We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Four Seasons Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Quite Four Seasons Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Having been to the Four Seasons, Maui, our expectations for Costa Rica quite high. The hotel, however, did not quite live up to them. Nothing horrific but a series of disappointments:

-we arrived around 3:00pm when the room was suppose to be ready, but it took us close to 45 minutes to check in; don't know what they guy was doing but he was staring at the screen forever

-we made reservations for the Beach Club restaurant through the front desk but when we got to the restaurant, they had no record of our reservation and had to negotiate with the hostess to get a decent table

-the hotel is extremely remote, which is nice, but you are a captive to their restaurants. One is a 'churrascaria' (Congos) where the guy comes around and cuts off various meats from a skewer. Great if you want to load up on meat, but not our thing. DiMare is an Italian restaurant with an atypical menu that didn't completely appeal to us. We ended up eating most nights at Ticos, which is the bar but does have good tapas. You can also order from the other restaurant menus, except Congos. Another restaurant, Caracol, was closed two of the nights we were there. In my opinion, these restaurant limitations make a stay more than four nights or so difficult.

-we scheduled the water taxi through the hotel to take us to Coco Beach. There are two beaches at the Four Seasons, one on the Bay and one on the Pacific. Three people told us to wait at the Pacific beach but after 30 minutes and no taxi, found out we were suppose to be at the Bay beach.

-At Maui, everyone seemed to know our name no matter where we went in the hotel. No one knew our name in Costa Rica.

-Given its remoteness, your will drive, or be driven, 1.5 to 2 hours each way to get to the rainforest if you do the Skywalk tour, which I highly recommend. Not an issue with the hotel but something of which to be aware.

Again, nothing terrible. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are nice. Just not quite as "Four Seasons" as we have experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear George Y., I am sorry your stay did not live up to expectations and in particular, that service was not what it should have been. I also regret that you were not able to experience Caracol restaurant while you were at the resort. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your sky walk tour in the rainforest and you are correct that our area of the country is more known for its beaches, water sports and sunsets and dry tropical forest than being located in the middle of the rainforest. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    154
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
346
456
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We came down for a company function and expected it be be the level of Four Season perfection and they didn't disappoint. The resort is expensive but worth it if you want a true Costa Rica remote experience coupled with outstanding service, food, rooms and more. Vinny at the beach was such a great server and became like a friend :-). Lucia directed all of our company functions and some of our personal ones too and I have to say that she is the epitome of first class service with a smile! Wave runners on the open ocean were insane and must be tried! This Four Seasons was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Gary, Thank you for your great comments about our Resort, but especially about our team members Vinny and Lucia. I will make sure to share with them your kind words. We are very proud of our staff and your feedback is very much appreciated. I am so glad you had a wonderful and fun experience with us in paradise and I hope you can return again soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Four Seasons Resort is a truly remarkable family place! We spent 10 days there

during December and we truly enjoyed this beautiful property. If you are looking to

get away from work and relax, Four Seasons is the perfect place! There are thee

pools always cleaned every morning and then during the day. Two beaches, one for

sunrise, the other for sunset, amazing! The restaurants were really good, every meal

we had was very delicious! The excursions planned by the staff of Issys´ tours were

top notch service, zip lining was awesome, Christian was very helpful answering all

my emails! We didn’t take advantage of many of the activities offered, however, we

did play golf and enjoyed a spa treatment. Location, staff and the property was

first class! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed our beaches, pools, culinary offerings, activities, service and of course, the incredible sunsets of costa rica! 2014 is our 10th anniversary and we are unveiling even more wonderful adventures for guests this year. We would be honored to have you back again in paradise. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Four Seasons was great! The property is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous! The staff did everything to make our stay wonderful. The resort is quite a drive from town so if you are looking to leave know that you will have a really long drive. It is close to zip lining and that was a fun excursion. Every day the ice cream wagon comes to the pool! It was awesome! They also have a sunset ceremony on the beach each night that is nice. Lastly, the food is really good, too. Make sure you make a reservation. The steak place at the golf course is awesome and so is the fish place at the beach/pool club and they will drive you to both. Make sure you take advantage of their activities, too. Cooking, walking giants, golf cart tour etc... PS. The spa is AWESOME!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear BoomdaHLT, it is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay with us at Four Seasons Costa Rica. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. In particular, I am happy to hear you enjoyed our ice cream wagon, sunset celebrations and caracol steakhouse as well as our fun activities such as the trail of giants tour. 2014 marks our 10th anniversary and we will be unveiling even more exciting experiences for guests to mark the milestone year. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel specifically to play the golf course which is unique and memorable. But it has several, mainly three pars, which are too hard for an average player and the rest of the holes are actually too easy. So nice location but so-so course. But the highlights of our visit were a fabulous meal (arugula salad and chicken parmesan) at Di Mare restaurant and Steven, one of the concierges, who miraculously retrieved my bathing suit from our previous hotel an hour and a half away. Facility ambiance is only marred by the property location which seems to block sunsets, at during the dry season when most of us come. Otherwise, this is an excellent upscale hotel. Free if grummpy WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear AnnandBob, Thank you for your feedback and for making it a special golf related trip. Sorry to know that you felt some of the course not challenging enough, and other holes tougher. Wonderful to know that our new dishes, like the Chicken Parm were a hit and that at the end, you can rate us - an excellent upscale hotel. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a company trip, and from the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. Our meals were fantastic, our group ate at a different restaurant each night. The first night we had a buffet dinner on the beach.
The pools are wonderful. There is so much to do right on the property, we walked the trails and saw many monkeys and beautiful birds. They were very helpful helping us choose excursions off sight as well. It was a great experience. We hope to return to Costa Rica soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear jwfalk78, We are so glad that you and your group had a memorable stay with us ! Moreover, exciting to know that you had the chance to experience many of the activities that our teams are getting ready for our guests daily. With our tenth anniversary year going strong, follow us closely for many special deals and promotions. We are ready to pamper you again. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I went to this hotel for our honeymoon in early January. We had a truly amazing experience, starting with the bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries in our room! All throughout our stay people were aware that we were in our honeymoon, and treated us incredibly well, treating us to champagne and asking us if we needed anything else (ALL the time). Breakfast was delicious, we tried absolutely everything, it was simply amazing!!
We completely recommend this hotel for any kind of trip: honeymoon, family, couples. The hotel has activities for everybody!
Thank you Four Seasons Papagayo for an unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MBE 14, thank you for your comments and congratulations again! A honeymoon is such a special occasion and important for us - to welcome you back for the upcoming anniversaries. Our teams are ready to pamper you again, they are creating magic moments and memories every single day. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;