We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Pampering on Papagayo Peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th and 7th Nights Free
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure Pampering on Papagayo Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This magnificent property was a treat from check-in to check-out. Staff is courteous and pleasant. Rooms are comfortable and plush. We had a large screen porch overlooking the trees and the beach. Wildlife entertains you while you relax on the porch. The sound of the pounding surf and the cries of monkeys, birds and all kinds of creatures lull you to sleep. The spa was lovely and the golf course was magical. The resort is about to undergo a renovation. We had a spectacular stay and hope to go there again.

Room Tip: Second floor and up in building 2 which is near pools and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear leos_10, thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor. Great to know you would pick us again for your next stay and that is what we strive to achieve, for each and every guest. The monkeys, sunsets and great restaurants are awaiting you. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    196
    66
    23
    10
See reviews for
446
576
13
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Three generations, nine people ranging in age from 7 to 70 celebrating a beloved grandmother's milestone- that was our group. Some of us love animals; others love sports; still others love to relax by the pool. All nine of us had of the best trips of our lives at this resort. (And we are a group who has been all over Europe, to Hawaii multiple times and even Bali.) We stayed in villas which was ideal because we could order groceries ahead of time and have breakfasts and snacks in our villa plus do laundry and just relax on the screened in porch. We alternated days at the resort relaxing by the pool or doing water sports and excursions, including zip lining, a catamaran tour and a hike in the rainforest. A perfect mix of relaxation and seeing some of the area. Although August is the rainy season, we had great weather with only short, sporadic showers and loved that the resort was not crowded at all - no trouble getting prime chaises or dinner reservations. We saw wildlife right on the property which the kids lived. The rooms and public areas were lovely but are about to be renovated. What really made this trip so remarkable was the genuine warmth, humor and graciousness of the staff and indeed all the Costa Rican people we met, such as our tour guides for our excursions and our drivers. Their kindness towards our children was especially lovely. I want to return to Costa Rica, Papagayo and the Four Seasons again and again,

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Mom_to_Zoe, Wonderful to read your review and we are so happy that everybody enjoyed their stay with us. Those villas in the hill side are perfect for multi-generational family stays and with a full kitchen, a home away from home. I love how you are describing the resort so well, there is indeed so much (or little) to do while on the Peninsula and you are always surrounded by nature and wildlife. We are looking forward to seeing you back soon and enjoy the genuine warmth, humor and graciousness of our staff again – thank you for pointing out how our teams made your stay perfect! Until next time – Pura Vida. Pascal Forotti General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This review is based more for families with babies and toddlers. I have stayed at the resort 5 times for work and personal travel and love the location and resort. My only major criticism is that the Kids for all Seasons Pool is not really designed for parents who want to hang out with their small children and enjoy the sun. The location is less than desirable for families wanting to take in the Four Seasons feel of a pool vacation. As a parent with a baby or toddler, you sort of feel like you are being shoved in a corner. I will admit that if your children are 4 and over they will love the Kids for All Seasons room and the staff. I wouldn't suggest this location if you child is just starting to walk and isn't quit ready for a normal pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear SF_Traveler435, thank you for your review and so glad to know that your last five stays were great. I am sorry that you feel the private pool for our kids is not at a preferred location and that you feel "shoved in a corner". Rest assured that this is not at all how we see our families with babies and toddlers and our pool and beach teams are ready to set up those "pack-and-plays" wherever our guests would like them. We really try hard to be a resort that caters to all of our guests ... and tries hard to spol Looking forward to your sixth time on the Peninsula and this time we will be greeting you with a brand new resort, re-branded restaurants, updated and colorful rooms and suites. A new place to discover! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just returned from my fourth trip to Costa Rica, my first at the Four Seasons. It was by far the most enjoyable Costa Rican trip yet. The resort's premises and staff are unparalleled both in Costa Rica and amongst other luxury resorts. The property's two beaches are gorgeous - perfect relaxation on one, including secluded, calm sunset swimming; fun-filled activities on the other - free stand up paddle boards, kayaks etc. The resort blends tastefully into the peninsula's natural surroundings and all opportunities to enjoy the wild and beautiful views are maximized. All staff members we encountered went out of their way to anticipate our needs in a friendly and non-intrusive manner - my husband and I went out for a hike on the property (be sure to check out the stairs around the peninsula) and staff noticed us, panting, from far away and proffered cold water on a platter mid-hike. Our villa was beautifully appointed and was so nice that we opted to stay in for an evening and enjoy the breeze on our screened in porch, complete with everything necessary for a BBQ. We will remember this trip for a long time for the thoughtful service, relaxation, fun activities and overall unbeatable scenery.

