We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This resort was clean and the staff friendly. It's a beautiful property that is right on the beach, which was very clean. Our room was big, with cable TV and an ac/heater.

Our only disappointment was with the restaurant, which could have been a little better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    78
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
63
88
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and two 8 yr olds just left 5 days at Casa Conde. Loved it.

The best: their pools area is large and shallow enough(actually there are tow adjoining pools...one is 2 ft deep and the other goes from 3 ft to about 5 feet...and they are both very good size!), plus there's a waterfall they can jump from! You don't feel cramp or crowded b/c there are only 25 rooms so not many people.

The grounds are lovely and all buildings just 1 story makes you feel in nature.
Small fitness area with just one universal weight set will not satisfy an athlete.

Also good: the beach is beautiful and no waves...and a few steps away past a row of trees that give shade. Local vendors offer ice cream & jetskis but not pushy at all.

Also good: the staff. Sympatico group. We had a mixup and were put in a small room at first but they quicky straightened it out. (Our booking was via TripAdvisor, paid 6 months in advance.) During meals they are attentive, too.

Not so good: their restaurant prices are rediculous ($25/entree). Only options are 5 min ride to Playa Hermosa for 5 restaurants ( nothing quick), or 20 min to Playa del Coco for 50 choices including quick burgers/pizza. If you have a car, this is no problem...we drove around every day and loved it as we also visited beaches and waterfalls.

Now, the issue: we stayed 5 days and then upon arrival home, we noticed bites on legs and back, which another reviewer mentioned as bedbugs. Would such bits take 5 days to surface? I don't think so...but if you go there, check the sheets. Maybe we got bitten by fleas on the plane??? Weird. I would go again to Casa Conde in a heartbeat....and rent a car again too.

I do recommend this place...just be aware. BTW we used "U-save" rental agency and they were fine. Had the Suzuki Jimmy little 2-door tin can. Roads near beaches are good and no 4WD is needed...but if you plan to searching for waterfalls or drive yourself to activities or Monteverde, get the 4WD.

Room Tip: They have 6 buildings with 4 rooms each. Two of the buildings are off the parking lot rather than f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel! My husband and I have traveled to Costa Rica many times over the last five years and loved every minute of it. Unfortunately, it was not a good experience at Casa Conde del Mar. We booked a Junior Suite with Jacuzzi for a fairly high rate during the peak season and prepaid the cost in full prior to our arrival. When we arrived, we were given a simple, standard room. I showed them my itinerary and the front desk said they would try to find a junior suite for us, if we could wait for an hour...a few hours later we were told that they didn't have any junior suites available, so we had to keep the standard room. Of course, when I checked out I asked to be refunded the difference between what I paid for and what I actually received. The front desk clerk told me I had to call their corporate offices and work it out with them because they couldn't issue refunds at the property. Yikes - so much for personal Costa Rican service! I'm on the phone with our travel agent as I type this review, being given the run around by the hotel again (no manager on site to discuss the issue).

Booking issues aside - this is a perfectly standard resort hotel that caters to families with children, much like you'll find all over Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Definitely not luxurious or quiet or suitable for couples, but otherwise okay. Perhaps the Junior Suites with jacuzzis are really lovely - but I'll never find out :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed just one night before our resort could take us. It was one of the most pleasant experiences we had in our 12 days in Costa Rica. We were treated like queens, and we had the place virtually to ourselves. The most incredible meal of fresh red snapper specially prepared by the chef, and hours of relaxing by the large and very clean pool were highlights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a small group trip to Costa Rica -- one location of several. This hotel was fine for our purposes but less luxurious than others we stayed at. The things to do on site are the pool facility (nice pool) and the beach. It is a beautiful beach, but watch out for sand flees and mosquitoes. There are no restaurants or town to walk to. Cabs to neighboring areas are pricey -- we went to Playa del Coco (we had transportation) but another hotel guest told us the cab fare was $40 each way. The air conditioning in the rooms was very effective (it was very hot here) and the beds and bathrooms were fine. Food was average for Costa Rica -- not the highlight (other than the fruit and fruit drinks.) You can get to Palo Verde Nat'l Park from here which we did and had an interesting trip on the river. Wildlife viewing in the immediate area includes birds, monkeys, and skunks. Snorkeling in the area was not worth it including a group that went for a boat trip to a snorkeling area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the pool than others. Things were very quiet when we were there but they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The pool is beautiful, the rooms immaculate. Eddier and Kimberly mix fantastic cocktails with the freshest ingredients at the bar. Wilber and Hugo produce wonderful meals with fresh local ingredients. Wonderful place to getaway from it all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights there and it was just amazing. The pool area was clean, beautiful including a pool bar. The rooms were well equiped and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful in every situation. A highlight was definitly the massage beside the pool (ask at the reception). The dinner was just amazing. Since there weren't a lot of other guests the cook even surprised us with a 3 course menu which was not on the menu card. Compared to other restaurant it was quite expensive though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort

Address: Panama Beach | Pacific North Coast, 68240, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Del Mar Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde del Mar Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.