We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly an indulgence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clearly an indulgence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

We stayed at the Four Seasons for two nights as part of a two week honeymoon to Costa Rica. Without question the property is gorgeous and the service was impeccable. So, what's the problem?

In short, staying at the Four Seasons Costa Rica feels like a sanitized version of the real Costa Rica. The balconies have screens on them and you are truly trapped in the middle of nowhere at the resort. If you came to Costa Rica to experience "nature" the Four Seasons is not for you. If you want a great room and to hang around "gringos" then the Four Seasons is perfect.

The food was excellent but very expensive. A basic breakfast for one (2 eggs, bacon, toast, & coffee) was $ 36 once you added taxes, tip, etc. I paid $ 38 for two glasses of the "house" white wine. I don't mind indulging, but at the Four Seasons you are forced to pay because there are no other restaurants or anything nearby.

The property itself is enormous, it literally is a fifteen minute drive from the front gate of the property to the lobby.

Bottomline, the Four Seasons Costa Rica is an indulgence, but it is no different from any other Four Seasons I've ever been to. If you travelled all the way to Costa Rica I'd recommend finding a less sanitized version.

  • Liked — The room/bed and bathroom were great
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    154
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
346
456
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

My wife and our two daughters spent a week at this superb property. We have stayed at other nice resorts but this one is really special. Perhaps it is the ability to watch monkeys outside of your room or to swim next to manta rays. It is unique in so many ways, but retains all of the amenities that you would expect from a Four Seasons resort. The physical structure is beautiful and everything is well integrated into the landscape.

The staff is wonderful and the service is excellent. We had no complaints about the food, with the prices less expensive than similar resorts in Hawaii. It is not inexpensive, but that should not come as a surprise.

Overall, it is a superb resort and rivals the best of any of Four Seasons' properties.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

Costa Rica proved to be a perfect tropical destination. Whether you want to relax by the beach or hike through the rainforest, there is something here for every nature lover. The country has wisely pursued the conservation of its many natural resources. And the Four Seasons has taken advantage of every beauty this country has to offer and combined it with a resort that is so integrated into the environment that it seems to have been there forever. The architecture and decor could not be more beautiful and appropriate for the surroundings. Our room and generous balcony gave the feeling we were in a beautiful treehouse and we were able to view many birds, butterflies and even monkeys from the balcony. The balcony even had an electric screen. And as with every Four Seasons, the service was unsurpassed. The concierge was able to arrange whatever kind of activity you desire, from fishing, sailing, zip-lining, hiking, etc. The resort also offers many on-site activites, from nature hikes to kayaking. Add to this that this Four Seasons has fabulous food and drinks. I would rate this Four Seasons as the best of all the resorts we have visited.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

My partner and I had a spectacular stay for a week in June 2006. We had a terrible plane trip from New York and called the resort during a seven-hour layover to let them know we would be arriving at night rather than at lunchtime. When we arrived, we were met at the door by a manager, who said that they had our suite ready - we had booked a regular room but had been upgraded to a large suite including a treehouse with views of the bay. We were brought towels and a cocktail while the bellhop loaded a golf cart with our bags, and then were driven through the gardens up the (very steep) hill to our room. The service continued like that through the trip.

The resort is very isolated, but we went on the riding excursion and went scuba diving twice. One day, we were the only divers and thus had a private dive trip. Don't miss the nature walk on site - we saw dozens of monkeys. Don't bother with the trail on the bay side (there's lots of construction) - stay on the ocean side. Many guests seemed not to take advantage of the excursions, or had the idea that they should be "adventurous" by not scheduling things through the concierge - this is not the place to come if you want a do-it-yourself adventure trip.

We did not consider food to be as expensive as some reviewers did - no more so than average New York restaurants. The Brazilian buffet was disappointing but the rest was fine, if not memorable. The food is not the reason to go.

There are lots of children, but they tend to stay at the large pool. There is also a quiet pool near the ocean beach that is almost always quiet. Very few children at the beaches.