Room Tip: Villas are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear atener 10, thank you for your review. I am very happy to read your review and glad that this Costa Rica trip, your fourth and first with us was a big success. We love to read comments like yours and as General Manager, my staff makes me proud when I see the attention they give our guests, such as the water offered mid-hike! We will be very happy to welcome you back on a second stay and share more of the Pura Vida with you. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

August 16, 2014:
We just got back yesterday from our 5 night family vacation in Guanacaste, Costa Rica! We stayed at The Four Season Resort on The Peninsula Papagayo and it was the absolute BEST beach vacation we have ever had! The service was truly amazing. We stayed in a Canopy Suite which, I cannot recommend strongly enough. The pictures don't even come close to capturing the beauty of the suite & it's location! They have 2 beaches to choose from; one being on the Bay side and the other on the Pacific Ocean, both which are seconds from the main lobby & pool. We did not spend anytime at the pools but as far as the beaches, they were both absolutely perfect! We felt as if we were on our very own private island. The hotel was solidly booked but there were usually only 4-5 other people, on the beach with us. We never had to run out at 6 am to claim lounge chairs or any of that nonsense. There also was never a time that we couldn't find 4 or more chairs with both sun & shade. The only time it would get a little "crowded", (meaning 10-15 people on the same beach), was in the eve. when people would gather on the Pacific side to take sunset family photos. Most mornings, we had the beach all to ourselves. The beautiful clear blue water temperature was perfect. The snorkeling and water activities were excellent. On our last day we even were able to see a family of whales off in the distance!! The only surprise we experienced was the cost of the food. The first morning our breakfast bill was over $120.00 and this was just for 4 people-3 adult buffet's & 1 child priced buffet, with coffee & juice. **Note: They charge the adult price for kids 13 and over for the buffet and they have your families age info. from your booking info. My boys are 14 & my youngest had just turned 13 so after discussing this with the staff, they only charged him the child's price. We quickly made changes and paid very close attention to our meal planning from then on. I recommend packing a lot of food : protein bars/ snacks etc. if you're able too. Paying the extra baggage fee will definitely be worth it and could save you hundreds of dollars. This hotel is in a very remote location, which is why we loved it so much, but be aware that there aren't any convenience or grocery stores around. We drank the local water which tasted great and is purified, so there's no reason to pay for water. Your suite is cleaned 2x a day and you receive a complimentary bottle of water each day, which I would then refill and chill in the mini bar fridge ( which as expected, is packed full of goodies & very expensive). In the mornings the Howler monkeys and white faced monkeys would be in the trees right outside of our door! We even had a Coati come visit our terrace while we were drinking our morning coffee. He just walked up calmly climbed on the table & took our container of sugar packets. We also had a huge Iguana laying on a tree branch that was right outside of our master bedroom window. He would move around a bit but was there for our entire stay! The birds & butterflies are also beautiful & plentiful!! I could go on & on . As far as time to get there, it's a 4 hour direct flight from Dallas & then about 20 -30 min. to the hotel. Even if it was a longer flight, I would choose Peninsula Papagayo any day over The Caymans, Hawaii or any other beach destination! It's simply the absolute best get away !
Btw, this is my first review, I just had to spread the word about this beautiful place!
I hope this helps you to decide on your next get away!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear cmblake01, thank you for your kind review about your stay. It is very delightful for the management to learn about our guests' experiences, and knowing that yours was almost perfect, makes us happy. I love the fact that you enjoyed our gorgeous beaches the most. We are so fortunate to have those great beaches just minutes away as you say, and be able to offer our guests many water activities on one side and relaxation on the other. Thank you as well for the feedback about our food prices, we will take your comments into consideration. As you may have heard during your stay, we are going through a renovation of rooms and some of our restaurants, and will be fully refreshed by November. You may want to consider another visit to check it all out! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We took a last minute trip to Costa Rica and turned to the Four Seasons because of their top rated service and also because the resort is much closer to the airport than the resorts located in the rain forest area of the country. This is definitely a plus considering our trip was only for 4 days and we didn't spend much time getting to and from the airport.

