We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not have chosen a better place to celebrate Paula's birthday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fifth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We could not have chosen a better place to celebrate Paula's birthday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to celebrate Paula's birthday.
A big thank you for all
Una experiencia unica, increible volver a estar en un lugar tan bonito.
Esperamos volver pronto!!!!! Gracias a todos especialmente a Camilla.... you are the best!!!!!!
Pura Vida!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    826
    148
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
324
443
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The resort is nice with two separate beaches. I am not a fan of black beaches so I did not hang out there too much. The service was excellent but it is VERY expensive. It seemed like I could walk around the resort for 30 minutes and sometimes not see a single guest. The golf course is breathtaking!

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is one. The monkeys and birds are very noisy in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest, I am sorry your experience was not what you expected. We always have plenty activities planned for our guests to spend fun time around the resort. We have cooking and dance classes, sunset kayaking, morning hikes, and so forth. Maybe, if our property is in your travel plans again sometime in the future, you may be able to have a memorable stay so we can gain back your loyalty. Best regards, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wow, easily the best family vaction we have ever taken. Beautiful, expensive, somewhat isolated, 2 beaches, 3 pools, 4 restaurants,nice fitness facility They have a lot going on here and a lot for you to do every day. Zip lining, surfing expeditions, chocolate making classes, cooking classes, sunset hikes, star gazing...etc.Take advantage of as much as you can. Hard to say enough good stuff about this resort. Every night the beach is set up with a bar and music to watch the beautiful sunset. Very friendly staff, excellent food and service. Play the golf course, it is fun! Visited Tamarindo for the surfing. Although the town is nothing, Adam and Sandy took us to a great restaurant for dinner. The Four Seasons did it right. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Pura Vida is what all is about around here! I am so glad you named your review this way. Pura Vida (Pure Life) means that everything is going all right with your life, and that you are more than great. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned and loved every minute of it! The resort location was fantastic being at the narrow point of the peninsula, there is fantastic water on both sides of the resort. The beaches were great! Very calm, warm water on one side, more surf on the other. Both beaches had excellent staff that attended your needs as did the pools. Frozen treats and cold towels poolside, awesome hot tub with waterfall, it was very luxurious. The food was a little pricey, especially the breakfast buffet, and average, but no stomach problems and the water had been treated all over the resort, so even tap water was fine. They had chilled water by the pool and as soon as you chose a spot, the staff would bring you an entire pitcher and keep it filled. The Spa was very good and all the amenities of the spa are included with your stay, just not the treatments, so it was great to use the spa facilites all the days. Excercise room was very well appointed with good equipment. The rooms were very comfortable. I loved the monkeys and local wildlife. The screens kept out all bugs, I dont think i saw one the whole trip! The excursions planned by the staff were very good, zip lining was awesome! We would love to return and see more of the area using this resort as a home base!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Kim, thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoy our property and that you want to come back. You certainly have a lot more to discover around this beautiful paradise. Best regards, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Wonderful FS resort. I highly recommend visiting. Service was fantastic and up to FS standards. Resort is beautiful. You must check out e golf course. Took golf lessons from Rondney just so I could enjoy the course. Highly recommend the Spa for some pampering. Volcanic mud wrap a must. Food was only average. Lots of reviews complain about how expensive this resort is. I thought the prices, although high, we're not out of line with a FS resort. Pool service was great, loved the treats, cold towels, and Evian spritz. You are always called by name and they remember your name. Loved watching the monkeys from my porch every morning. Will definitely visit again. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: If you want want a quite area get a room on the Virador Beach side or a suite up in the hills. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Andrew, thank you for your kind comments! I am glad you had the chance to experience most of our resort and that you had a memorable stay. I certainly hope you visit us again so you get to be pampered some more and enjoy lots of the Costa Rican Pura Vida style! Regards, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything that you would expect from a Four Seasons resort. Top service, quality comfort and amenities. You can do anything or nothing. We played golf (beautiful impeccable course), went deep sea fishing, spa, zip lining and ATV riding. Wonderful meals. Pools and beaches plentiful and quiet. The climate was hot. Plan on sweating / bring a lot of clothes. Many public areas are open air. Unless you are in the shade with a breeze it was often unbearable - especially on the golf course. I hear the rainy season is cooler. Surprisingly bugs and mosquitos are few to none. Some reviews mention problems with stomach distress. We did not encounter problems. Note there is very little opportunity to leave the resort, so plan to eat and drink there. It is very pricey. Saw some unique native wildlife but remember this is a "dry forest" not the rainforest so the vegetation and wildlife I not as dense as rainforest.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest, I really hope that we left you wanting to come back! Green season had just started, you may want to experience this weather yourself and see how gorgeous our surroundings get during this time. Thank you for your comments! Pura Vida, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

hey beach guys ... YOU ARE THE BEST !... other than that, the food is below standard, the rooms looked old.. We had high expectations, after visiting several hotels in guanacaste, certainly the four seasons appealed to be way above expectations.. to no avail.. we shortened our stay from 5 to two nights only, mostly due to the subpar food. The room.. old and lacking comfort, the bed although big, certainly was wore down by extensive use and not replaced... the terrace furniture was there just because it needed to be there.. it was right next to the beach, but did not appeal to be seating there. I wouldn't mind paying for an expensive stay, even less at a four seasons, but this is way out of reason for the quality and lacking of the facilities and ammenities

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest, I am sorry to know that you did not have the experience you certainly deserved. However, I appreciate your feedback, I will look into the points you mention so we improve and are able to deliver only the best to all of our guests. I hope you give us the opportunity to turn your experience around next time you visit us. Best regards, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.