We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Daughters Destination Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Occidental Grand Papagayo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunnyvale, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Daughters Destination Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

39 of our closet friends and relatives flew to Costa Rica for my daughters wedding. For a year my daughter and her travel agent prepared for this destination wedding. Their contact person was "Harold" at the Occidental Grand Papagayo, we couldn't have been happier. It was beautiful and exactly what she wanted. She was married cliff side at 4:30 just before sunset. BEAUTIFUL!!! After the ceremony our guests were served drinks and appetizers while the photographers continued their work, capturing the bride and grooms special day. We then walked a short distance to the hotels outdoor restaurant where we had a WONDERFUL sit down dinner prepared for us as we talked, laughed and toasted the new couple. They had cleared half the restaurant for dancing and for four hours we danced. I could not believe how smooth and flawless Harold had pulled this off. We were there a week and everyday was full of fun and adventures. The staff always smiling and very helpful with any question. I would come back again and again :) :) :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    523
    270
    190
    129
See reviews for
207
843
26
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a portion of our honeymoon - on our first day I wanted to check out but after a room upgrade I was completely satisfied. The hotel staff was very friendly, the food is to be expected from an all-inclusive... the staff went above expectations though - my husband is allergic to diary and they would prepare him his own meals if the diary-free options on the buffet weren't to his taste. The view is AMAZING. We loved the beach and loved the grounds.

A couple of tips for the area - a taxi is around $60 - to rent a car for the day is $63. Rent the car! Costa Rica isn't hard to get around (as long as you have a map!) and the beaches just south of this resort are not to be missed. Check out Playa Hermosa for a beautiful, quiet beach. Playa del Coca is good for souvenier shopping, but I found the beach to be sketchy (you can't leave your stuff alone while you're in the water). Tamarindo is also a bit far, but WORTH it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you get a room without a view - when we went the hotel was at 25% capacity and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I were back again on Oct. 20th to the 27th. We have been coming here around twice a year for the last five or six years. Every time just keeps getting better. We feel like this is our 2nd home and family. The food and service was great, especially at The Italian (thank you to Enrique, Raul and Josh). The bartenders in both the hotel bar and the Royal Club bar were great and the drinks were fantastic. The pool and beach were so relaxing and the weather was great. Special thanks to Harold and Roberto for going out of your way for us. We really appreciate it. As always, we hope to be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Building 8 is beautiful and has magnificant views. Upgrade to the Royal Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the moment we got to this hotel it was a nightmare. Most of the staff spoke very poor English and were not helpful at all. We were checked in from the rep. from Delta because the person in the Royal Club picked up and left. We paid extra to be in the Royal Club and weren't treated any better/worse than anyone else. We were supposed to have a stocked refrigerator daily but when we got to the room we had 2 beer cans and 2 bottles of water. We went to the front desk to ask for soda and were told to buy it in the gift shop! When we pulled out the list of amenities we were supposed to get (which included soda!) they finally relented and brought us 2 sodas. Our fridge was never filled up again. We didn't receive turndown service at all. The room was dirty and the mirror in the bathroom had mold growing on it. We received one robe instead of two. We had to sit through what was supposed to be a 90 minute presentation which turned into 4 hours to become members of the First Club. What a waste of our time! The hotel itself was literally falling apart and since it was off season you'd think they'd be making repairs to the hotel but the staff was just lazy and took their time to do anything you asked of them. When we complained we were told to come back in 18 months when the hotel would be expanded and improved. Really, what help did that do us NOW during our trip?! The only good part about the hotel was the food. While the selection was small, the food itself was very well made. I personally wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Do not waste your money on this hotel!

