We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fifth Night Free!
Southampton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“outstanding destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want pure luxury great service this is a great destination, tennis and golf are the best, spa is wonderful, one of the best four seasons in the world!!!!
Food was excellent and diversified with four great restaurants on property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    140
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
307
417
9
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay at 5 different Four Seasons locations over the years and this one takes the cake! The only one that is close to this location would be Hawaii, Hualalai. We hosted 80 producers and their guest at this location and it was nothing but the best! Location, staff, and layout for the property was 100% first class!

Room Tip: 2400 block of rooms has great views of sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Good morning from the beaches of Costa Rica – and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about our resort with the Trip Advisor community. I am so glad to read you are rating us a 5 Star leader and you and 80 of your closest friends enjoyed Costa Rica, our staff and activities. We sincerely hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future and have you enjoy our summer season activities. Pura Vida to Iowa, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a great trip here the last 2 weeks of March. The beaches are gorgeous as is the property. It was hot and most of the property is open air so if the heat is bothersome this may not be the property for you. Rooms spacious, air conditioned and lovely with beautiful screened porch. Beds small - our room could have easily accomodated 2 queens instead of 2 standards....

We have stayed at numerous 4 Seasons resorts. This property is expensive which we knew in advance but after buying 2 cans of sunscreen (we went through 1 a day with our family in the sun and had lost several which exploded in the suitcase on the travel in) and being charged 75$, we began to feel a bit "gouged". Also didn't like the added resort charge with the price of the rooms - would have felt better if they just upped the room fee.

Staff amazing and lovely, service great, and we truly enjoyed the cabanas. Spa amazing.

Beware of the zipping Golf Carts at night.

Food at the Italian Restaurant the best IMHO. We also enjoyed eating at the bar more casually.

Private tours were done through Freddy Montero and Manny at info@costaricaprivatetours.com. Well worth the price for our family.

Great trip. We miss the Monkeys and Iguanas. h

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings to Milwaukee and sending you plenty of sunshine up north. The weather is still gorgeous down here and we are looking forward to more brise and a few clouds soon. And thank you for the feedback on the cost of the sunscreen. I am sorry that you were not offered our complementary set of crèmes and lotions around pool and beaches; we will make sure they are more prominent and visible. Did you enjoy the hourly amenities served, always fun and refreshing in the heat? Thank you for being so loyal to Four Seasons and Pura Vida, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013 with my best girl friend. The rooms were beyond amazing, we had a screened in outside patio that overlooked the ocean, we swam in the pool late at night, laid out and swam in the pristine ocean by day. The service was excellent (both room service, restaurant and on the beach). I also enjoyed the gym, sauna and plunge pools to get me going in the morning. There is a hike that you can take up some steps that run along the ocean. It was really fun and we ran into some monkeys swinging and wrestling (TIP: Wake up early and head to the beach for the best monkey watching). After we left the Four Seasons we went down to Tamarindo. I liked the balance of luxury/resort coupled with the "real Costa Rica" experience. It was great to go here and relax with my best girl friend but I think this place is ideal for families and couples. Enjoy this beautiful setting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
A great place for friends – Costa Rica and our resort for sure. And it seems that you have been very active while with us, taking advantage of our morning hikes, bird watching walks and chilling at the pools and your private terrace. Glad that the many restaurant options we have were to your liking, I wonder which one was your favorite? Maybe the Caracol Steakhouse at the Golf Club or our Italian Di Mare? I hope you will tell me the next time you come and stay with us – Pura Vida until then. Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

WOW. I had just decided the all inclusives are not the way to go because the food is usually not that great and I just don't drink enough to make it worth while. So when we walked through the door of the Costa Rica Four Season and they walked us to our room which was huge AND gorgeous, I thought if the food is good, we really are done with all inclusive. The porch facing the ocean was awesome and one of the best features of the rooms. The pools were fairly quiet, the hot tub excellent and the beach was very nice. There is a trial to hike/walk run from one side of the peninsula to the other and that was very pretty. Friends said that the golfing was amazing, we did not go. But the service was excellent pool side and even when we went to the front desk and simply asked for someone to take us to see the monkey's. One of the workers hopped in a golf cart and took us to see "los monos" and then drove us up to see the private houses with SPECTACULAR views. This trip it was my husband and I, and we said to each other every day that we should bring the kids back as they would love it. The food was very good at the Italian place and the seafood place. We could do with out the Brazilian Steak house, which was not very good. Breakfast was good, the coffee was great and my only regret was that we did not stop at the duty free liquor store on the way thru the airport. Everything was more expensive than I expected, so having some snacks and beer/liquor in the room would have been nice. We were only there for 5 days and our one excursion to the National Park was top notch! We do two vacations a year and this was a third, and truly was the best. You should GO as quickly as possible and stay as long as you can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the first floor as you can see the Monkey's more frequently, but know that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,
What a great review - thank you for taking the time to share it with all of us. And please come back quickly, plenty of "monos" and friends around. And the nature changes, once the green season starts. And for your kids, we start our Summer Camp Papagayo shortly, they would have an amazing time and learn something at the same time. Sounds like a well deserved, fourth trip for this year! Pura Vida, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just recently returned from an outstanding trip to the Four Seasons Resort in Costa Rica. There we enjoyed beautiful accommodations, delicious food, clean beaches and outstanding and friendly service. My favorite part was the exquisite Spa on property. I would highly reccommend Julieth who performed my manicure and pedicure. She was gentle, friendly and definitely skilled in her abilities. My nails are still beautiful today,1 week later! I would absolutly request her for any of the therapies offered there. Thank you Julieth!!!! Overall, the trip was magnificent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Linda, thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your spa service that much. We have shared your feedback with Julieth and her colleagues in Spa – this is the feedback that makes them proud of being part of Four Seasons. We are lucky to have such a great team! Next time try the freshly cut bamboo massage – out of this World. Pura Vida, Pascal F. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Costa Rica as a family for spring break during the very busy Easter season. This is the best place to stay in Costa Rica. My kids did not stop talking about it for weeks afterward. We loved that the was fresh coffee brewed every morning before breakfast and the breakfast buffet was the best that i have ever eaten. It was a good thing that they had a good cycling class and fitness room to work off all the great food. The pools were really well laid out and my kids had hours of fun in them. We swam in the ocean and enjoyed the water as well as the water sports on the front side of the resort. Everything is close together so it is not a problem getting around. There was a kid's club that had good activities and a teen center. My kids watched the movie one night out of the lawn, had popcorn and sat on the couches that the counselors moved outside.

We would all love to return to this resort.

Room Tip: We liked our room two bedroom near the beach. very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Julie, I appreciate your comments about your most recent stay with us over Easter break. Wonderful to know, you and your family had a great time at our property. Our young guests are certainly very important to us, so we always do our utmost to improve our kids club and teen center. Actually, starting this Memorial Day, we will offer our second annual Papagayo Summer Camp for kids in case you have the chance to return. I am sure they will talk about it for months! Regards, Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.