We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble in paradise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Trouble in paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I have wanted to go to Costa Rica for quite some time. Our travel agent recommended this place and it sounded nice. After our wonderful experience at the Four Seasons in Bora Bora we figured "why not?" and really trusted the brand. As we were to later find out, not all Four Seasons were created the same,

Our first impression upon arriving was that the property was nice but very spread out. The frequent golf carts roaming around initially seemed like a luxury but later we learned were a necessity, given how hilly and far things were from each other. Luckily, or so we thought, our initial room was close to the main area. This actually turned out to be a bad thing as the noise from the beach and pools easily reached our room and did not let us relax in the morning, waking us up at 8 AM.

As for the property, two words for this are: kids and conventions. I understand Costa Rica is more of a family destination vacation spot for families compared to other places, but the amount of children who were initially there were ridiculous. Kids themselves are fine, but when they are screaming everywhere and make accidents in the pools, it becomes a problem. The "quiet pool" was anything but, as it was crowded with middle aged and older adults (at least two conventions there at any given time) who were treating it like their own personal frat party. The beaches were OK, but the sand was muddy and nothing special; for white powdery sand you'd be better off in South Florida (South Beach and Ft. Lauderdale). Also, all the vegetation looked dried out and worn; April might not be the best time to go as it is still the dry season.

The ambiance was completely off for what we were looking for, but we were still willing to give it a go. However, our room's air conditioning broke (was not fixed correctly despite several attempts) and that was the straw that broke the camel's back. We threatened to leave and after talks back and forth between the hotel staff and our travel agent, they upgraded us to a private villa free of charge.

The private villa was gorgeous. It was very spacious, had an infinity plunge pool with an amazing view, a balcony, and an additional outdoor shower space. After this we finally were able to relax and begin to enjoy ourselves. A quick roam around the property showed us the fitness room (very well taken care of and with plenty of equipment) and spa (one of the best ever). We enjoyed the hotel amenities and didn't mind paying the Four Seasons rates.

Service was very good and we were always greeted with a friendly "Hola!" everywhere we went. The artisan market on most weekdays brought beautiful and interesting artists and souvenirs to you and really showed off some of the local flair. Food was delicious, albeit expensive, and I will review individual restaurants later on. The Trail of the Giants is a must and will afford you the opportunity to see Howler monkeys, white faced capuchins, bisottes, and other wildlife spaced out over the well-manicured golf course.

Overall the hotel is nice but not worth the Four Seasons rates. It's a great destination for families and convention goers but probably not for couples. In our entire trip we never really saw or connected with any other younger adults our age. The spa, service, and private villas were wonderful pros but did not offset the lack of a romantic environment. Costa Rica was nice but if we ever go back we will stick to the rainforest and avoid the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the pools unless you want to be woken up by 8 AM every day. Sound carrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay at our Resort. I am sorry you experienced some issues during the time you spent here and will pass your comments along to the team so we can review and improve on the things we missed. On the other hand, I would love to have you and your wife back for a second visit, so we may have the opportunity to show you that our property is great for couples’ getaways as well. We hope you will give us the opportunity to customize your visit so it is a perfect and romantic experience. Pura Vida, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    170
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
372
502
11
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fantastic property, great service, wild monkeys and birds everywhere, no rain in 6 months, great fishing, spa and golf. The rooms are beautiful, the beach is on two sides, the hotel is at the end of the peninsula. The hotel is secluded, but if you are looking for a great out of the way luxury hotel, to rest and enjoy the beach, play golf, have wild monkeys waking you up in the morning, perhaps walking by with their family as you have an early morning breakfast, playing golf on a wonderful golf course, see monkeys and birds all over the course, perhaps catching a blue marlin or a few sailfish ( we did), have a spa day with a coffee aromatherapy, than this is the place you are looking for. It about 45 minutes from LIB or 4 hours from SJO, the roads are great, do not be afraid to drive.

Room Tip: Request a high level room in the building directly behind the check in building, right behind the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came here on an award trip from my company. The property and the beaches are very nice, as are the rooms. The Spa and fitness center are vey nice.

I had high expectations because of the Conde Nast ratings and, after all, it is the Four Seasons, and you pay for it!

The food is better than average, and the sushi was excellent. Albeit, outrageously priced. Expect to spend $100 for lunch and $400 for dinner (we shared)!