Room Tip: Royal club gets you a beautiful ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Donna T
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Please know that your feedback is extremely important to us because it helps us to improve our service.
Your comments about the Delta representative surprised me as they have no knowledge of our hotel check-in procedures and they couldn’t get you an activated key for your room. I will share your comments with our manager and I will contact you directly via TripAdvisor today to further discuss your experience.
I apologize for your experience at the Royal Club, as our goal is for guests to be treated to personalized service with first class accommodations, luxurious facilities and exceptional amenities such as private check-in, private pool, private restaurant, welcome fruit basket, bath robes, turn-down service and more. Please know that the mini bar is refilled every other day but if any of our guests wish to be refilled daily we gladly do it. I assure you that we are taking the necessary actions to prevent this from happening again.
I’m surprised by your experience at reception regarding the beverages. We are an all-inclusive hotel and guests enjoy complimentary beverages from 7 am to 2 am.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again and make you have an unforgettable experience, Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set in a beautiful area. We went in October for the second half of our honeymoon. We stayed in an ocean view room. It had a nice view and howler monkeys were down by the cliff in the trees every day right by our room! (the highlight of my stay here) We did feel a little bummed when we tried to pay to upgrade our room but because we did not want to do the hour long vacation thing the next day at 830 am(on our honeymoon and we only had 2 1/2 days in the area) we couldn't upgrade. Also, there was no guest information in your room. we kind of felt lost as of what to do in the area once we got dropped off at our room. There are alot of steps which didnt bother us but it would stink to get around if you were injured or in a wheelchair or out of shape..we only got to eat at the Italian restaurant one night. We got there at 8:30 AM and got the last reservation for the day. When we got there for dinner half of the restaurant was empty. We couldn't get one for oriental. We ate at the buffet and snack bar the rest because we couldn't get reservations any other night. The food at those were ok. We were satisfied but not raving. Went to get our pool towels and they didn't have any. There was one English lady who worked there at a desk outside of the souvenier store and she was the most helpful of anyone on our trip to the occidental. She told us where to go and what to do and was very genuine. I can't remember her name but she deserves a shout out and a raise because without her, we really wouldn't have been very satisfied with this hotel or known what to do besides hang out on the property.. The girls aurora and Jennifer in the tour office helped us get a sunset cruise as well which was beautiful and we thank them for that. The people were nice and we did enjoy ourselves here. We would return for a quiet relaxing time but seemed really far from a lot to do without renting a car.(which u can do here also). Go to seafood and steak papagayo in coco they will pick u up and take you back for free at the hotel gate as long as u eat dinner with them. You can eat and then walk around playa coco and shop etc. the food was awesome and service awesome and venturing out of the hotel was nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girl was initially disappointed and was asking "where is everyone'? (we had gone during the low season at the end of October), but as each day passed, she was more and more impressed with the beauty of the hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful.
The only drawback is that there are no nearby towns (a complaint from my girl, I liked it!)
By the end of the stay she was very impressed and was wanting to stay longer, but alas, we had no more time.
Suffice to say that we both enjoyed our (too short) stay at the Occidental Grand Papagayo and would recommend it as a place to stay to relax and enjoy a respite from the rat race..
A wonderful place to stay, Occidental Grand Papagayo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I spend a really great 4 days in Costa Rica. We were there 5 days but thanks to the management at the Occidental the fifth day was a complete drag. Too long and boring to get into but I travel about 18 weeks per year all over the world. I have not complained about any property in years. This place is nearly impossible to find, the food is basically garbage and the rooms are average at best.
Don't cheat yourself by staying away from the great towns Costa Rica has to offer. If you want isolation go to Sugar Beach. That is an amazing property (also kind of hard to find but worth it). If yo want fun, go to Tamirindo. Good value all over there!

Room Tip: My tip is to find a room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear dittoeman,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your first days at Occidental Grand Papagayo; however I’m disappointed that we’ve left you with an unsatisfactory experience.
In regards to our dining, we strive to offer a variety of options including: L’ Buffet (which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner) where our guests find a large fruit salad bar, omelet station, carving station, dessert station, and Costa Rica specialties; for lunch we have The Grill (which specializes in light lunch options and snacks; for diner we have two a la carte options: The Italian and D’ Oriental (most popular among our guests). We’re always looking to improve, so I’ve shared your review with our Executive Chef.
I’m surprised to hear your feedback about the location of our hotel, as it is one of the main attractions of our resort. Our property is located in a tropical oasis and surrounded by exotic plants and wild life, which our guests typically enjoy.
Our team usually works very hard to ensure our accommodations are in the best condition so that our guests feel at home. The satisfaction of our guests is always top priority. I’ve discussed your review with our manager, as we’re always looking for ways to enhance the guest experience.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Grand Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Papagayo

Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel
Grand Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Papagayo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the unspoiled northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica(home to wild parrots and endagered sea turtles), striking volcanic cliffs dramatically descend to powdery sand beaches and crystalline coves. Elegant and respectfully situaded within this breathtaking haven in the five-star Occidental Grand papagayo. Reverently aligned with its majestic surroundings, the resort offers a new kind of luxury all inclusive vacation. It is nothing short of extraordinary.Couples, families and friends who visit experience premiun service, discover gourmand dining and select from an impressive gamut of activities and sports. The resor´s natural setting and luxury amenities also make it the ideal locale for an incomparable wedding or honeymoon. In short, the Occidental Grand Papagayo is a perfect vacation spot for anyone and any reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Occidental Grand Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.