We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, The Four Seasons Resort is impeccable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th and 7th Nights Free
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Southlake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look no further, The Four Seasons Resort is impeccable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

August 16, 2014:
We just got back yesterday from our 5 night family vacation in Guanacaste, Costa Rica! We stayed at The Four Season Resort on The Peninsula Papagayo and it was the absolute BEST beach vacation we have ever had! The service was truly amazing. We stayed in a Canopy Suite which, I cannot recommend strongly enough. The pictures don't even come close to capturing the beauty of the suite & it's location! They have 2 beaches to choose from; one being on the Bay side and the other on the Pacific Ocean, both which are seconds from the main lobby & pool. We did not spend anytime at the pools but as far as the beaches, they were both absolutely perfect! We felt as if we were on our very own private island. The hotel was solidly booked but there were usually only 4-5 other people, on the beach with us. We never had to run out at 6 am to claim lounge chairs or any of that nonsense. There also was never a time that we couldn't find 4 or more chairs with both sun & shade. The only time it would get a little "crowded", (meaning 10-15 people on the same beach), was in the eve. when people would gather on the Pacific side to take sunset family photos. Most mornings, we had the beach all to ourselves. The beautiful clear blue water temperature was perfect. The snorkeling and water activities were excellent. On our last day we even were able to see a family of whales off in the distance!! The only surprise we experienced was the cost of the food. The first morning our breakfast bill was over $120.00 and this was just for 4 people-3 adult buffet's & 1 child priced buffet, with coffee & juice. **Note: They charge the adult price for kids 13 and over for the buffet and they have your families age info. from your booking info. My boys are 14 & my youngest had just turned 13 so after discussing this with the staff, they only charged him the child's price. We quickly made changes and paid very close attention to our meal planning from then on. I recommend packing a lot of food : protein bars/ snacks etc. if you're able too. Paying the extra baggage fee will definitely be worth it and could save you hundreds of dollars. This hotel is in a very remote location, which is why we loved it so much, but be aware that there aren't any convenience or grocery stores around. We drank the local water which tasted great and is purified, so there's no reason to pay for water. Your suite is cleaned 2x a day and you receive a complimentary bottle of water each day, which I would then refill and chill in the mini bar fridge ( which as expected, is packed full of goodies & very expensive). In the mornings the Howler monkeys and white faced monkeys would be in the trees right outside of our door! We even had a Coati come visit our terrace while we were drinking our morning coffee. He just walked up calmly climbed on the table & took our container of sugar packets. We also had a huge Iguana laying on a tree branch that was right outside of our master bedroom window. He would move around a bit but was there for our entire stay! The birds & butterflies are also beautiful & plentiful!! I could go on & on . As far as time to get there, it's a 4 hour direct flight from Dallas & then about 20 -30 min. to the hotel. Even if it was a longer flight, I would choose Peninsula Papagayo any day over The Caymans, Hawaii or any other beach destination! It's simply the absolute best get away !
Btw, this is my first review, I just had to spread the word about this beautiful place!
I hope this helps you to decide on your next get away!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear cmblake01, thank you for your kind review about your stay. It is very delightful for the management to learn about our guests' experiences, and knowing that yours was almost perfect, makes us happy. I love the fact that you enjoyed our gorgeous beaches the most. We are so fortunate to have those great beaches just minutes away as you say, and be able to offer our guests many water activities on one side and relaxation on the other. Thank you as well for the feedback about our food prices, we will take your comments into consideration. As you may have heard during your stay, we are going through a renovation of rooms and some of our restaurants, and will be fully refreshed by November. You may want to consider another visit to check it all out! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    191
    64
    23
    10
See reviews for
413
549
12
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We took a last minute trip to Costa Rica and turned to the Four Seasons because of their top rated service and also because the resort is much closer to the airport than the resorts located in the rain forest area of the country. This is definitely a plus considering our trip was only for 4 days and we didn't spend much time getting to and from the airport.

We went in March which is the dry season, the brown vegetation isn't the nicest to look at but the scenery and views are still amazing to look at. We stayed in a room up the hill with a private plunge pool, which was great to use to cool down as the heat is intense during dry season. Seeing the unique wildlife just footsteps from your room is amazing. It's not everyday you have monkeys swinging from trees outside your room. We had room service outside on our patio a few times and you'll get a few animal visitors hoping to grab some leftovers, it is startling at first, but they aren't aggressive.

