We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
San Ramon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this wonderful property. It has a GREAT location nestled between 2 fantastic beaches. One beach faces the Pacific Ocean and the other the Bay and beautiful green land across the water. How many properties give you the choice of 2 great beaches. The rooms were of pretty average size but quality of the room was tops. There was a spacious screened balcony overlooking the beach. The service was great. Friendly staff always attentive to your needs. All the lounge chairs have cushions, the staff sets you up with towels over the cushions and even rolls up an extra towel for your neck! They even offer to clean your sunglasses!. Food was great, fruit was fresh. Only quibble is the food is overpriced. Not sure why they need to charge so much. Overall a great experience and highly recommended!

Room Tip: We liked the Bay side view better but all rooms face the ocean or bay. The higher rooms are less ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    829
    148
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
326
443
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I fell in love with this place. What a special property. The design blends perfectly into the natural beauty that surrounds it, and you get this unusual combination of beautiful hotel and one of the most gorgeous, unspoiled places on earth. The golf course is spectacular - the views and wildlife there are amazing. Why is it that Costa Rica does not show up in pictures the way that other places do? Maybe it is a God thing! The better to keep it as unspoiled as it is. ;-) The restaurants were great. Many wonderful meals and drinks. The staff is extremely friendly, capable, and eager to please. It wasn't too hot in July! That surprised me. The beaches are a "10". Pristine, natural, inviting, and the water was perfect. Clear to the bottom far from shore. Water sports right there and many are included. The diving was good. The zip line tour was spectacular. So much to do in Costa Rica. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Traveler, this is a very special review. Costa Rica is a very unique place and it’s been blessed with its nature, but especially with its people. We would be more than happy to welcoming you again and are sure that you would love it even more this time. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.I, Ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am a well seasoned taveler and this is the best experience of my life. MY 2 young sons had a wonderful time in the program,...the pools...beach...and service were incomparable. The food and fresh fruit drinks were always sweet and on point. I actually cannot wait to come back and visit this hotel again! The tour of giants is something I would suggest to do more than once if you can and make sure to do the river boat tour. Get ready for a vacation which makes it hard to like any other

please note the regular rooms have a musty smell due to all the natural moisture. We asked to be upgraded to a 2bedroom unit which did NOT smell at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Brandi, I feel so proud to hear you say that this has been your best experience ever! It’s veryrewarding to know that our guests have memorable stays and they want to return. We’d feel honored to welcome you back! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day vacation to paradise. The Four Seasons was exceptional in every way. The staff, the setting, the restaurants, the organized tours, the beaches make this an ideal get away spot. One of the things you need to do upon arrival is get the list of daily activities and have the concierge explain them to you as the names do not let you know what is involved. (If I remember Tour of the Giants was a golf cart tour of the first 9 holes which is perfect for a non golfer) Sign up as soon as you decide what you want to do as some of the popular ones get filled up. For example the cooking class at DeMare restaurant was filled quickly.) The morning boat tour around Monkey Head rock was great, the boat captain managed to find dolphin and turtles. The food was excellent but a bit expensive. Caracol, while noted for steaks, had wonderful fresh vegetable dishes grown in their garden. The organized off property tours are well organized and worth the cost. We did the Witches Rock zip line and Palo Verde National Forest river cruise. Both were fun and added to our enjoyment and understanding of Costa Rica.

While August is the rainy season, the hotel had umbrellas almost everywhere on the property. It rained on three days we were there, mostly short bursts and only one day with an hour of rain or more.

We are looking forward to returning.

The one negative was our departure. Our Jet Blue flight was at 1:51 PM. The concierge booked us on a 10:00 AM shuttle. After we questioned needing 4 hours to get ready for a flight, we were told if we booked a private car we would have to leave at 10:30. So we left at ten, and were seated by the gate by 11:15. we saw other guests of the hotel arrive a lot later than we did for the same plane. This left a rather impression on us after such a wonderful stay. There had to be some way to allow us a more reasonable departure time. Three hours in the Liberia Airport is too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Roger, Thank you for the great review and for the positive feedback - a pleasure to read it. Sorry that we got you to the airport that early, great feedback and we will review timing with our transportation teams. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travelers’ community. Regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Four Seasons Peninsula Papagayo - http://www.fourseasons.com/costarica/

This resort is an approximate 35 minute drive from the Liberia Airport. Upon arrival at the resort, there was a big wide circle in the middle of the road filled with palm trees. Going forward, there were 5 more miles of completely brick roads before reaching the resort. I did not know completely what the resort would look like from pictures, as it truly takes being there to experience what the resort is all about.

After going through the lobby my family was each handed an orange juice drink with cilantro. This drink is a Costa Rican specialty, and this gesture was one true to Four Seasons service. We stayed in the Four Seasons residences section of the Puerto Limon Residences.

