We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to just relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
chicago,il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to just relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel, with beautiful views. The service is perfect . They know your name the first day. They have 4 pools one that is an adult only pool. The food was fine but have had much bEtter. The location of the resort is pretty far away from many of the excursions but they have day trips with transportation. If you go to costa rica this is the best place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay in building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    831
    148
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
326
445
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are currently at the FS Costa Rica and thoroughly enjoying it. We are 2 adults and 2 kids, ages 7 and 9. Couldn't wait to get home to write a review, because we are having so much fun comparing this property to the FS in Maui, where we have stayed 3 times. Both are fantastic. Here are some differences:
- there is far more pool area appropriate for kids at this property. Depths here are no more than 42", which allows our kids to stand easily, but also allows us adults to swim easily. Great family fun in the plentiful pool space. Also, kids have been having lots of fun underneath the bridge that crosses one of the pools.
--snow cones (like shave ice) offered poolside at no charge here
--towels are easily accessible by pools here, you grab them as needed from shelving (in addition to those initially provided by pool attendant)--in Maui, the attendants are the towel keepers.
--not surprisingly, more wildlife to see here--monkeys, iguanas, pizotes, amazing birds, all without leaving the property
--super hot here--it is the second week of April and in high 90s. So, hotter and more humid than Maui.
--food is comparable--very good, aiming to please and cater to what you want, a nice Latin flair/inspiration to it here.
--great 20-minute room service menu
--the standard (non-suite) rooms are closer to the ocean than in Maui--we hear and see the waves crashing from our lovely screened-in terrace (we're in a 2nd floor rm). Screen is motorized and can be easily opened or closed
--terrace is spacious, with couch, end table, another table, and several chairs. We are spending our room-time mainly on the terrace.
--beaches are slightly closer to pools, here, and there are two, versus one at Maui property
--used a kayak at no charge today--they rent them for a fee at Maui FS
Staff is very friendly, as in Maui.
Overall, a wonderful resort!

Room Tip: We tried to fit us two adults in one double bed and the two kids in a double bed... Poor sleep the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas up the hill. It was a beautiful three bedroom, with a private infinity pool. The layout of the villa was fantastic, and the views were excellent. The howler monkeys woke us each morning around 5 am, you would think this was a problem but it was actually quite enjoyable. Something about being in the midst of nature, (wrapped up in luxurious bedding of course). Our travel group in the villa was two couples and a single, the villa is actually three separate buildings with a shared common area, very private. In my opinion the views are spectacular as in Maui, but on a smaller scale. The Four Seasons is far out on the Papagayo Peninsula and has the feel of being on an island surrounded by water. The room service staff was first class, one of our favorite daily functions was our little group breakfast by the villa's infinity pool. Do not miss the nature tour around the golf course, the director is passionate about his work preserving nature and it shows during the tour. I think about my experience there all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resort is terrific. The accomendations are top notch. Beach is sandy, ocean is aqua blue and clear. Pools are great. The staff are all so warm, friendly and knowledgable. The programs for kids and for teens are outstanding! Truly worth going to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Anyone who has stayed at a Four Seasons property knows that the service is bar none...and the Papagayo location is no exception. My first stay was a trip w my girlfriends. There were 6 of us, and we opted for one of the spacious cabanas: 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, formal dining, full kitchen, office, large living space, and an enclosed dining/grill area. The spa was exceptional, the beach grounds indescribable, the views pure, and the food glorious! My stay w my girlfriends was so memorable that my significant other and I returned just a few months later. During this excursion, we stayed in a suite near the beach grounds. The room was just as immaculate as the large cabana. On both occasions, the service was THE BEST I'VE RECEIVED, and I travel extensively around the globe. The food was great at each restaurant, and I'm still in love w the breakfast fruit smoothies and fresh yogurt parfait. Because of our experience w the Four Seasons, we have since stayed at 4 other Four Seasons properties. And we will continue! Looking forward to our return to the Papagayo location. It was well worth it. ;)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We paid extra for fourth floor room. It was worth the price for the view. I recommend those rooms for couples. Both building 2 and 3 have obstructed ocean views. We first stayed in building 3 but found it loud in am with various water activities and children on the Playa Blanca beach. The hotel moved all of our belongings to a new room in building 2 while we were out zip lining. Even the safe and contents were moved and placed exactly the same as they were in the prior room. Building 2 should be your choice. Hotel is too far to really see sights of country unless you are willing to drive 3 hours each way. Better choice is to rent car on arrival take a couple of days to see the volcano, mineral pools etc and then come to the hotel to be pampered. If you want to go fishing, snorkeling or just get away from the hotel I recommend ISSY TOURS. We used them and were impressed with Michael and David who took us to a local Resturant that cooked our catch for lunch. Their prices are much more competitive than the hotel. We did use Witch's Rock Canopy Tour from hotel and we would do it again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint as it once again showed why this is the premier hotel name. We were greeted promptly with all issues, that seem to arise when traveling, taken care of by multiple members of the conceirge team. Our room was somehow bug free the entire week despite being just a few feet from the ocean. Rooms were just as expected, roomy, clean, well appointed, with a very nice, large bathrooom and shower area along with a nice sitting patio. The property was beautiful with a bay beach and an ocean beach separated by 4 pools, all in a span of a 3 minute walk. Food was very good in most restaurants and the golf course was second to none when lloking at the grass quality (no sawgrass) and views fit for multuiple postcards. Monkeys and iguanas all around. If you want to be pampered and not nickle and dimed, pick a Four Seasons: free sunscreen, bug spray, bottled water, enough pillowed lounge chairs on the beach and not feeling that any kindness was just to get a tip. In fact, many workers declined tips saying they were just doing their job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.