Restaurants are decent, nothing to write home about. Definitely use lots of the hand sanitizer they provide as there was the infamous stomach bug going around, we didn't get it though. The two beaches are nice, but don't expect Caribbean crystal clear water. We didn't use the pools, as we mainly stuck to our own plunge pool to cool off.

There aren't many activities around the resort that are within close driving distance, most of them require several hours on the road. We did do the zip lining that was close by and that was enjoyable.

Despite being a bit overpriced in our opinion, we enjoyed our visit and are looking forward to exploring what the rest of the country has to offer on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear APL4, thank you for your review about your trip in March. Wonderful to know we are still in your mind after so many months. I am glad that you were able to discover and experience part of the wildlife and nature of Costa Rica while on the Peninsula Papagayo - entrance really only being 25 minutes from the airport.
Our two beaches offer plenty of water sport activities and although different than the Caribbean waters, snorkeling around the corals can be lots of fun and give you amazing sights. You will be happy to read that we started the rejuvenation of the resort, with new restaurants and rooms, suites and lobby ... something new to discover starting November! I really hope you have the chance to visit us again in the future. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My family just returned from five nights here and we are certainly relaxed and well exercised! From zip lining to surfing we had fun exploring the area. The on site beach had free snorkels, boogie boards, paddle boards and kayaks - all that we used and had a lot of fun. Our room was wonderful with a large screened lanai. The best beach is Prieta- a free short shuttle ride from FS and has fantastic fun waves to play in that we're small enough for my kids and large enough to catch boogie board waves. Even on site there were monkeys, turtles, and a variety of rays and fish.

Cons: it is really American. Everyone speaks English, the food is all typical American resort food - breakfast buffet for $40 with pancakes, eggs, etc. or ala carte with the same. There was one option that was local food for breakfast- one for lunch at Ticos- the rest were wraps and sandwiches, Cobb salads, etc. Since we are a family that enjoys local experiences this was difficult for us and finally rented a car for the day for $120 and exploring Tamarinado, Playa Negra and some other areas that were about an hour away- so worth it (and go to FTs to eat if you can- yummy local cuisine!).

In short- if you are looking for a secluded beautiful resort that is away from it all that doesn't feel particularly foreign, this is perfect for you. For those looking for authentic Costa Rican experience- I would recommend other places closer to the action - Nayara in Arena, Treehouses in Monteverde, even some boutique hotels in other beach cities that have access to local culture.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on top floor on bay side to see ocean and sunsets from you room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Lovetraveln, thank you for your review, and I am happy to know that you had the chance to experience both, the adventure and the Pura Vida and relax side, while with us in Costa Rica! As you describe them so well, for the activity filled days, we love to offer our many complimentary water sport activities right from our beaches. Having been established on the Peninsula for over ten years now, the nature, fauna and flora around us has matured perfectly well and delights our guests and staff alike. Finally, thank you for your feedback on local cuisine, and the lack of choices. I am sorry that you missed the opportunity to dine at our Garden Table, which is a culinary experience using local meats, fish and herbs grown in our garden and did not discover more of our local foods on the menus and buffets. With our upcoming renovation, we have incorporated even more local flair, in both our restaurants and rooms and we would love for you to come back after November and see if we were able to add more of an authentic feel. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

First off, I am finally getting around to joining TripAdvisor to post reviews. Longtime lurker and realized that it way past due to pay it forward as I have received such valuable help from past posts.

So first time in Costa Rica but perennial guest of the Four Seasons. My friend and I chose Costa Rica this year for our Annual Girls’ Getaway and it did not disappoint! We choose a late week in July trying to hit that sweet spot of the “the Little summer” and in fact during our 7/24 – 8/3 stay, it only rained heavily once for 90 mins (ironically enough while I was getting a spa service so missed out on it!)
We were in a Cielo room for 6 nights and then splurged to a Canopy Plunge Pool suite for the last 3 nights. Everything was beautiful, serene and catered to our total enjoyment. The car service pickup was quick and efficient, with wifi to let our loved ones know we made it okay heading to the hotel. The drive was 45 minutes but seemed relatively quick and painless. We were greeted with the requisite towel and drinks that are standard to 4S and in addition the General Manager, Pascal greeted us personally! He is such a gracious and personable host and every single time we saw him throughout our stay, he made a point of greeting us and asking about our day. It is services like this and many other touches that makes me a loyal Four Seasons guest.
Okay so the pros:
Free water activities, beach amenities, etc. Seriously there is no need to pack the normal stuff you would need for beach (except your swimsuits!) as the 4S has them all complimentary for you.
The periodic free treats and sunglass cleaning provided at pool and beach areas. All the mini shot slushies were appreciated. At one point, we were even offered cheese raviolis!
The staff are friendly and always accommodating of our requests, even to get rid of a SyFy sized wasp that had made it’s way into our screened in patio!
Buffet Breakfast keep us energized to dinner!
FREE LAUNDRY – washer and dryer on each floor! You all must realize how incredibly nice it is to come home with a suitcase of clean clothes!
If you can afford it, please pay for the Canopy Suites! But beware you may never want to leave it!
Okay so only one minor con:
As we were staying 9 nights we figured instead of planning out our days we would just book with hotel when we felt the mood to explore the country. It would probably cost more but would save us from over thinking our trip and second guessing what days to do what. Well it turns out, since we are so far removed from the main tourist sites like Arenal, Monte Verde, etc. There needs to be a minimum of 4 people for most of the outside of resort activities. Well it turned out quite the challenge to get 2 more people to join us in doing anything! So we ended up only being able to do the quicker zipline at Witches Rock (which was pretty awesome). So maybe it was the time of year we went or maybe everyone books on their own, but if you are intent on seeing anything of Costa Rica other than the resort, book excursions on your own.

