We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXELLENT EXCURSION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Papagayo to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Papagayo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
guanacate
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXELLENT EXCURSION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

9people found this review helpful
We loved the resort, but we were there during the end of the off season, and the resort was only 60% booked. We had no problems getting a chair at the pool or booking a dinner reservation; however, if the resort were full, we probably wouldn't have enjoyed it that much--it would have been too crowded. The grounds are very nice, and where else could you go and see monkeys swinging in the trees as you are lying by the pool? The food was good, The drinks at the pool were strong and tasty, especially the Pina Coladas. As far as our excursions went, we had a blast on the Borinquen tour, where you went zip-lining through a beautiful forest; , the horse back ride , mud bath, and the hot spring water was amazing .
to do the tour contac freddy ,info@costaricaprivatetour.net

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    733
    372
    224
    152
See reviews for
267
1,230
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Our room was paid for way in advance and when we arrived they told us they didn't have a reservation for us even though I had confirmation # etc. They said that they were overbooked and we would have to stay at their sister property which was a scorpion infested dump. We spent one night there and got out asap. Staff said they tend to overbook over the holidays and send people to inferior hotel nearby. Food was disgusting. Not as nice as the pictures make it out to be.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I have travelled and stayed at many hotels through out the years. The grand is Ok, but not great. The good: great view, nice large grounds, friendly and helpful staff, quick seating at the buffet, many good tours from the destination, lovely beach.

The bad: old furniture in room and especially the lobby, worn out linens, mini bar not stocked, painful booking system for the al carte restaurants, very average food in buffets, limited change in selection at the buffet, poorly cleaned grounds, only one pool with not enough lounge chairs, blaring music at pool. Very quiet at night. VERY expensive lobby store.

Overall we had a decent stay but the hotel is in its decline and badly needs to be refurbished and modernized. The staff is very good and helpful.

I would rate it as 2-3 star at best.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We went over Xmas and was quite disappointed with the rooms, service & food. First the rooms, we didn't get towels everyday!! They would take your dirty ones that you left on the floor, and would leave you 1 bath towel!! No hand towels or face cloths! No bar soap, kleenex! We would tell the front desk everyday after they had cleaned what we needed and nothing would happen! The towel room was close to my moms room so we just got our own towels!! pft Then the mini bar. They said they would put water in every two days! Well we went 4 days of no water!!! Asked everyday for bottled water and ended up buying a huge bottle in the store for $5 and filling it up by the beach rest!! How rediculous, and we did tell the front desk we were gonna write about this on the internet! Didn't really seem to care much. The bathrooms in the all the rooms we had all had black mold! No hot water in our room for the whole holiday! Good thing we had an ajoining room with our daughter so we used her shower!! Complained but they said they were overbooked so we cudn't be moved! However the staff was nice. David at the beach bar was fabulous! Always remembered what you drank! lol Only prob with drinking on the beach, the bathroom was at the pool bar, which was quite a bit of a walk. The food in the buffet was just ok. They do change up the food everynite, just not a big selection as it is soooo small. You also have to wait to be seated and sometimes thats a good 1/2 hour. The afternoon buffet is the same everyday, and again you have to wait to be seated. Its just not big enough for the amount of ppl that are staying at the hotel. The Italian, and Japanese are excellent tho!
4 out of the 6 ppl that we went with all got sick. Not sure from what. Then the barcelo down the road sent 60 ppl to the hospital for food contamination!
The nite life is not good - very quiet. They have a disco but there was maybe two ppl in there on any given nite! Sometimes they would have a local guy singing till about 10 but that was it.
Just not impressed for a 41/2*! None of us will go back or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

This hotel was AWFUL!!!! We travel quite a bit and this hotel is by far the worse we have ever stayed! Our first room had some type of crabs crawling around on the floor - I spotted three the first day one alive - the other two dead. The water pressure was horrible. There was no phone in our room. After complaining, which the management was not happy about they moved us into slightly better rooms with black mold growing in the bathroom and by the patio door. At least the crabs were gone. When the air conditioner kicks on and off, be prepared to wake up constantly throughout the night. The food was not very good. The staff was courteous. However when you asked for wine, they filled your glass about l/2". I decided I could play this game also and just continue to ask them to fill my glass. At one point I did have to say "are you kidding" believe me the wine was not that expensive that they had to skimp on!!! The beach was not very big and the water was definitely murky. We did have a nice time outside the hotel when we went on our excursions zip lining, atv riding, horseback riding, jet skiing and we went about an hour North to do some surfing. The scenery is very pretty. I would NEVER recommend this hotel - not even to to someone I did not like!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We went for our honeymoon, an while on our honeymoon the septic system overflowed through our shower. Pheses came up through our shower drain. My wife and I couldn't believe something like this would happen at a so-called fantcy resort. I did my research for 4 months deciding where to go for honeymoon. Once we got there everybody only seemed to speak spanish even the staff, and you were treated like a moroon any time you asked for something. We were apart of the luxury group, and trust me the way we were treated wasn't luxury. The food was amazing, and the view was amazing, however you can get both from a lot of other countries and hotels around the world. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst friend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

So glad we did not just take the resort tours as we were fortunate to discover Mardigi Trans Tours, operated by husband and wife Marvin & Digi Dicgiana, off of the resort beach.
How do you put into words the most amazing tour guides we have ever encountered? My husband Bob & I (Judy) have visited a number of countries through cruising and all-inclusives. We travelled to Costa Rica with our good friends Guy and Nancy. All of us were impressed with Marvin and Digi's genuine, caring, knowledgeable service. Marvin & Digi give over 100% when it comes to customer satisfaction. They cared for us like family and put our safety number one as he called the resort early one morning to change our zip line tour because of rain. He wanted us to have the best experience ever. And we did.
Marvin caters to small groups. It was just the four of us plus Marvin & Digi in a new air conditioned van. The tour cost was not much different from the resort, however, the personal attention and the fact that we were not in a bus full of other tourists made the experience shine above the rest. We were able to stop at any given time for beautiful snap shots, shopping in Liberia,and even took us to an ATM. Marvins excellent english when explaining the country, wildlife, bird sightings made for a enjoyable two tours that we took with him.
All in all we would highly recommend MARDIGI TRANS TOURS.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Allegro Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo
#8 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Papagayo

Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the unspoiled northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica(home to wild parrots and endagered sea turtles), striking volcanic cliffs dramatically descend to powdery sand beaches and crystalline coves. Elegant and respectfully situaded within this breathtaking haven in the five-star Occidental Grand papagayo. Reverently aligned with its majestic surroundings, the resort offers a new kind of luxury all inclusive vacation. It is nothing short of extraordinary.Couples, families and friends who visit experience premiun service, discover gourmand dining and select from an impressive gamut of activities and sports. The resor´s natural setting and luxury amenities also make it the ideal locale for an incomparable wedding or honeymoon. In short, the Occidental Grand Papagayo is a perfect vacation spot for anyone and any reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.