We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort to your Saves list
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Peninsula Papagayo | Final de la Ruta 253, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Uniquely Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Spent a few nights as a family of 4 at this wonderful property. It is new and luxurious but more importantly, remains intimate. They did an exceptional job of maintaining the integrity of the natural landscape. Everything felt seamless; lots of wood, bamboo, flora and fauna. Everything is open and airy. They made way for the hotel without disturbing the unique enviornment. So lovely. Cheers to the architect. We saw lots of monkeys but naturally, not b/c they hung fruit from trees as in other hotels. The rooms are terrific. Big, modern, sleek and warm. My favorite aspect; the shower that can be indoor/outdoor. The food is good, not wonderful but wisely kids often eat free if the adult buys a meal. Instead of getting gauged by the food ala Four Seasons, the meals felt reasonably priced as did the drinks. Spa rooms were unbelievable. The nicest I've ever been. Full glass wall where I watched the monkeys while getting a pedicure. One caveat is there is a lot of walking at this property. I liked that but some may not and it is veritical to boot. Lastly, the staff is wonderful. Not totally polished yet but friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Look at a map of the grounds and get an good understanding of where you want to be as there is walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your feedback on your stay.

We are thrilled there are so many things you enjoyed around the resort. The Spa rooms are indeed very unique and offer great relaxation, not to forget those in-/outdoor showers... We promise to keep polishing our service and look forward having you back with us.

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    52
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
104
165
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Andaz hotel offers not only an excellent room to rest. Its restaurants are the best in the area. (I vacation in peninsula papagayo every year and this year I eat the best) Loved the food.(Fresh and high quality), Service was second to none. My friends an I had a vacation to remember. What else can you ask for? Beautiful Beaches, amazing room, breathtaking views, delicious food and best of all: THE BEST SERVICE EVER!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Monica,

greetings from Andaz and Costa Rica!

So glad you had such a great vacation and found our service to be the best ever, with great food and excellent rooms. As a frequent guest on the Peninsula this even makes us more proud.

We hope to be able to welcome you again shortly.

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed four nights at Andaz and had a perfect time. The service, as mentioned on many other reviews, was absolutely fantastic. Special mention goes to Caesar, Xira, Mariano, Kevin and Keylin. The hotel is very new and clean with a modern yet comfortable feel. The rooms are well designed and are very functional. We stayed in Building #3 and had an ocean view, shower that opened up to the balcony outside, comfortable bed, small mini bar and a really cool beach bag. The architecture is perfect and blends in nicely with the topography and the surrounding vegetation.
The food was very expensive for the quality. Not that the food was bad by any means, but it was expensive. On top of that, all food and beverage have taxes and service charges that amount to 23%. By the time we had lunch, drink or two at the pool, dinner and a drink, we were consistently on or over $200 per day in food and beverage. The location is a little isolated. That has it's pros and cons, but that is part of the reason we picked Costa Rica.

Many reviewers will, due to proximity, look at both this hotel and the Four Seasons. If you are looking for a calm get away at a nice new hotel with incredibly friendly staff, then I'd choose Andaz. If you are looking for amenities galore, huge beach and don't mind kids running around, then maybe the Four Seasons would be better. Food and beverage prices are similar and the quality of the food is about the same.

Overall, we would happily stay at Andaz again. In fact, we look forward to our next visit. If you choose Andaz, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Building three has nice views, located close to breakfast and close to main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

greetings for the Andaz Peninsula Papagayo! Thank you so much for your review on your stay.

I am thrilled you had 'a perfect time' and found our service to be fantastic. I will make sure to pass your compliments to our team for making your stay extra special. I'm glad you enjoyed the different local touches in the rooms as well as the designs and the views from your room.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back and we will aspire to make your next visit a 5 experience!

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid


Please allow us to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Well designed ,beautiful modern hotel ,very exclusive,great rooms,swimming pools etc, so it is great for an all inclusive luxury holiday.But beware that there is NO BEACH to speak of except a tiny strip fronting the ocean. So don't get conned by all the photographs showing you the blue ocean. Food could be better too . Not worth staying 3 days as there are no activities and nothing close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sanjiv,

thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay with us at the Andaz.

It was great to read you enjoyed some aspects of our property such as the design, the rooms and the swimming pool. I was sorry to read you did not enjoy the 2 beaches directly accessible from the resort. The Peninsula Papagayo counts with 17 beaches. Some of them, mainly in the northern part, are only accessible by boat, but our internal transport can bring you to the Prieta Beach Club as well as Playa Nacascolo, that indifferent from the tides, offer spectacular recreation and views.

I hope we get the chance to have you back.