Overall, we had a memorable stay and I would definitely come back with hubby and son next time. The care and activities for kids that I saw make me realize this resort could quickly become my son’s favorite as it has mine!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for a Canopy Plunge Pool Suite if you can afford it. We had rm 1411 which was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Dani, it was wonderful to meeting both of you during your stay and we are glad to know that your stay with us enticed you to start writing Trip Advisor reviews. Wonderful to get full marks on your "Annual Girl's Getaway". I am sorry that you were not able to do all of the tours you hoped to do, and that some of the tours did not reach the minimum number of participants - one more reason to return with your family and experience more of the country, and our family friendly resort we are well known for. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a fantastic stay. Such a gorgeous setting and a real sense of service. DiMare's was amazing, the spa was the best... my wife did not want to leave and I did for a moment think she was going to hide on the property and I would be returning alone. Will return for a longer visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear jdJ677, thank you for taking the time and review your most recent stay - being situated on the tip of the Peninsula allows us to have stunning views, two permanent beaches and amazing sunsets - no wonder your wife did not want to leave. Come back soon for a longer trip to Pura Vida country. Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

my family of 7, myself, son and daughter in law and baby, my daughter and son in law and baby, have been here in papagayo for 10 days...it's been a heavenly vacation!!! a much needed break from a busy life....we stayed in the rooms right by the pool...we were on the 4th floor and from the back of the room had a view of the beach from the doorway in front had a view of the pools and another beach....it's a gorgeous property....the rooms are lovely, spacious and very clean. the pools are really nice...there are so many spots to go that you never feel crowded...2 beaches, 3 pools, plus a little kids pool...we went to the kids club and it seems really fun...the restaurants have very good food...there are numerous activities....daily there are classes and different activities to do...we went on the tour at the golf course and saw monkeys, coatis, birds, a lot of wildlife...my son surfed a few days..and loved the surf spots...we took a taxi to tamarindo for the day...we also took a private boat tour one afternoon...we all loved it...we saw the sights, snorkeled, knee boarded and paddle boarded..we all had spa treatments also, which were fantastic!..the staff is so friendly and very helpful...they were so cute with the babies...everyone we talked to was so nice and would do anything for you.....i would definitely come back and would recommend this amazing hotel...

Room Tip: i liked where we were because it was close to the pools and restaurants...very easy to go back and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear jolynm, Great to know the entire family enjoyed Costa Rica and the time with us. Your review is full of great information and explains the resort and the activities and services offered so well, nothing I could add to it – an action packed vacation place. Wonderful to know you are thinking of coming back soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
623 reviews 623 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

You are located between a jungle and a beach, the resort is lush and tropical. The staff is friendly and helpful. You have a pool , spa, bar, restaurants, comfortable room. They ask for your electronics for 24 hrs. They get you involved in recreation without technology. Enjoying a coffee scrub in the resort spa., hikes, looking for howler monkeys, fishing, boating, surfing, looking for blue morphos in the butterfly garden. Then they " Reconnect" you, with your electronics. Cost $$$

Room Tip: Rooms facing beach are quieter, you have monkey sounds coming from the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear 387indy, I am so glad you participated in our “disconnect to reconnect” program and enjoyed it. Many of our guests do and our list of things to do, without your iphone is very extensive, just like the complimentary activities we offer all day long. Come back soon … and stay connected with Pura Vida! Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.