Pros:

• Huge rooms that were filled with detailed furniture
• A view of the water and beautiful sunsets
• A completely open air front room
• Amazing beds! It was very easy to sleep here
• 3 bathrooms. One that was connected to the office/family room

Cons:

• No IPod docking station

One of the best hotel rooms I’ve stayed in. Now, onto the restaurants.

I can say (without much thought) that the restaurants at the Four Seasons were awesome.

Di Mare: Great Italian Food! Decent service, a little slow at times, but certainly acceptable. The risotto here is amazing. 5/5

Congo’s Bar and Grill: Upon looking at this restaurant for the first time, one would not think that this was the best restaurant at the Four Seasons…but it was. The Ceviche bar and the Chicken, Steaks, and even Sausage made this Brazilian restaurant extremely special. 6/5 (If I could rate over 5/5)

Caracol: Great Steakhouse! Good Service and Great steaks made this restaurant very memorable. Plus, I don’t know of any other restaurant where you can get a coffee rub on your steak. And believe me, the coffee rub was extremely good. 5/5

Marea: This is the only restaurant that was good but not great. Marea is situated outside of the Four Seasons hotel near the beach club and is a seafood restaurant.

Papagayo (Breakfast): I can’t get enough of those breakfast fajitas. 5/5

Ticos (Lunch): Great Sushi, as well as ceviche and fish tacos. 5/5

I will now go on to the activities and entertainment etc. offered by the resort:

• 4 pools, one of them being an adult pool. These pools are spacious and an adult as well as a child can have an enjoyable time there.
• 2 beautiful beaches (As the resort is on a peninsula) One of the beaches was used for watersports and the other one is used for swimming and relaxing. This second beach was so relaxing and beautiful that I rate it the best beach I have ever been to, and this even includes the one I live five minutes from. Every so often, my family and I saw white-faced monkeys swinging from tree to tree to try to get to their next destination.
• The Nature Walk here is a must do. You are taken into the Costa Rican dry forest and get to see a lot of wildlife. This also is a workout as you walk up 500 steep stairs to complete the tour. This tour takes place at the resort. This is another reason that proves that this Four Seasons property is huge.
• The free snow cones for kids by the pool were fantastic. This shows the true courtesy that Four Seasons resorts are known for.
• The workout facility here is huge and there were more than enough machines that I needed to complete the workout that I was looking for. Also, running up the hills at the resort was also great.
• Arnold Palmer designed golf course traversing through the jungle. Best golf course I have ever played at. The first 5 holes were the most beautiful as they had elevated tees that overlooked the dry forest as well as the ocean.

Service:

• Typical Four Seasons Service: Impeccable
• Golf Cart taxis to take your down from your room to dinner were always on time
• Rooms always were cleaned directly after we left for breakfast each morning
• Employees wherever we went were very nice, interesting, and helped give us pointers to improve our Spanish. (Most employees are bilingual)

Location: Sure, this resort may not be near any national parks and other tourist spots, but it is still worth visiting for the Resort is one of the best I’ve stayed in. I rate it above each of the following Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons Properties:

Ritz Carlton Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne
Four Seasons Whistler
Four Seasons Jackson Hole

These four resorts aren’t in order from best to worst. All Four Seasons properties I’ve stayed in are better than Ritz Carlton properties.

Overall Ratings

Rooms: 5/5
Food: 4.75/5

Service: 5/5

Location 4/5

Entertainment/ At resort activities: 5/5

Overall Rating: 5/5

I sincerely want to thank Four Seasons for providing such an unique and amazing experience for my family and I.

Room Tip: Puerto Limon Villas had good views of the ocean in the left room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you go—don’t forget the visit the Marina and Dive Bar—located outside the circle of the main gate. It seems very strange that the Four Seasons doesn’t promote this “Hidden Treasure” or the use of Morrow Sport Fishing which hosts a professional and 1st Class Captain. My husband does a lot of bill fishing in the states and he was thrilled with this experience. They caught 14 sailfish within a 10 hour period. Captain Rick and mate, Pelon were so experienced. At first we were not catching anything- as we went out 20 miles (which is usual for most of the other companies) so they went out the distance to warmer waters where we immediately got into the billfish. Also, the Dive Bar (in the marina) is THEE best place to have your fished cooked (however you would like it) They prepared the Dorado we caught and was by-far the BEST meal of our week!

Room Tip: We stayed in a private residence on Peninsula Papagayo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Located on a peninsula this hotel is a beautiful place to visit and relax. Although our stay was short we were provided excellent, friendly services by all the hotel staff. The beaches are fantastic with great sunset views and the water sports are a highlight of this paradise like trip. There is plenty to do from golf, kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, scuba diving, fishing and 3 different pools to choose from at this resort. The rooms are very well appointed and the comfort / quality is indicative of what this high end hotel has to offer. There are about six restaurants on the property to choose from and the food was good as well as the service. Try having the breakfast included in your room rates during your stay and it will save you some money ( eat a large buffet breakfast and you will be all set up until dinner). Try also the hanging bridges which is an extra trip outside the hotel as a side trip during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.