With kind regards,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for four days with friends, all aspects where perfect, room, service, restaurant and kindness of the staff.
Everything was done to accommodate us and to have a enjoyable stay. I recommend it. Will come back with the familly sooner than later!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Franck,

your next visit can't come soon enough!

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are planning to bring your family to the Andaz. We are looking to forward to welcome all of them at the resort.

With best regards,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed two nights here at the Andaz and loved the visit. From the minute we arrived to the time we left, the service was exceptional. We kayaked, did yoga, stand up paddle boarding, steam room, etc. The food was good but, I think that more variety would serve this resort well. Did I mention that the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Still dream about it.

Room Tip: People that stayed in the rooms that start with 5 or 6 reported hearing howler monkeys at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review.

I'm impressed how many activities you were able to pack into just 2 nights. I'm very glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to be able to welcome you again. I'm sure we'll find a couple of things more to explore!

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a difficult review to write as there are many good things about this hotel. It has a very good location and is built sympathetically onto the hillside overlooking a beautiful bay. The staff were generally very friendly, but we had a number of issues, which I really don't want to go into in depth here, but which I feel a service focused hotel would have addressed and which the Andaz Papagayo Resort didn't. Examples were getting an unwanted wake up call at 3.05am, having to make multiple calls to get the air-conditioning unit mended, making multiple queries to reception staff, which were never addressed and watching our luggage roll at high speed down one of the hills the hotel is build on, after it was dropped off a hotel golf-cart. While I cannot recommend the hotel, I would highly recommend Rimowa luggage as despite a high speed crash the luggage survived intact. I anticipate better service from a five star hotel and certainly expected more from a Hyatt. The level of customer service we received make this hotel very poor value for money. I have previously stayed in two different Grand Hyatt hotels and had nothing but praise for them, but this experience and the response of Hyatt to complaints about the service I received will make me think very hard before ever using any Hyatt again. We weren't the only guests in the hotel who were having problems and as it stands I would certainly encourage potential guests to think very carefully before staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Mike,

thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We strive to offer exceptional guest experiences, however it is apparent in this case that we fell short. It pains me greatly to see that you did not enjoy your visit and I have reached out to you by personal mail. I'd like the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your visit.

Sincerely,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort

Address: Peninsula Papagayo | Final de la Ruta 253, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo stands quietly among the trees, overlooking the sapphire blue waters of Culebra Bay. With spectacular design, the first Latin American Andaz, was inspired by the organic forms and shapes of the native flora and fauna, using the shapes of cocoons and shells for the hotel's facilities, stimulating the senses of guests in new and refreshing ways. Each of the 153 rooms balance modern design with touches of character that blend into the natural surroundings, with woven textiles, solid woods and carved artifacts highlighting the rich Costa Rican aesthetic. Guestrooms and suites offer a spacious balcony with breathtaking bay and forest views. Four of the 21 suites feature plunge pools, and the Presidential Suite offer a private, full-sized pool. The unique gastronomic experience of the Andaz Peninsula Papagayo s Cuisine features three themed restaurants. Each one tells a story about our culture. Chao Pescao, a casual dining enclave nestled within the lush Guanacaste landscape offering a small plates menu and the mixologists' specialties, is our neighborhood place. Rio Bhongo, the meeting point, a place for everyone, a culinary "paseo"... Just like a farmer's market. Ostra is our signature restaurant, elegant, discreet and romantic, offering all kind of delicacies from the sea, carefully prepared using the most sophisticated culinary techniques. Totally open kitchens allow a distinctive interaction with chefs, making guests feel like if they were visiting family or the home of a friend. Onda Spa is a respite of energy, touch and evolution. Elevated into the trees of Costa Rica's rich tropical forest, guests at Onda set out on a journey to envigorate both body and soul. Blending Papagayo's culture, senses, smells and touches, treatments are individually tailored for each guest, directly addressing specific needs, goals and desires. Andaz Peninsula Papagayo has a free-flowing environment that means no desks, no processes, no formality and thus, no stress. The home-feel experience allows you to enjoy complimentary a health-minded mini bar, complimentary wi-fi through out the resort and a complimentary kids program. Hotels in this collection reflect the unique cultural scene and spirit of the surrounding neighborhood through their Andaz Salon program and are dedicated to creating natural and vibrant living spaces where travellers can indulge in their own personal sense of comfort and style. Andaz meaning personal style in Hindi, is infused with character and weaves itself into the fabric of its locale. Every detail is an opportunity to explore the uniqueness of the destination and every moment is a chance to discover something new. True to the Andaz brand, Andaz Peninsula Papagayo will reflect Costa Rica's Pura Vida philosophy, creating locally-inspired experiences and engaging guests in the local culture in a comfortable, unique atmosphere for which Andaz is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.