We went in March which is the dry season, the brown vegetation isn't the nicest to look at but the scenery and views are still amazing to look at. We stayed in a room up the hill with a private plunge pool, which was great to use to cool down as the heat is intense during dry season. Seeing the unique wildlife just footsteps from your room is amazing. It's not everyday you have monkeys swinging from trees outside your room. We had room service outside on our patio a few times and you'll get a few animal visitors hoping to grab some leftovers, it is startling at first, but they aren't aggressive.

Restaurants are decent, nothing to write home about. Definitely use lots of the hand sanitizer they provide as there was the infamous stomach bug going around, we didn't get it though. The two beaches are nice, but don't expect Caribbean crystal clear water. We didn't use the pools, as we mainly stuck to our own plunge pool to cool off.

There aren't many activities around the resort that are within close driving distance, most of them require several hours on the road. We did do the zip lining that was close by and that was enjoyable.

Despite being a bit overpriced in our opinion, we enjoyed our visit and are looking forward to exploring what the rest of the country has to offer on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear APL4, thank you for your review about your trip in March. Wonderful to know we are still in your mind after so many months. I am glad that you were able to discover and experience part of the wildlife and nature of Costa Rica while on the Peninsula Papagayo - entrance really only being 25 minutes from the airport.
Our two beaches offer plenty of water sport activities and although different than the Caribbean waters, snorkeling around the corals can be lots of fun and give you amazing sights. You will be happy to read that we started the rejuvenation of the resort, with new restaurants and rooms, suites and lobby ... something new to discover starting November! I really hope you have the chance to visit us again in the future. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My family just returned from five nights here and we are certainly relaxed and well exercised! From zip lining to surfing we had fun exploring the area. The on site beach had free snorkels, boogie boards, paddle boards and kayaks - all that we used and had a lot of fun. Our room was wonderful with a large screened lanai. The best beach is Prieta- a free short shuttle ride from FS and has fantastic fun waves to play in that we're small enough for my kids and large enough to catch boogie board waves. Even on site there were monkeys, turtles, and a variety of rays and fish.

Cons: it is really American. Everyone speaks English, the food is all typical American resort food - breakfast buffet for $40 with pancakes, eggs, etc. or ala carte with the same. There was one option that was local food for breakfast- one for lunch at Ticos- the rest were wraps and sandwiches, Cobb salads, etc. Since we are a family that enjoys local experiences this was difficult for us and finally rented a car for the day for $120 and exploring Tamarinado, Playa Negra and some other areas that were about an hour away- so worth it (and go to FTs to eat if you can- yummy local cuisine!).

In short- if you are looking for a secluded beautiful resort that is away from it all that doesn't feel particularly foreign, this is perfect for you. For those looking for authentic Costa Rican experience- I would recommend other places closer to the action - Nayara in Arena, Treehouses in Monteverde, even some boutique hotels in other beach cities that have access to local culture.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on top floor on bay side to see ocean and sunsets from you room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Lovetraveln, thank you for your review, and I am happy to know that you had the chance to experience both, the adventure and the Pura Vida and relax side, while with us in Costa Rica! As you describe them so well, for the activity filled days, we love to offer our many complimentary water sport activities right from our beaches. Having been established on the Peninsula for over ten years now, the nature, fauna and flora around us has matured perfectly well and delights our guests and staff alike. Finally, thank you for your feedback on local cuisine, and the lack of choices. I am sorry that you missed the opportunity to dine at our Garden Table, which is a culinary experience using local meats, fish and herbs grown in our garden and did not discover more of our local foods on the menus and buffets. With our upcoming renovation, we have incorporated even more local flair, in both our restaurants and rooms and we would love for you to come back after November and see if we were able to add more of an authentic feel. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
24.5 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.