We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Location is amazing. the resort is beautiful it has beautiful beaches, two pools, hiking trails,etc.Hotel is surrounded by luxury filled wilderness .Try to book the villas , they have the best views and amenities.
Staff is outstanding, get ready to be pampered.
Golfers will be surprised to by the spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Albertomiami, it is great to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you felt pampered, that is our main goal. Always recreating our activities, like the Mixology Classes, we want to make sure you always have something to do. Come back soon for more. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    167
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
360
488
11
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons Costa Rica for our honeymoon. We arrived three hours late, and from the moment we were picked up by private transfer (cold towel? water? yes and more!) to the moment we left the same way, we were treated like royalty. Since we arrived around 11pm, the hotel concierge had arranged for us to get a golf cart to drop us directly off at our room without doing any paper work. Oh, with a glass of champagne and fresh juice for each of us, of course. And when we got to our room, they had left a bottle of champagne and a metric ton of rose petals! The impeccable service continued with arranging tours, a wonderful couples massage, and over-the-top dining experiences. We did the Garden Table at Caracol, and though we were rained out, we had our own private area of the restaurant and the chef explained each dish. At the chef's table at Di Mare, a wedding gift we received from some dear friends, we sat IN THE KITCHEN and the chef, Felipe, walked us through everything. We are curious home chefs, and this was a once-in-a-life time tasting menu and experience. There's plenty to do on the property in addition to driving 3.5 hours to the rainforest. In addition to a sunset catamaran, we biked the property (very steep!), which was free and arranged at the golf pro shop. We are not golfers, but we borrowed a golf cart from the pro shop to view the course - absolutely breathtaking sights. We spent plenty of time at the beach and pool, and the amenities there were unlike even the Four Seasons Maui - fresh coconut water (as in, they cut off the top of the coconut and stick a straw in it), sunglass cleaning, and some sort of frozen treat/popsicle each day. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Through Amex Platinum, we were upgraded to a cielo ocean view room. It was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear kknapes, I am so happy that you had such an amazing honeymoon celebration with us. These memories will stay with you forever, so we want to make every day special - and we are ready for your anniversaries, in our renovated resort! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the airport and were picked up and given refreshing water and cold wet towels to cool ourselves off, to the time we were dropped off back at the airport, the service, people, food, activities and cleanliness were impeccable. Always smiling staff, clean modern (but not too modern!) facilities, fantastic choice of food and very delicious. Room was always clean. The resort has it's quiet spots if you want that and activity areas where there's lots to do. Hanging by the pool was nice and relaxing with pool side food and drink service and I loved the complimentary delicious frozen treats that were given out periodically. We took a kayak out and saw a school of dolphin's swim by. Sunsets were always nice. Went to the spa and had one of the best massages I've ever had. I can't say enough good things about this place. I highly recommend staying here. Thank you to all at the Four Seasons Costa Rica for making our trip so nice and memorable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Ara, you are very welcome - we are excited to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are even more excited to share our upcoming changes - new restaurants, new looks and refreshed rooms! Please reach out directly if you are interested in hearing more about it. We are getting ready for the next 10 years. One thing we will not change is our staff - so dedicated and friendly, real Four Seasons Ambassadors. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Words cannot express the kindness, loyalty and friendliness of the staff at this resort. I wish I can thank them all by name. The resort is absolutely beautiful with two beautiful beaches, a couple of pools, great hiking trails, beautiful grounds, stunning birds and friendly wildlife. Watching the monkeys and iguanas while laying on the beach was quite a site. Let's get back to the staff, one day I softly mentioned to a friend that I was disappointed there were no mangoes before I can finish my lunch I had a mango nicely sliced in front of me. Another great experience to talk about, everyday we had fresh coconuts brought right to us at the beach. Then there is the food, every meal was perfect. One night my husband ordered the lamb shank which was the most remarkable lamb dish we have ever ,had. I can go on and on but I will end by saying, this is a great place for family vacations, business meetings, couple time or just a peaceful vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Neela, I recall meeting you pool side and you sharing with me the "mango" experience - our teams still surprise us daily with little attentions like the one described in your review. Come back soon and bring more friends - we are ready to pamper you. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was the most memorable trip and stay. Four Seasons is impeccable. This was a trip to get away last minute. The decor breathtaking, the trip over from airport was one of a kind, saw a family of monkeys on the road. The staff and food awesome. The spa was what a spa should be. Fresh flowers delivered to my room each day. The sound of the waves crashing at night. Words cannot describe my stay. I will be back. Thanks Four Seasons for maintaining quality customer care.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Elisa, thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am happy to know that this last minute decision trip has turned out to be a TOTAL SUCCESS. We will be here for you, 365 days a year for any future last minute plans you will make. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went to FS Costa Rica for 5 days to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and had a great time. We took a one bedroom plunge pool canopy suite which was the biggest hotel room we have every stayed in - 3 sinks - 2 bathrooms - giant closets - and great outdoor deck with the pool.

We read some other Tripadvisor reviews that had said the food was overpriced and not great but we thought the dinners in particular were all great and the prices reasonable for a four-star resort. I had some BBQ Pork Ribs in Pineapple/Mango sauce at Papagayo that were absolutely delicious. We enjoyed all four restaurants on the property. We did have a little less favorable view of the lunch menus as the selections we felt were limited.

We also read about a "traveler's sickness" going around before we arrived but while we did sanitize our hands frequently we saw no indication of other people getting sick and we did not get sick either.

The service was great all around - everyone is very nice and greet you when you walk past. The pools are very refreshing and chairs were always available chairs although some people from a few corp. groups who were hanging out by the pools were annoying - even by the "quiet pool". But that's where our plunge pool suite came in especially handy.

All in all if you are looking for a romantic getaway (or family vacation based on what we saw) I highly recommend Four Seasons Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Eddie, congratulations again on your anniversary - 10 years, just like our resort here in paradise. Wonderful to know you enjoyed our kitchens and activities, going home excited and happy about Costa Rica. With reference to the virus cases mentioned in previous reviews from early May, we have not had any cases in many weeks and still feel sorry for the guests that suffered inconveniences. Now we hope to see you back in a year, for our 11th Anniversary and to show you our brand new resort ... with many updates in our restaurants and refreshed and rejuvenated guest rooms. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I decided very last minute to hop on a plane to Costa Rica for our anniversary. I booked our hotel just 2 days in advance and off we went. I made a note in our reservation that we would be celebrating our anniversary, but didn't make any other mention of it when making dinner or spa reservations. I guess I figured it would go unnoticed, but it certainly did not! When we arrived, we were whisked away to our wonderful room where champagne and strawberries were waiting. We were highly impressed with the service and sincerity of the staff. We enjoyed our time relaxing by the pool, paddle boarding right off the beach at the resort and enjoying the spa. Since our trip was so last minute, we hadn't planned on leaving the property, but we decided we should do something. The concierge helped us plan an afternoon of horseback riding and got it all set up for us very quickly. I think the last minute planning on our part actually highlighted how great the Four Seasons Costa Rica is... we felt like it had been planned for month by the time we arrived because they did such a great job making us feel welcomed and helping with dinner reservations and such. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest, wonderful to know that you both took a chance and booked Costa Rica as a destination last minute and that we made your anniversary trip a success, from beginning to the end. And great to read that you took advantage of all of the activities Costa Rica and our concierge team have to offer. And with reference to the destination, when the new airport in Liberia, just 25 minutes away from the Peninsula opened up two years ago, it attracted many new airlines and there are now so many direct flights all year long - everybody can come and enjoy the Peninsula Papagayo. Come back soon and Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.