We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch resort in the midst of nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
memphis, tn
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Top notch resort in the midst of nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Four Seasons Papagayo is so fabulous that we are already planning our next trip! It was really top notch. It is on a peninsula amidst a jungle. We saw monkeys, iguanas, parrots, etc. everywhere, every day. The staff was wonderful. We sat on the beach and had waiters coming up regularly with cold towels, fresh fruit popsicles, coconut drinks..we jet skied with a pod of sting rays, went bird watching, had a cooking class, got a bamboo massage at the spa, ate divine food. It was heaven. I'm just so impressed by how Costa Rica has preserved its environment and prevented commercialism. It's really a jewel.
Tips: Order the 18th on the green cocktail at the bar for a real treat. It's like a mojito but with basil and cilantro. Get a bamboo massage at the spa. They knead your back with a bamboo stick as though they were kneading dough. Divine. When on the beach, ask for a coconut when you get thirsty. They'll put in a splash of rum if you want :) Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep in. The monkeys and birds can be a little loud.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Popartpooch, Your review sounds like the perfect vacation – and so happy to know you are already planning your next trip. We are ready for you and will tell the monkeys to be less loud! And may I suggest on your next visit you try out our new bikes, the sunset kayak and chocolate making class? Pura Vida and looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    829
    148
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
326
443
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

All I can say is WOW, best Four Seasons I have visited. Great Atmosphere, waking up and seeing Howler Monkeys in the trees beside love bird parrots is a great experience. The team at the Four Seasons is very welcoming and hospitable. No request is too great.

The SPA is definitely a place to relax and decompress. The masseuse was great had a deep tissue massage and it was certainly one of the best.

Will definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Any room has a great view, higher floors allow you to see into the treetops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear RedBird21623, Glad to know all went perfectly well and you enjoyed your stay. Being surrounded by nature, it is always amazing to see the animals close up – and getting pampered at the Spa is a great way to get into Pura Vida mode. Hasta pronto – Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is an amazing property and experience. The setting is magnificent on the Papagayo Peninsula. The abundant wildlife and great seashore are a unique blend. But what makes this a truly special place is the service which is off the charts. Every staff member is polite, friendly and could not be more helpful. We were there for 9 days and are flying back as I write this. I can not say enough nice things about this location. We have traveled all over the world and stayed at many luxury hotels. This one is right at the top. Congrats to them on their 10th anniversary. I am sure they will have many more.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a residence villa. What a view! And very spacious and comfortable. We are spoile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear BHW4Travel, Thank you for your kind words - about the resort, the area in general and our teams. And our 10th Anniversary this week was a success, looking forward to many more – and share them with you. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

In Jan/ Feb. 2013 we stayed with our two little daughters in this majestic place. Since than we have been dreaming of going back and my girls can't stop talking about Costa Rica. Service is beyond amazing, the grounds are just immaculate, the area is stunning and the rooms are clean and nicely done to blend with the whole surrounding of this beautiful secluded part of Papagayo.
I do think that since you are pretty much secluded from the rest of the world , going around and eating beyond 4S property is not that easy. Their high restaurant prices do not really much the quality of food, but everything else makes up for it, so I can overlook that.
My girls loved the kids club and I have to say this is a kids club like no other, kids do not want leave this place, and you do not feel guilty of leaving them there for longer period since they have blast.
We wanted to go back this year again, but their prices skyrocketed and I do not see us going back to 4S this February when we go back to CR again, unfortunately.
I almost do not want share this review and want keep this place just for myself, but this place is magical and anyone who can afford to splurge should experience this oasis.
Pura vida , as they say!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear LuluSevi, Wonderful to read your review and thank you for all of the feedback and sharing your FAVORITE oasis. We are happy to know your two daughters loved our kids club - KFAS and we know how to pamper them, they are after all our future guests. And thank you for your comments about the pricing, we will take your comments into consideration. Finally, we would love to have you back with us – so please contact me directly and I would love to see how we can make that happen. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want the perfect vacation for guests of any age, then this is your place. The management has clearly thought of every amenity and executes them with impeccable service. The Christmas and New Years holidays are filled with special events. From the moment you arrive to a warm welcome and an iced beverage, you know this is one tightly managed Four Seasons. No need to worry about beach/pool chairs, there are many chairs available by one of the two clean beaches any time of day and you'll be set up quickly with towels and a carafe of iced water kept fresh all day. During Festive holiday time, the list of beach/pool complementary services include, fresh cracked open coconut milk cut open by your lounge chair, samples of various frozen fresh fruit pops, smoothies, frozen coffees and skewed appetizers. The list of complementary activities include snorkeling, surfing, art class, dance class, etc. Fairly priced excursions include, rain forest hikes, boat trips, zip line, etc. FOOD: Amazing, original preparations presented in beautifully designed decor, outside screened porches, open verandas to the stars, beach buffet themed parties. Food allergies? No need to worry. We loved the many gluten free menus and greatly appreciated the gluten free dessert menu. In addition, the restaurants offered gluten free main menu options. Great breakfast buffet with homemade gluten free breads, muffins, waffles, served warm.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of one of the two clean, well maintained, and large beaches. Rooms are surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hola Heidi, Thousand thanks for writing the review and adding the pictures. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and I am glad to know you all enjoyed it at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica. We might have to get you to work with our PR department – we could not describe the services any better. Pura Vida for now and see you all very soon again. Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family of 5 including children 21, 16, 13 just returned from a wonderful 10 night Festive Season (Christmas) vacation to this wonderful property. It was our second visit having previously stayed there in December 2008. We enjoy the Four Seasons brand and this property does not disappoint. From the moment we stepped foot off the plane we were greeted by FS personnel and driven 45 minutes to the resort.

When we arrived we were greated by Pascal (Manager) and staff and given cold scented towels and fresh coconut beverage.

Here are some details of our stay:

Staff: Solicitous and wonderful. Especially fond of Carlos Ugalde at Papagayos, Viviana, and Jeffrey and Henry at the Pool. Pascal was kind enough to find a live feed of the Michigan Bowl Game and had treats and a large screen for us - GO BLUE!

Food: Although very expensive (!) the restaurants are excellent. Our favorites are Carocol Steakhouse and Marea at the Beach Club, and Di Mare. There are 5-6 to choose from.

Side Trips: Plenty to choose from. We did snorkeling on a catamaran, Rain forest tour, and a nature tour. You can also Zip Line.....

Tennis: Run by Peter Burwash. 4 har-tru courts and 1 grass. very good instructors.

Golf: We do not golf but a gorgeous course.

Pools: Very nice with excellent food/beverage service.

Room Tip: We stayed in connecting rooms 3305-3306 overlooking the ocean. We specifically requested these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
GO BLUE - thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and vacation impressions with us. FESTIVE is always a great time of the year and we are happy to know our teams, especially the ones you mention, made it that much better. And we will continue with fun activities and amenities all year long- our tenth anniversary. Get better, year after year. So make sure to come back soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Too pricey, boring for teenagers, dirty beaches, food just fair. Needs updates. Not the most beautiful local. Very disappointed in the area. If we go back to Costa Rica it will be near the beaches and rain forest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear MJ C, it is unfortunate to read that your stay was not one of the best and that your teenagers felt bored. Please let me know any great activities or ideas we could implement to make it more exciting for them. We are SO EAGER to get feedback. With a tenth anniversary coming up, we want to be your place of choice in gorgeous Costa Rica. Best Regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.