We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Papagayo to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Papagayo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plan to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Resort could use a few upgrades but over all a great place to stay. Staff were wonderful, food was very good. The place was clean and I would highly recommend it. Went back to Costa Rica with a different group of people and we stayed at the Hilton and although the staff were nice and the food was good the Occidental was not so stuffy and the natural wildlife there was amazing. Critters roaming around all over. At the Hilton you hardly saw any because the staff were made to shoo them away. We are planning to go back again next February and will most defiantly stay at the Occidental again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    590
    305
    201
    138
See reviews for
220
960
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we arrived we didn't like our room but we were given one that we wanted which had an updated/renovated bathroom and this was important to us as the other bathrooms were old, drab and rather dingy looking. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating and not just during the switch. The food was delicious and the resort was exceptionally clean and comfortable with gorgeous views. There are 75 stairs to walk to get to the main hotel/lobby/eating areas but I enjoyed walking them to burn the calories because of the 3 delicious meals and beverages that I had everyday :) For those of you that don't wish to walk, there is always the shuttle which you can call from your room and it's there within a couple of minutes. Great people, great food, great place, great tours. Costa Rica, muchas gracias for a wonderful holiday :)

Room Tip: Ask for blocks 21 or 22 as they have the upgraded bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I are so happy we chose this resort for our Honeymoon! Everything was perfect: the resort was clean and well-kept, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the food was OUTSTANDING! I never felt as if the staff expected tips, which is very different from other countries I've been to.
The beach was beautiful, but at night it is dimly lit and there are a decent amount of stairs to get there. There are a lot of stairs throughout the whole resort, however there is plenty of transportation if you choose.

If you're looking for a quiet, clean getaway with great food - THIS IS IT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We chose the Occidental Grand Papagayo because very good friends of ours suggested it. We did research other venues, but we liked this one the best. We had never been to Costa Rica. Our friends gave us a caveat that they had not been there in 10 years, still it exceeded our expectations. Harold, the local wedding coordinator was amazing. He was comforting, helpful and stayed on his toes every step of the way. I was stressed about how everything would come together since we were doing a destination wedding. When we got there two days before the wedding Harold met with us and our friend who is a wedding/destination event planner, Omar Hamilton. Our friend helped us coordinate a lot of the long distance details.

Harold was also funny, which helped put us at ease. He speaks fluent English, and some other languages I think. We went in the rainy season and it did not rain at all at our wedding, or our outdoor reception, but there was a backup plan in case it did. The people who worked at the hotel treated us like royalty. And they even encouraged us to practice our broken Spanish. My father is on a walker and they were very helpful to him.

The day of the wedding was beautiful. It was on the beach, and before I (the bride) came down apparently the tide was coming in but it stopped. Talk about a God moment. The lawyer who officiated our wedding was nice and pleasant, and he did his job because we are officially man and wife. Tee-hee. Because we are Christian we had a friend who is a minister say a few words at the beginning, which they allowed. He couldn’t perform the service because it would not have been legal.

The ceremony and ensuing reception were beautiful, and the staff treated us like royalty, and continued to do so during the rest of our honeymoon stay. Oh yes and the food was delicious to me! We opted to have a friend DJ so I can’t speak to the local music. The only thing that was lost in translation was our photographer (a local one through the hotel) didn’t explain his services well. So our expectations were not fully met in that respect, but we managed to come to a compromise. Outside of that it was wonderful, and we definitely plan to return to the Occidental Grand Papagayo.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent, but not all of our guests got the royal treatment like us. If you are going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

when we arrived we didn't like our room and it was promptly changed to exactly what we wanted. The staff were the most courteous and accommodating people we've ever come to meet at a resort. If you don't like stairs, don't go there. We enjoyed the stairs because we ate nd drank and didn't gain a single ounze The food was great lots of selection. Book you a la cartes early as the fill up. and book you excursions through Larry rather than the Swiss travel as you will get a Costa Rican tour rather than a tour company tour. He was wonderful and you can meet up with him on the beach. Don't let someone else tell you they are Larry, he speaks English very well and will give you a real Costa Rican experience ( and you can talk him down). All and all we would recommend this place for it's hospitality, cleanliness and warmth. The wildlife we saw was unparralled to anything we could have asked for

Room Tip: We stayed in 601 and had a beautiful ocean view. 2200 block is nice as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The only unfortunate thing about this hotel is the reception. We had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready and wasnt ready at the time promised to us . Then we were fed some story about being VIP....... only if we spent the first 90 minutes listening to them trying to sell us time shares. When we said no we were clearly no longer VIP and didnt receive a smile from the front staff for the rest of the trip. Actually, they sneered at us whenever they saw us. The staff in the bars, restaurants, housekeeping were wonderful. And hats off to the chefs because the food was fantastic. The drinks were delicious and well made. A personal thankyou to Edwin , Cesar, Victor, great staff members that made our vacation truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food is OK. Some of it is great, some of it is bland. The Italian and Oriental restaurants had great food. Schedule as early in the morning as possible to reserve a seat there. The seats go fast. The alcoholic beverages are supposed to be part of the all inclusive price but they don't put enough alcohol in the drinks. The beer and wine are your best bet.

There is no nightlife other than a few singers. There was a guy there who had a great voice. The pool/dance room was virtually empty. Go on some excursions. That was the best part of the trip. We booked through Swiss for the excursions and were able to get the excursion we wanted for less than we would have with cheapcarribean.com We went hiking, horseback riding, volcano mud bath, natural cold and then hot spring and DELICIOUS lunch all for $127 each! Silvia, our guide was EXCELLENT!!!

Also, don't let whatever travel company you are booking through talk you into spending $90 a person to travel from the airport to the hotel and back. There are plenty of cab services there. We paid half the price each-just know that they may try to talk you into doing a sales presentation the next day for a free ride back and half off of excursions. We didn't do the sales presentation through the company that gave us the cheaper cab deal but after looking at the paper they handed me a few days later I saw that we would have had to put a deposit down on a time share prior to the presentation which, according to the paper you could get back after the presentation. That's not something I would have done but hey, to each their own.

Overall, I had a good time but would find a hotel on Coco Beach if I go back. That area has such a cool vibe and lots of shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Papagayo

Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the unspoiled northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica(home to wild parrots and endagered sea turtles), striking volcanic cliffs dramatically descend to powdery sand beaches and crystalline coves. Elegant and respectfully situaded within this breathtaking haven in the five-star Occidental Grand papagayo. Reverently aligned with its majestic surroundings, the resort offers a new kind of luxury all inclusive vacation. It is nothing short of extraordinary.Couples, families and friends who visit experience premiun service, discover gourmand dining and select from an impressive gamut of activities and sports. The resor´s natural setting and luxury amenities also make it the ideal locale for an incomparable wedding or honeymoon. In short, the Occidental Grand Papagayo is a perfect vacation spot for anyone and any reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.