas on the plane??? Weird. I would go again to Casa Conde in a heartbeat....and rent a car again too.

I do recommend this place...just be aware. BTW we used "U-save" rental agency and they were fine. Had the Suzuki Jimmy little 2-door tin can. Roads near beaches are good and no 4WD is needed...but if you plan to searching for waterfalls or drive yourself to activities or Monteverde, get the 4WD.

Room Tip: They have 6 buildings with 4 rooms each. Two of the buildings are off the parking lot rather than f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort

Address: Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Del Mar Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.