The service was absolutely horrible. Without exception, we found ourselves searching for pool service, restaurant service, and bar service. More than once, we walked to the bar ourselves because we had waited more than 20 minutes after ordering a drink. The are slow, slow, slow, and they don't seem to care that they are slow. The best service by far was the one dinner that we had a Caracol, at the clubhouse.

Housekeeping is fine and room service is well-managed.

It was so frustrating that I actually wanted to leave. What a disgrace to the Four Seasons name.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but some are better accessed by a ride in a golf cart. Let them know if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind comments about our beaches, spa, fitness center and rooms.

I am very sorry to hear that the service you received was slow and moreover, contributed to an overall experience that was not positive. The Costa Rican culture is known to be warm and relaxed but we also take pride in offering excellent service to our guests at our restaurants and throughout Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica and I apologize this was not the case during your visit.

Your comments are helpful to us in improving our product and service and again, I am grateful to you for sharing your thoughts. Best regards,

Pascal F., General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

hotel location was great. beautiful beach. be careful of the jelly fish. they are not harmful but if they sting you, it will hurt for about 30 mins but then back to normal. rooms were very nice! but the hotel compare to other luxury hotels we stayed at in costa rica were very pricey. staff was nice but not as warm and friendly as the other hotels we stayed at in costa rica (arenas del mar in manuel antonio and nayara in arenal). one turn off was that a staff member told us we can take the cruise and do snorkeling in the morning before checking out where the tour will bring us back around noon so he said we will give you late check out b/c the regular checkout was noon. but then when we got up early in the morning to take the tour, the reception staff said they are booked so they can't extend the late checkout so we couldn't take the cruise we were looking fwd to so if that happens to anyone else, be sure to confirm late check out upfront instead of taking their word for it and hope that it will be done like we did. otherwise, good food, good rooms, good beautiful white sand beach. beautiful sunset. it is perfect spot for a family with kids b/c they have lots of activities in the resort for all ages. outdoor activities are there as well but are better in other areas of costa rica i felt.

Room Tip: we had the standard room. all rooms are similar i felt except when you go up one floor, the cost in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Zeemak, I appreciate your comments and am sorry about the inconvenience with your Catamaran tour and that you felt our prices high. I will look into our procedures with our Concierge so this do not happen again. I as well, want to thank you for your feedback regarding our product, we certainly take pride of our kids’ club, where we take good care of our guests’ most valuable treasure, their kids. Pura Vida, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Top notch is all you can say. Perfect location with 2 beaches, 3 different pool areas. Its all spread out nicely and you feel like you have the place to yourself. Excellent service, excellent food. The rooms are spacious and there is not a bad view. Would absolutely love to go back. Can't say a negative word.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor. (highest). You could see over the trees into the Bay. There is a Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mark, we are glad you enjoy your stay that much, and since this very moment, I look forward to welcoming you back into our property. This Pura Vida life style we have at the Four Seasons in Costa Rica, is what we called, a deserved treat that needs to be repeated. Regards, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were traveling by car around Costa Rica and I wanted to see the FS to check out the golf. The location was amazing, out on a private pennisula. We had lunch down by the pool area and we could see the beach on both sides, Pacific and into the Golf Papagayo.
Service and food were excellent and relaxing. I could have spent the whole day.
Will definitly try to book a stay here next time I'm in the CR.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for including the Peninsula Papagayo and our resort while driving through Costa Rica - a gorgeous country, wonderfully diverse. And great to know you enjoyed the lunch and couple of hours with us - you definitely have to come back and stay with us! Our Arnold Palmer Signature Golf course is just having the best views and when have you played tennis on a grass court last? And what about dinner in our Chef's Garden while stargazing .... there are so many amazing and exciting activities, you will not want to leave.
Come and enjoy the Pura Vida life style at the Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica, you deserve it! Regards, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is wanting a top notch experience. The hotel never felt crowded and we never had to wonder if there would be a beach chair for us. A must is going to the Beach Club. What a place! It was built for the luxury homes in the area and the Four Seasons guests have access to use it. The pool, beach and restraunt at the beach club were awesom!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, I am glad you had a great experience at our property. Peninsula Papagayo is certainly a paradise, with so many gorgeous beaches, places to relax and experience pure nature. “Because you deserve it”, come back soon Pura Vida, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.