We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Cockeysville, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a long trip involving a cruise and a land week in Costa Rica. I wanted to stay specifically at this hotel because of the many great things I had read about it. Although it is beautifully situated and is very modern, overall, for a Four Seasons Resort, this is a very disappointing product. The rooms are large, modern, attractive, and soulless. Two of the four restaurants were closed, including their signature restaurant and their Italian restaurant. Had we been advised that this could be a problem when we booked some months ago, we would not have stayed here. None of the open restaurants were air conditioned, and the climate is still warm and sticky, not what you expect on an evening of fine dining in an exclusive resort. Our last evening we actually ordered room service, and had pizzas in our room, a very, very disappointing end to our trip. There was no tour of the property, and no tour or explanation of our room upon checkin. Meal service tended to be slow. The two beaches are very nice, but the two pools are about what one would expect for a luxury resort, but certainly nothing over the top. The architecture is modern, but the overall ambience of the hotel, including the architecture, could be found anywhere in the tropics. There was just nothing special about this property. The Four Seasons Resort at Hualalai on the Big Island of Hawaii, by contrast, is the very embodiment of royal Hawaiian style, and in contrast to this property, has been one of my perennial favorites. This property also pales in comparison to the Springs Hotel in Spa in Arenal, which is far more Costa Rican and over-the-top spectacular, than this property. I do wish we had known about the closed restaurants, as that would have immensely impacted our travel planning. This is not a property to which I would return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, I am so sorry to read your feedback about your most recent stay with us and knowing that we did not deliver what you had expected from this Four Seasons. I sincerely apologize for the fact that not all the restaurants were open during your stay with us in Costa Rica, it is correct that during the month of September and October, we close periodically some of the outlets for a yearly maintenance, trying always to keep a variety of choice available to our guests. Although we are not able to change much on the architecture or layouts of the resort, together with my team, we will look at more ways to make it a more “Costa Rica” experience and hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you back on the near future. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    833
    148
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
327
445
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What an amazing time at a beautiful resort!! We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa and it was HUGE & very clean (I am a clean freak) Loved the remote control screens for the patio and grill room and adult only pool.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Susan,
It is great to know you had an amazing girls get away and that you enjoy your stay. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had our destination wedding there last month (September 2013). I have no other word to describe our week stay there other than "Perfection!!"
The location is secluded to ensure privacy. You have two private beaches to choose from, one for quiet reading time and the other more active beach has daily activities offered by the resort for no additional charge. The food there was delicious! They have four restaurants to choose from so you have plenty of options to choose from. However, the thing that impressed us the most was the service!

The staff and especially the conference service manager Jean Pierre Hansen went above and beyond to make our wedding the most perfect day we could have asked for. From the minute we arrived, we were treated like royalty and they made sure every little detail was executed perfectly. I can not begin to thank Mr. Hansen and his staff enough for all they did for us and our guests. They made our wedding a dream come true and we will be forever grateful to them.

We will definitely be going back hopefully very soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Alissa,
I am very happy to know that your wedding was perfect. Such an important event in people’s lives, has to be perfect!! I will share your comments with our staff, so they get excited as well. I hope we are able to welcome you back to celebrate your first wedding anniversary! Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best service I have ever experienced any where
Food great
People friendly
Even grounds keepers say a happy Hola
Cool activities including ATVS AND Zip Lining and surfing and fishing
Restaurants are lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, that sounds like so much fun! I am glad you enjoy your visit! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Amazing...As every Four Seasons seems to be actually.
The location is just superb - two beaches with completely different views and atmospheres.
Lots of activities - great food and great service.
Very pricey but that's to be expected when you decide on a Four Seasons.
Costa Rica has so much to offer in terms of activities and things to see and do.
I could live here permanently!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Debbra you will certainly love living here permanently!! I hope we have the opportunity to at least, welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We sprung for a one bedroom suite (villa) with a plunge pool. Once in a lifetime accommodations and view. Everything about the resort is larger than life and spectacular (prices included). Small things about Four Season's service continually surprise you...like the cold towel and bottle of water offered by the gatehouse guard when we were hiking past. Only downside is that the property is VERY remote from everything...we rented a car so that was not an issue for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Glad to know that you had a great experience. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

GREAT:
Staff and service was very professional, friendly, and eager to please.
Beach properties were serene and truly magical.
Food was very good (at resort prices).
I do not golf but this place made me wish I did. (recommend taking the property tour through the golf course)
Explore the property including the other beaches.
Check out the Beach Club for a great restaurant alternative to what is on the main resort. The beach is also unique (black sand with different waves/weather) and worth making use of.

CAUTION:
The resort provides excursions/adventure itineraries which are priced very expensively for what can be easily be accomplished for much less if you drive yourself to the locations.

Room Tip: The standard rooms available for public booking (aka not a property owner or timeshare holder) is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jamin, good to know you enjoy while in our slice of paradise. Thank you for your comments. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.