We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica is some kind of heaven...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Papagayo to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Papagayo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Costa Rica is some kind of heaven...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm not one for writing reviews...especially long ones...so I will keep this short and sweet. Costa Rica is an absolutely beautiful place....guaranteed to take your breath away. This resort has stunning views and a lot to offer for the price! The staff is extremely friendly, personable and helpful. Shout outs to all the bar/table service and fun club staff...always always so friendly! Marvin who works at the front desk in the evenings is extremely helpful! We stayed in building 4 which had an AMAZING view...took my breath away every single morning!

The food was good (better than the Occidental in Punta Cana). Remember you are staying at an 3-4 star all inclusive...if you want gourmet food...stay at the four seasons haha! The food was prepared well and they definitely offer locally grown veggies/produce (my favorite)!

The only negative thing I will say is: No air-conditioning in the buffet room. Hopefully this will be fixed or changed...

Overall, I definitely recommend this resort. I left with a big giant smile :)!

PS: If you are looking to do any excursions while in CR...HIT UP JD! JD! JD! He is the man and will take very good care of you! You can find him on the beach!

PURA VIDA :)

Room Tip: Building 1 and 2: Near the pool. Very loud. Building 4: AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    613
    316
    206
    139
See reviews for
223
1,005
37
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place is a scam. You book your room and when you arrive they tell you they can't find your reservation. After searching for a while they find your reservation was actually at their sister hotel, the Allegro! Oops!

So you spend a few hours arguing but there's nothing you can really do since you're a tourist trapped in a foreign country.

Very clever of them: overbook the newer hotel, then force a portion of the people to go to an older resort that they would not normally make reservations for.

They might have had the upper hand while I was trapped in Costa Rica with no transportation, but thanks to the internet I have the ability to let prospective customers know what they're getting into.

Don't take my word for it, though! Click the 1-star reviews and scan through them to see the other people who have been taken in by the exact same scam I was. This is a pattern and the more people speak up about the sooner this place will go out of business.

Room Tip: Costa Rica is beautiful, and there are many wonderful places to visit, but don't make this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMedia_Ctor, social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mike G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment, please accept our sincerest apologies, for the inconvenience you encountered and the impression you have about our service. We made our best effort for exceed your expectations from the beginning. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel.

We are concerned about your comments on the front desk services we had addressed this review with the management so, improve actions can be taken.

Once again we appreciate your comments and hope you give us a second chance to earn your trust.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great place to stay. Good food, good location, and good jumping off spot for many of the off-site activities. There is a lot of stairs/steps, so go there knowing this and don't complain after. This is the norm for the region though, from what we could see in our travels, picking up others from other resorts on our tours. The drinks are good -try the golden cream (costa rica version of baileys), and the imperial beer, both only available in Costa Rica.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our room was clean and we had a beautiful view. The service was very basic at best. The grounds were nice, but needed some extra maintenance. The food quality, selection and availability were terrible. The restaurants food was very basic and low quality. If you missed the dinner hour there were no options to get anything unless you purchased something at the gift shop. Costa Rica was a very beautiful place and I think that traveling around and staying at local B &B's would be a travelers better options. We went to the rain forest in Monteverdi and it was absolutely incredible and our guide was amazing. Local food and restaurants were very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Dee72Dee,

Thank you for send us your review. We regret your stay that was below your expectations.
Please know our restaurants and bars use fresh and high-quality products in all meals and beverages. Our executive chef strives to offer a large variety of daily original meals.

Nonetheless, we shared your feedback with the team and we are meeting to discuss ways to enhance our guests’ experience. Regarding the specialty restaurant reservation policy, it ensures that guests can experience half of their dinners at these restaurants. If additional seats become available, we are always happy to accommodate guests for extra dinners.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Despite this experience we hope you give us a second chance to welcome you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really like the hotel itself. The rooms were nice and you get a really nice view from your balcony on the most part. The service was very good and the people were really friendly. One thing that didn't surpass my expectations was the food. Generally speaking, the food in Costa Rica is really good...once you're out of the resort. However, the drinks weren't bad and you get to see a lot of cute animals walk around the resort that are (usually) harmless. The beach was about five minutes walking distance and it was very little but nice.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ok, the hotel itself is nice and has great views. However, the food is the worst I've ever eaten. The buffet is supposedly air conditioned, nope. It's extremely warm which makes anything that supposed to be cold, warm as well. The variety of the buffet is terrible. Not much to choose from. One night a spider had made a web over the potatoe salad, yuck. I have been to many all inclusive resorts and this was a joke to call it a buffet. When trying to make reservations for the restaurants, yeah right. They were always "booked". However, one couple in our group was able to eat at the Oriental restaurant and says it was as bad as the buffet. The snack bar was tolerable. I ate here most of the time I could.
The rooms were nice, however you had to keep the bathroom door closed or it was way too hot in the room and roomservice always turned off the a/c so it was nice and hot when you came back from a day of fun in the hot sun. One day our whole buidlings power went out and it took them several hours to get it back on. They were doing construction on a neighboring building which they were nice enough to start at 0800 in the morning. I'm sorry but I'm on vacation and like to sleep in, umm no.
The beach was nice, although it was full of people trying to sell you trips, trinkets, massages. There was no drink service on the beach. The closet place to even get water was a far walk up a large hill from the beach. The one good thing on the beach we met JD. He was a adventure planning person that took great care of us. The beaches were pretty to look at and they had equipment to use, so that was nice.
I hate to leave such a bad review, I generally don't leave reviews, but I felt the need to let people know. I find food a very important part of an all-inclusive resort. The hotel was nice, just really really bad food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItzeSocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear TaraStratmann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of beaches in Costa Rica. We are always concerned about our guest’s satisfaction; we regret to know that we failed regarding your food and your service expectations.

We are surprised by your comments about your room as we follow strict standards to ensure all guest rooms are in perfect condition before welcoming a guest. Nonetheless, our housekeeping team is now aware of your experience and we assure you that we will look into ways to improve.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not reaching your dinning expectations; we shared your experience with our Food and Beverage Manager, our chef is always making improvements to offer a wide variety food within the Buffet, featuring international cuisine and our a la carte restaurants.

We completely understand your discomfort with our reservation system we will take steps to prevent it from recurring. As for the a la carte restaurants, we guarantee 50% of dinners at the gourmet restaurant and the rest at the international buffet restaurant.

We hope that despite this experience, you present us an opportunity to show you the level of service which we are known.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our stay was very nice,the employees go out of the way to make sure you have a great time!!
The food could have been better in the buffet my favorite was the Chinese. The coffee is Amazing! The night entertainment is not so much....great place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Papagayo

Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the unspoiled northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica(home to wild parrots and endagered sea turtles), striking volcanic cliffs dramatically descend to powdery sand beaches and crystalline coves. Elegant and respectfully situaded within this breathtaking haven in the five-star Occidental Grand papagayo. Reverently aligned with its majestic surroundings, the resort offers a new kind of luxury all inclusive vacation. It is nothing short of extraordinary.Couples, families and friends who visit experience premiun service, discover gourmand dining and select from an impressive gamut of activities and sports. The resor´s natural setting and luxury amenities also make it the ideal locale for an incomparable wedding or honeymoon. In short, the Occidental Grand Papagayo is a perfect vacation spot for anyone and any reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.