We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff is incredibly friendly, loved that they bothered to remember your name and room number. The rooms were pretty. The pool is nice but needed some cleaning. The beach is relaxing and it feels very natural as locals often visit the same beach, doesn't feel so touristy, which I like. The sand is gray but the water is clear, you can see fish! The sunset is breathtaking. There isn't much, if anything, to do nearby. We had to take a cab or wait for tour guides to pick us up but the drive to the nearest attractions isn't so bad. About 15-20 mins to Coco Beach where the nightlife is pretty live. You can request a cab at the front desk but the wait isn't less than 20 minutes. Food is okay and really overpriced. I recommend going out to eat and return prepared with beverages and snacks if you plan to spend the day at the hotel. (A can of Pepsi was 2$!). Breakfast was better than I thought as they had a cook preparing eggs.

Room Tip: The lower numbers are closer to the pool and WiFi. We first stayed in room 204 where WiFi was strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
66
91
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found this place to be very nice. The staff was great. The grounds are well kept. Very nice pool. It is a little remote but we got out alot. We used Herson as our guide several times. He is awesome. He will show you anything you want to see. His English is good also.And you can contact him threw the front desk." I highly recommend him".
I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two nights in early December 2012 and it was very relaxing! Not too many other couples/groups were there so it was nice and quiet. When we left on Saturday I could tell it was going to get more busy over the weekend, however. The rooms were very well maintained and we had lots of room. The pool was fantastic. The food at the restaurant was good and we received very good customer service! The beach, which is within steps of the resort, was very peaceful. We drove into El Coco for dinner and had a nice time. Small town, lots of culture and locals.

Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pool is awesome. Beach is okay... it's gray sand. Water was warm and calm December 22 to 26, 2012. Not blue however.....it's brownish. Rooms need a little help. They are very dark even during the day because there are not enough lights. The bath/toilet/shower/sink all need updating. The linens and curtains also need to be updated. If you don't like bugs, don't come to Costa Rica. Bugs are part of the trip and if you're petrified of them, stay home :) Bring bug repelant or you will get bit by mosquitoes/chiggers/etc. (not in your room, but on the beach)

Food in the restaurant was very, very good. The chef even prepared sauces and side dishes for the mahi-mahi that we caught deep sea fishing earlier in the day and we had the best meal of our entire trip here. Restaurant is open air. They are in the process of building a whole new section of the hotel which is said to have kitchenettes and multiple bedrooms when it's complete (late in 2013). Very quiet area of Costa Rica and the side walks roll up around 6 pm. No nightlife at all unless you want to drive pretty far to a different beach.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the 400s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This resort was clean and the staff friendly. It's a beautiful property that is right on the beach, which was very clean. Our room was big, with cable TV and an ac/heater.

Our only disappointment was with the restaurant, which could have been a little better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and two 8 yr olds just left 5 days at Casa Conde. Loved it.

The best: their pools area is large and shallow enough(actually there are tow adjoining pools...one is 2 ft deep and the other goes from 3 ft to about 5 feet...and they are both very good size!), plus there's a waterfall they can jump from! You don't feel cramp or crowded b/c there are only 25 rooms so not many people.

The grounds are lovely and all buildings just 1 story makes you feel in nature.
Small fitness area with just one universal weight set will not satisfy an athlete.

Also good: the beach is beautiful and no waves...and a few steps away past a row of trees that give shade. Local vendors offer ice cream & jetskis but not pushy at all.

Also good: the staff. Sympatico group. We had a mixup and were put in a small room at first but they quicky straightened it out. (Our booking was via TripAdvisor, paid 6 months in advance.) During meals they are attentive, too.

Not so good: their restaurant prices are rediculous ($25/entree). Only options are 5 min ride to Playa Hermosa for 5 restaurants ( nothing quick), or 20 min to Playa del Coco for 50 choices including quick burgers/pizza. If you have a car, this is no problem...we drove around every day and loved it as we also visited beaches and waterfalls.

Now, the issue: we stayed 5 days and then upon arrival home, we noticed bites on legs and back, which another reviewer mentioned as bedbugs. Would such bits take 5 days to surface? I don't think so...but if you go there, check the sheets. Maybe we got bitten by fleas on the plane??? Weird. I would go again to Casa Conde in a heartbeat....and rent a car again too.

I do recommend this place...just be aware. BTW we used "U-save" rental agency and they were fine. Had the Suzuki Jimmy little 2-door tin can. Roads near beaches are good and no 4WD is needed...but if you plan to searching for waterfalls or drive yourself to activities or Monteverde, get the 4WD.

Room Tip: They have 6 buildings with 4 rooms each. Two of the buildings are off the parking lot rather than f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel! My husband and I have traveled to Costa Rica many times over the last five years and loved every minute of it. Unfortunately, it was not a good experience at Casa Conde del Mar. We booked a Junior Suite with Jacuzzi for a fairly high rate during the peak season and prepaid the cost in full prior to our arrival. When we arrived, we were given a simple, standard room. I showed them my itinerary and the front desk said they would try to find a junior suite for us, if we could wait for an hour...a few hours later we were told that they didn't have any junior suites available, so we had to keep the standard room. Of course, when I checked out I asked to be refunded the difference between what I paid for and what I actually received. The front desk clerk told me I had to call their corporate offices and work it out with them because they couldn't issue refunds at the property. Yikes - so much for personal Costa Rican service! I'm on the phone with our travel agent as I type this review, being given the run around by the hotel again (no manager on site to discuss the issue).

Booking issues aside - this is a perfectly standard resort hotel that caters to families with children, much like you'll find all over Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Definitely not luxurious or quiet or suitable for couples, but otherwise okay. Perhaps the Junior Suites with jacuzzis are really lovely - but I'll never find out :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort

Address: Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Del Mar Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.