We seemed to be the only gay couple, but we were entirely comfortable and welcome. We absolutely did not want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Our family stayed at this resort for a week in June. I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience. The staff was amazing. The accomodations were wonderful. The hotel ammenities were top-notch. We have stayed at several Four Seasons Resorts including Maui and Nevis, and we thought that the Costa Rica property was by far the best.
We do not usually like to go back to the same place twice, but we would absolutely go to this resort again.

This Four Seasons also does a great job catering to kids. Our 5 year old had the time of her life exploring the property...searching for howler monkeys, dirt crabs and colorful birds. There are also a ton of scheduled activities throughout the day...for both kids and adults. The staff throughout the resort went out of their way to speak to her each day and were always coming up with great ideas for new things to do.

We had many good meals. A couple were in the high-average range...but the majority were outstanding. Especially local dishes and fresh fish/seafood.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

The Four Seasons is a beautiful hotel. It occupies an entire peninsula and is almost a small city unto itself.

The service was truly fantastic. The staff was universally friendly and helpful. It probably is not the place to start your trip to Costa Rica. Because it is so isolated, and all-inclusive, it is difficult to use as a base to explore the country. It is better as a destination where you plan to stay and enjoy the amenities of the hotel. The golf course is gorgeous. The beaches are nice (but beware of jelly fish). The watersports are mostly included in the price. We had a nice sea kayak down the peninsula to one of the resort's other beaches. It was a great little excursion, but is not accurately described as an "Adventure Kayak."

The spa is excellent. It has the coldest plunge pool this side of Siberia. Good cardio machines. Good services. They are a little short on weight machines due to lack of space.

The food was generallly disappointing. The best food was at Caracol. Great steaks. Great presentation. Interesting menu choices. The food at Di Mare was disappointing, It looked beautiful, but had no taste. The salads and tomatoes were especially mediocre. They tasted as though they had been shipped in from the States in non-refrigerated cars. The breakfast buffet deserves particular opprobrium. The coffee was bitter, the orange juice was marginal, the other breakfast choices were bland. The real problem is that when you stay at the Four Seasons you expect that the meals will be better than those found elsewhere in Costa Rica. They aren't. With the exception of Caracol, the food does not live up to the standards that the Four Seasons has set for itself.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there are a lot of kids. But generally, they were very well behaved and not a problem. It's not an adults-only resort, and you should not expect it to be.

As with any Four Seasons, it is quite pricey. Great for a few days, but you probably want to visit the rest of the country before ending your trip here.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

I had booked the Four Seasons almost 10 months ago for my honeymoon. We had read tons of good reviews and also a few bad ones so I felt like my expectations were fairly reasonable. First things first...you should see the entrance to this place. It takes a good 15 minutes after entering the property to get to the resort. It is very remote and you absolutely need a car to get anywhere, especially if you want to get into town. The property is beautiful, unbelievable actually. Like a few other reviewers, we also booked a deluxe room and got upgraded to an executive suite. This room was phenomenal and was certainly appreciated. If you are far enough up the hill, you do need to get transportation down to the main resort. This could be annoying for very active families who need to go back and forth to their room a lot. We loved it. The maid service was so above and beyond. We actually got back to our room on the first night and all of our clothes were folded. The staff was always smiling and helpful. They really do pamper you. Various reviewers have mentioned children. Yes, there were children there but that is to be expected. This is not an adults only resort. I found the kids to be regular kids having fun in the pool...not at all disturbing or annoying. We ate at Di Mare, Congos, and Papagayo. If we have one complaint about the Four Seasons (and we know we were prepared) it was the prices of everything. If you want to save, try spliting some meals. The portions are pretty big. A poolside hamburger is $15. A nice meal for 2 people at Di Mare with wine was $200. Be prepared to spend some money on food and drinks. I also partook in the spa. I recommend going to the spa early to take advantage of the free services they have available, i.e. the steam room, hot/cold plunge pools, otherwise, your $135 massage doesn't get you very far. Overall, the best thing about this place was the service. They wait on you hand and foot and make you feel like a celebrity. We will be back...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.