We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Amazing...As every Four Seasons seems to be actually.
The location is just superb - two beaches with completely different views and atmospheres.
Lots of activities - great food and great service.
Very pricey but that's to be expected when you decide on a Four Seasons.
Costa Rica has so much to offer in terms of activities and things to see and do.
I could live here permanently!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Debbra you will certainly love living here permanently!! I hope we have the opportunity to at least, welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    830
    148
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
326
444
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We sprung for a one bedroom suite (villa) with a plunge pool. Once in a lifetime accommodations and view. Everything about the resort is larger than life and spectacular (prices included). Small things about Four Season's service continually surprise you...like the cold towel and bottle of water offered by the gatehouse guard when we were hiking past. Only downside is that the property is VERY remote from everything...we rented a car so that was not an issue for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Glad to know that you had a great experience. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

GREAT:
Staff and service was very professional, friendly, and eager to please.
Beach properties were serene and truly magical.
Food was very good (at resort prices).
I do not golf but this place made me wish I did. (recommend taking the property tour through the golf course)
Explore the property including the other beaches.
Check out the Beach Club for a great restaurant alternative to what is on the main resort. The beach is also unique (black sand with different waves/weather) and worth making use of.

CAUTION:
The resort provides excursions/adventure itineraries which are priced very expensively for what can be easily be accomplished for much less if you drive yourself to the locations.

Room Tip: The standard rooms available for public booking (aka not a property owner or timeshare holder) is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jamin, good to know you enjoy while in our slice of paradise. Thank you for your comments. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The location of the hotel is amazing. Be prepared to sleep and wake up surrounded by a luxury filled wilderness where you should be prepared to receive the visit of the occasional Pisote or Iguana. The best accommodations are the villas which have the best views and amenities.
I do have to warn you though, make sure before you reserve that the dining restaurants the hotel offers are all open and this depends on the season.

If you play Golf you will be surprised to find a full 18 hole course in a spectacular scenery. All the staff will make your stay honestly friendly and easy going.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Padelis, I am pleased to know that you had a great time. Thank you for sharing your comments with all of us. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As one expects when staying at a Four Seasons, everything was perfect, expensive, but perfect. The golf course is stunning, the staff gracious, the toiletries are Origins. Favorite dish was the tamarind beef ka-bobs in the bar. Dinner at the golf club was outstanding.

We loved watching the monkeys, lemurs, iguanas, smaller lizards, and all the birds.

The breakfast buffet is very good, but too expensive if not included in your rate.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a two bedroom villa, where it was very quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, but was overrun with children. The only place on the property without children during our 10 day visit was the adult pool, and several times, we had to have the staff remove a few.

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful place, but when the bar has a kid's menu, and resembles a day care facility (gross amounts of food all over the floor) you know this resort is not the place for a romantic get away. I am not talking about just during the day, but there is one bar on the property and it was full of children until late into the evening. There was NO place on the property for adults to have a drink, let alone dinner, without children running, unsupervised, everywhere.

We asked the manager of the resort why they did not cater, at least somewhat, to adults, we got some line about "future Four Seasons guests".

I think they need to worry more about their CURRENT Four Seasons guests.

Food was average, which is fine, but the prices were high given the average quality.

The service was very good when you can get it. Escape to the "Beach Club" which is run for the community, and you can escape most of the children.

Room Tip: Get on an upper floor, away from families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear David, I am sorry you found our resort “too child friendly” and could not have the experience you were looking for. I will follow up with our staff so we take care of all of our guests accordingly. We certainly hope that you may give us another chance some day in the future to make it up to you! Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything is first class, as you'd expect from the Four Seasons. But the warmth, helpfulness and genuine interest and friendliness in their staff is truly special. This is a little bit of paradise, with howler monkeys, pizotes, iguanas and so many birds right on the property. Two fabulous, ridiculously warm beaches are different and only a minute apart from each other. Never crowded, amazing food with a local touch, peaceful pools and lots of opportunities for excursions. We rented a car, which was great to see more of this remote part of Costa Rica, and explored several beach towns south of the resort.. The tours we took to various sights included well-educated and informed local guides. All in all, perfection...and because it's a Four Seasons, it's not an inexpensive trip by any means, but it is memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.